Skip to main content
Big Bend Community College William C. Bonaudui LibraryStudent Kiosk Big Bend Community College Logo Big Bend email Viking Portal access Password Help Canvas

William C. Bonaudi Library: Collections

COLLECTIONS

 General Collection:

BBCC Library has more than 35,000 volumes.  The primary purpose of the collection is to support the research needs of BBCC's students, faculty and staff, but the collection also includes a wide variety of general interest material.

The Library has an online catalog which includes listings for 45,000 books, videos, music CDs, DVDS, websites, etc. owned or made available by the library. 

Special Collections include:

DISC - The library's music CD collection contains over 600 CDs.
DVD - Movies and documentaries.
CL - Children's literature collection.  It supports the ECE class curriculum.
LP - Includes more than 1,000 long playing records. Please ask for assistance at the Reference/Circulation Desk to access this collection.
NEW - New books acquired by the library are on display just across from the Reference Desk.
NURS - A collection of nursing textbooks is housed on a small table near the study rooms. Materials in this collection are for library use only.
OVERSIZ - Materials too large to fit on standard shelving are placed in the oversize area.
PNW - The library's Pacific Northwest (PNW) collection includes books covering a wide range of subjects as they relate to the Washington, Oregon and Idaho area.
REF - The Reference Collection includes dictionaries, encyclopedia sets and a number of specialized resources.  Materials in this collection cannot be checked out.  The library will provide 10 free copies to BBCC students from any reference item.  Some collections have materials designated as REF shelved at the beginning of those collections.
YA - Young Adult titles

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Additional Special Collections:

  • Moses Lake Wellfield Contamination Superfund Site - public documents relating to the cleanup efforts.
  • Larson Airforce Base archival and miscellaneous materials.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Newspapers, Journals, and Magazines:

The library subscribes to over 100 magazines and journals covering and wide range of subjects.  Current issues are arranged in title order in the area opposite the Reference/Circulation Desk.  Recent issues are located under the display shelf.  Back issues are kept in boxes behind the display area.  Length of retention of back issues varies.  Several hundred journals and magazines are also available online via the Proquest  database.
The library suscribes to the following newspapers:

Local:
Capital Ag Press
Columbia Basin Daily Herald (Moses Lake)
Grant County Journal (Ephrata)
News & Standard (Coulee City area)
Odessa Record
Outlook (Othello)
Quincy Valley Post Register
Ritzville-Adams County Journal
Royal Register    
Seattle Post-Intellegencer*
Spokesman-Review (Spokane)*
Star (Grand Coulee Dam Area)
Tri-City Herald (Richland/Pasco/Kennewick)*
Wenatchee Journal of Business*
Wenatchee World

National:
New York Times [Sunday Edition]
USA Today  
Wall Street Journal 
 

Foreign Language:
El Mundo (Spanish)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Microfilm:

An extensive collection of back files of magazines, journals, and newspapers is available in the Library. Micrographic equipment is available for reading and printing this material.