Big Bend Community College William C. Bonaudi Library

Database of the Month: eHRAF World Cultures

06/01/2020

Rhonda Kitchens

Art / Art History, Religion and Religious Studies

eHRAF World Cultures

Performers in a sing-sing gather in Wabag, Enga Province of Papua New Guinea. These gatherings typically constitute multiple different tribes and are always bursting with various art forms, from decorative body adornments, to the dance, song, and musical drum lines.

"eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords." - From Publisher.

The "e" stands for electronic. The HRAF is for Human Relations Area Files.

Selected features from publisher Yale University:

Ethnographic collections organized by regions, subregions, and cultures
Cross-cultural database includes
- Indigenous peoples and ethnic groups
- Immigrant cultures in the U.S. and Canada
- Historical to contemporary time periods
- Probability Sample Files designed for hypothesis testing
- Currently over 300 cultures and over 600,000 pages
Comprehensive summaries in Browse Cultures include topics such as
- Economy
- History and Cultural Relations
- Family and Kinship
- Sociopolitical organization
- Religion

This teaching and research tool covers:

Anthropology
Other social sciences–economics, sociology, psychology, political science
History
Religion
Law and Justice
Arts and Architecture
Interdisciplinary programs–Area studies, child development, environment, multicultural studies, peace and conflict, gender studies, gerontology
Agriculture
Biology and Botany
Health and nutrition
Medicine and nursing
Astronomy

EXPLORE...

This post has no comments.

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Subjects

Basic Skills

Science

Agriculture

Food

Gardening

Culture

Criminal Justice

Psychology

Library and Research Skills

Education

Recent Posts

Favorite Poem Project II

Come read a favorite poem by a cherished poet. Share the why. Inspire. Be inspired. The Favorite Poem Project, now in its 27th year, began with the idea that poems mean something deeply to Americans. This is something many of us agree on but rarely have a place to discuss. So, let’s gather & share. #FavoritePOemProject #PoetryMonth ...

Poetry in the Quad II Monday April 28 2025 11am-3pm

Poetry in the Quad (Between Buildings 1800 and 1400) is a diverse, encouraging, inspiring, supportive, joyful outside event where we all come together to CREATE as a vibrant community. Students, Staff, Faculty, & Community Invited!! Haikus - Blackout Poetry - LGBTQIA2S+ poetry - Poetry Art - Collage Poems - Snack Picnic - And MORE! #PoetryInTheQuad #PoetryMonth Celebrate and Create at Big Bend Community College! Questions? Contact Rhonda ...

