Showing of Results

October Database of the Month: Opposing Viewpoints In Context

10/08/2020
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is one of the most assigned, most suggested, and most used databases.

Why?

And did you know there are six other databases in the series?  If you know how to use Opposing Viewpoints, you also will have no problem with:

Global Issues in Context

Biography in Context

Science in Context

Student Resources in Context

U.S. History in Context

World History in Context

 

This is a ten-minute overview of how to find the library, where to find
Opposing viewpoints, how to use it, and more.

This database is hand curated for your success. 

 

This post has no comments.
Field is required.
No Tags

Similar Posts

View All Posts
Override The Security Warning Page: Help Is On The Way
10/14/2020
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens
0 Comments

Many of the Library's subscription databases now have a security screen that comes up to prevent users from going any further.  Once the user overrides the warning, that link is added as OK.  

However, for many users, the warning is frightening. We have a warning on our Databases A-Z page, but many users do not see it.

We thought this was a user side browser error, but have found we need to invest in a new level of authenticating service.

Meantime, please communicate to students it is safe to override, bypass, to go to these sites.

 

 

Google Chrome Warning

Select Advanced and proceed to the site. 

 

Warning from the databases

 

 

Firefox Warning

Accept Risk and Continue.

Firefox warning

 

 

Another Example

Go the SHOW DETAILS and select the link to the database. 

 

Image of security warning

Library and Research Skills
Why Join #BigBendCCBookChallenge
03/09/2020
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens
0 Comments

HERE: Share Book and Book Talk

 

Flowchart of Book Challenge and New Years Resolution

 

REFERENCES:

"2.5 times less likely to develop Alzheimer’s"
"...reading reduces stress by 68 percent"
Book and Reading Statistics

Leads to Clarity & Clear Thinking
Opening the Closed Mind: The Effect of Exposure to Literature on the Need for Closure

Be Resourceful
Goal Setting is Linked to Higher Achievement

Builds Resilience
5 Steps to a More Resilient You

 

Basic Skills, Library and Research Skills
Big Bend Community College William C. Bonaudi Library invites you to attend our Wednesday Webinars. PJs are OK! Login as you are.
11/06/2019
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens
0 Comments

Big Bend Community College William C. Bonaudi Library invites you to attend our Wednesday Webinars. PJs are OK! Login as you are.

The Library is beginning weekly online webinars about Library and Research topics. All students and faculty are welcome to attend these small size online presentations.

Ask questions and interact with your Librarian from the comfort of your own home or wherever you are.

Flyer for the Webinars. The text is repeated under the image.

 

DATES AND TOPICS:

November 13
Library Orientation

November 20
Databases A-Z

December 4
Library Orientation

December 11|
Google :  Advanced Search and Google Scholar

REGISTER

Register for a reminder and to have presentation materials emailed to you:
https://forms.gle/HrVDLDM7DsMiZLCM8

OR SIGN IN AT 6:30PM DAY OF WEBINAR

Or sign in at 6:30pm:
https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/685047380

Basic Skills