Showing of Results

Database of the Monday | July 2020 | Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

07/05/2020
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens
No Subjects

July's Database of the month is:  Psychology and Behavioral Sciences

 

Ebsco says: Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in PsycINFO. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.

 

We just bought this EBSCO database a few months ago and already it is number two on our most used databases on our Databases A-Z list.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences allows the selection of full text, peer-reviewed, and date-specific limiters. 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences allows the selection of full text, peer reviewed, and date specific limitations.

When you type in a search term, the database suggests more focused searches and searches using Boolean Logic. 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences. When you type in a word, the database suggests keywords and search strategies using Boolean Logic.

Use the SUBJECTS search to find other keywords, terms, or ways to focus a search. 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences use Subject search to find other terms and keywords

Search PUBLICATIONS and often there's a journal that specifically covers that topic.  In this case, the search for DEPRESSION using the publication's search found a full-text journal called Depression & Anxiety.  These specialized publications look professional in your references or works cited. 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences search example. Use Full text and peer reviewed checkboxes plus set dates.

 

This post has no comments.
Field is required.
No Tags

Similar Posts

View All Posts
Hot Book Summer 2025 : Paige Turner Book Recommendations
06/04/2025
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens
0 Comments

 

 

Woman in pool with bathing suit. Her face is a book. Has a post card that says Hot Book Summer.

 

Darlin’ there’s plenty of fish in the sea, trust Paige Turner on that... but in How Far the Light Reaches, Imbler shares meditations about crabs that dance in volcanos to LIVE. They dance to LIVE, sweetheart.

 

 

“What if by story you mean shortcut home but I mean voices in a room by the sea...booKMek doe Li-Young'a Book od Poema Behind my Eyes

 

 

Sugar, I would never tell you not to whistle. Even at night. But there’s some superstitions that say it will call up dark powers, dangerous spirits, and vengeful souls. This dark fic book of indigenous writers will shake you. Paige Turner promises you that.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Literature
May 15: More than Google: Search Engines That Improve Your Research and Academic Confidence. Google has become synonymous with searching. Tune up your inner pirate. Let’s look at ways to UNGoogle
05/15/2024
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens
0 Comments

UNGoogle


Header for Library WebinarsMay 5 UnGoogle

The zoom link is:  https://bigbend.zoom.us/my/rhondak
Also on Facebook Live: https://www.facebook.com/bbcclibrary/  

 

 

QUESTIONS 

"artificial intelligence" art ethics

Best roads between yellow springs OH and Wilmington De

Which countries are facing the greatest famine

 

Wikipedia
List of search engines, their specialty, languages used, and provenance.

Wikipedia
Comparison of Search engines using tables using independent crawlers, owner, questions, digital rights, privacy. tracking, surveillance and more. 

 

 

THE THREE BIGS

Google
83% more people use Google than any other search engine. 

Bing
Microsoft affiliated. Has natural language ability. More visual. 

DuckDuckGo
Touts privacy. 

The 8 Best Search Engines of 2024: While you could use Google to find other search engines, here are the ones we think are arguably better
A well organized comparison article with excellent highlights.
 

 

 

AI Based Search Engine

You.com - has AI assistant. Does have a private mode and personal. Relies on Bing, Imagine for AI image generation, and YouWrite text generation. 

Perplexity.ai - Just doesn't list web page and cites sources. It has a smart assistant named Copilot. Natural language ability

Komo - speed and privacy, interactive with follow up question (though...don't they all?) Google Search Generative Experience (SGE). (not rolled out yet in the Labs part of Google)  SGE is available visible on mobile

 

 

 

Notes in progress

 

  1. SearX: This one's unique from the previous two, in that it's actually a "meta-search" engine that combines/ amalgamates the results of Google and Bing's web crawlers, then re-prioritizes them accordingly.

  2. Brave: Kind of an outlier here, Bing is a relative newcomer to the scene, being only a few years old. They have both a browser and a search engine. What separates them from the competition, is apparently they're crafting their own independent web results/ crawler, completely separate from Google or Bing. Not sure if they've fully accomplished this by now. They and Duckduckgo are the names I hear come up the most when jt comes to un-censored search results and privacy/ tracking-free.

    1. Like Brave?  

 

 

MOJEEK?

 

How to keep up?

 

Teachcrunch.com

Basic Skills, General, Library and Research Skills
Five Ways to Use Library Support in CANVAS
12/26/2019
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens
0 Comments

 

ONE:  Add our Wednesday Webinars to your announcements. These include basic orientations and library resource overviews. 

PJs with OK on them. They are PJs OK!  

 

TWO:  Add Librarian contact information:  RhondaK@Bigbend.edu

 

THREE:  Are your student's having a hard time finding full text?  Have them ASK A LIBRARIAN.  Add Library contact information to assignments that require research.  

 

FOUR:  Ask the Library to create a guide for your specific assignment.  We can create a webpage with step by step directions. We can add video instruction. Let's collaborate or simply let us know how to help.  SEE: https://libguides.bigbend.edu/ENG101_Ernette

 

FIVE:  Ask the Librarian to create a video demonstration of a database you want your students to use that you can use in announcements, emails, or in course assignment directions. 

 

 

Basic Skills