Showing of Results

Emerging Technology: Five New Tools to Try

03/11/2020
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens

Emerging Technology: Five New Tools to Try

A live introduction to educational emerging technology.  Have some to share? Please do! Great for education students, staff, and faculty. 

 

ThingLink

Example: https://libguides.bigbend.edu/Scholarly_Articles


​Scrumblr

Example:  https://libguides.bigbend.edu/ENG_101_Gutierrez_databases

 

Google forms to Visualizations or Spreadsheets

Google.com – Sign In – Google Drive

 

Screencast-o-matic

 

Canva

Example:  https://libguides.bigbend.edu

This post has no comments.
Field is required.
No Tags

Similar Posts

View All Posts
Lying Liars Lying, Reprehensible Retractions, & Oopsy Oh No’s: Lateral Reading & Research Clues for Research Sources. A lively discussion about taking a closer look at your research...with research.
05/08/2024
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens
0 Comments

Header for Library Webinars

The zoom link is:  https://bigbend.zoom.us/my/rhondak
Also on Facebook Live: https://www.facebook.com/bbcclibrary/  

 

Researching The Research 

Source evaluation in research is not a passive activity.  It also requires research and critical thinking. This three lens of information evaluation require that you look at research critically - with research.

Lying Lianrs presentation blutb that is also the title of this page.

 

SUGGESTED RESEARCH FOR ACADEMIC ARTICLES


Google Search  - Search for information on authors, researchers and/or organization. Search titles of journals, newspapers, and magazines. Read their about statements and mission. Do you find a scandal, retractions, or fact checks related to the authors, publishers, or title of source?

Look at this Google basic search:

"Prenatal Cocaine Exposure Upregulates BDNF-TrkB Signaling" AND retraction.

Google Scholar - Use a title search to find how many times a scholarly article has been cited. Look at the works that cited your source. Do you see a pattern or anything interesting? 

For the retracted article in Google Scholar despite the easy to find retraction it has been cited 20x since 2016.

If we look at all 12 versions of it, we see it lives on Academia.edu. Gale, CUNY's Academic Works, Harvard, and EBSCO. Two of those are library databases. Two of those are well known university's academic repositories.

Google Scholar Metrics . - Use to search the ratings of a scholarly journal.  A scholarly article in a journal with higher metrics is considered to have more authority.

PLOS ONE statistics and details on Google Metrics.


Retraction Watch. - If research or a scholarly article has been found to be wrong, that information is not found in the article you may have found. Check the title, author(s), and title of scholarly article in this database to see if the paper was retracted. Search their database here. 

How to use the Retraction Watch database to search titles and also authors:

Paperity - Useful for finding news, reviews, letters to the editor, and other information about author(s), journals, organizations, and articles. 

Semantic Scholar.- This is an AI powered research tool for scientific literature. It has a more detailed citation analysis than Google Scholar. It shows hidden connections between research. 

 

 

NON-ACADEMIC SOURCES

Does the article cite information from other sources? If so, look them up using Google. 

Search for article, author, and title if available. 
Check the context of the information when you find it. 
Does that author cite other information? Review links or search for that information.
Find where the original information exists. Sometimes information and facts may shift when handled by multiple entities. 
Read laterally, that is, search for other sources of the same information. Look for higher quality platforms and outlets. 

 

 

This fast practical Buzzfeed fact checker video shows some of these methods.


Media Bias Check Sources. - This is an article describing different ways to find bias in newspapers, magazine articles, and other platforms. 

Search Politifact, home of the Truth-O-Meter. 

Look at Snopes.  In their 20 years, they have become a well regarded go to source for all types of internet truths and untruths. They also show their work. 

Factcheck.org works on statements make in the political sphere. One of their main ways of tracking down information besides transcripts and videos is to contact people. They rely on primary sources. 

RAND has a detailed list of fact verifications including video tools. 

 

Basic Skills, General, College Success, Library and Research Skills
Database of the Month: November 2020 - Business Source Elite
10/27/2020
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens
0 Comments

Database of the Month: Business Source Elite

Why use Business Source Elite? This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more." -- Publisher

 

 

 

Add in other databases to your Business Source Elite search...

Business, Library and Research Skills
#BigBendCCBookChallengeBookTalk | From: Amanda Miller | Book Title: The Queen of the Tearling, by Erika Johansen
05/01/2020
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens
0 Comments

#BigBendCCBookChallengeBookTalk.

Month: March
From: Amanda Miller
Book Title: The Queen of the Tearling, by Erika Johansen

Book Cover of the Queen of Tearlings

"Kelsea Raleigh Glynn is 19 years old and uncrowned queen of the Tearling.
She is an orphan raised in isolation, a lover of books, and social justice.
Around her neck sits the royal jewel that marks her as the heir-apparent,
known as the Tearling Sapphire. On her 19th birthday, a group nine
armored knights arrive at her guardians' cottage to escort her to New
London and her throne. Once there, Kelsea must depose of her uncle,
the regent, and begin the process of bringing her kingdom
back from the brink of destruction. This formidable task takes on new
meaning for her when she realizes that the kingdom's enemies are both
within and without the borders.  kingdom's enemies are both within and
without the borders. Slave traders who have profited from the dubious
truce her mother agreed to and the Red Queen of Mortmesne, a
seemingly immortal sorceress. As Kelsea discovers the magic that lays
within her and the sapphire she wears she begins to question what events
in the past led them to this self-destructive road. She seeks answers
to the beginning of the Tearling history, the crossing from the old world
to the new one. And what went wrong with the founder's dream of a
"better world." I listened to the unabridged audiobook read by
Katherine Kellgren. This is an unforgettable tale, both written
and narrated, of destiny, magic, and the fight against malevolent
forces bent on dominating the world.

 

As the first book in this trilogy wrapped up questions remained... what is the
crossing? What were the original settlers running from?
What happened to the dream? "

 

 

Join our read a book a month challenge.  Have you read a

good book lately?  Tell us about it.

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdjyD7PG8C4REqxiG99Z3sT26a0LDiUnHw9oX8zBAbFTAkngA/viewform?usp=sf_link

#LifelongreadingIsLifelongLearning #ReadOn #ShareReading #NewYearsResolution #12in12

Library and Research Skills