Remembering bell hooks: 2025 Women's History Month

Remembering bell hooks: 2025 Women's History Month Image based portrait of bell hooks painted by Will Kasso, as the final portrait from a residency at Middlebury College, 2017. Yellow frame added by the Commons Library. Noncommercial use for this bibliography. A Random Purposeful Annotated Bibliography of Women's History, Buddhism (maybe), Chicana Feminists, Witches, and bell hooks. March 2025. Race-Ing Justice, en-gendering Power Toni Morrison Call Number: GENERAL ; KF 8745 T48 R33 1992 ISBN: 0679741453 Publication Date: 1992-10-06 It was perhaps the most wretchedly aspersive race and gender scandal of recent times: the dramatic testimony of Anita Hill at the Senate hearings on the confirmation of Clarence Thomas as Supreme Court Justice. Yet even as the televised proceedings shocked and galvanized viewers not only in this country but the world over, they cast a long shadow on essential issues that define America. In Race-ing Justice, En-gendering Power, Nobel Prize winner Toni Morrison contributes an introduction and brings together eighteen provocative essays, all but one written especially for this book, by prominent and distinguished academicians--Black and white, male and female. These writings powerfully elucidate not only the racial and sexual but also the historical, political, cultural, legal, psychological, and linguistic aspects of a signal and revelatory moment in American history. With contributions by: Homi K. Bhabha, Margaret A. Burnham, Kimberlé Crenshaw, Paula Giddings, A. Leon Higginbotham, Jr., Claudia Brodsky Lacour, Wahneema Lubiano, Manning Marable, Nellie Y. McKay, Toni Morrison, Nell Irvin Painter, Gayle Pemberton, Andrew Ross, Christine Stansell, Carol M. Swain, Michael Remembered Rapture bell hooks Call Number: GENERAL ; PE 64 H66 A3 1999 ISBN: 0805059091 Publication Date: 1999-01-11 Drawing on her experiences as a professor of English and the author of sixteen highly acclaimed books, critic bell hooks presents an insightful collection of essays on the process and politics of writing. Centrally, many of the essays raise provocative questions about the feminist movement and women's writing--the kinds of voices women have established in the wake of the demand for more writing by women, the politics of confession and the type of standards being set for women writers by critics. Several essays explore hooks's personal relationship to publishing, explaining the impact success has had on her work as she highlights her movement from writing in relative isolation to writing in New York City amidst the publishing industry, in a world full of writers. Other essays focus on the dearth of nonfiction writing by Black women, contrasting that with the rise in their published fiction. More general essays focus on writing as healing, raising issues about the function of writing; the extent to which readers inspire writers; and how race, ger, and class can determine one's relationship to words. Teaching critical thinking : practical wisdom bell hooks Ebscohost Ebooks ISBN: 9786612315251 Publication Date: 2010 In Teaching Critical Thinking, renowned cultural critic and progressive educator bell hooks addresses some of the most compelling issues facing teachers in and out of the classroom today.In a series of short, accessible, and enlightening essays, hooks explores the confounding and sometimes controversial topics that teachers and students have urged her to address since the publication of the previous best-selling volumes in her Teaching series, Teaching to Transgress and Teaching Community. Feminism Is for Everybody bell hooks Call Number: NEW BOOKS ; HQ 1190 H67 2000 ISBN: 9780745317335 Publication Date: 2000-12-20 'Simply put, feminism is a movement to end sexism, sexist exploitation, and oppression.' So begins Feminism is for Everybody, a short, accessible introduction to feminist theory by one of its most influential practitioners. Designed to be read by all genders, this book provides both a primer to the question 'what is feminism?' and an argument for the enduring importance of the feminist movement today.Beginning with a broad survey of feminism's most important themes and concerns, bell hooks demystifies contentious concepts and turns apparent ideology into common sense. Providing a critical evaluation of the successes and failures of contemporary feminism, she looks at a wide variety of topics including reproductive rights, sexual violence, race, class and work. hooks encourages us to demand alternatives to patriarchal, racist and homophobic culture and thereby to seek out a different future. Article: An Appalachian Heritage Conversation with bell hooks & Fenton Johnson Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press bell hooks & Fenton Johnson Online Article Publication Date: 2018 When Appalachian Heritage hosted a conversation between bell hooks and Fenton Johnson in April, the two native Kentuckians spoke to a packed house filled with students, professors, community members, and even a couple who had driven in from Texas specially for the event. [...]I would say the marriages that I admire and respect the most are the marriages that fall into what the critic Phyllis Rose called “parallel lives,” where two people agree to be solitaries together. [...]I don’t think any other language has the word that we carry that has such richness and associations. [...]that essay ends with my writing and thinking of the Catholic Church, and thinking of the South, and I’ve come to understand that this is what they share: “an uncompromising demand that they be accepted on their terms. Breaking Bread bell. hooks; Cornel West Online Ebscohost Ebooks ISBN: 1315437074 Publication Date: 2016-11-10 In this provocative and captivating dialogue, bell hooks and Cornel West come together to discuss the dilemmas, contradictions, and joys of Black intellectual life. The two friends and comrades in struggle talk, argue, and disagree about everything from community to capitalism in a series of intimate conversations that range from playful to probing to revelatory. In evoking the act of breaking bread, the book calls upon the various traditions of sharing that take place in domestic, secular, and sacred life where people come together to give themselves, to nurture life, to renew their spirits, sustain their hopes, and to make a lived politics of revolutionary struggle an ongoing practice. This 25th anniversary edition continues the dialogue with "In Solidarity," their 2016 conversation at the bell hooks Institute on racism, politics, popular culture and the contemporary Black experience. a bell tolls for bell hooks (1952–2021) Namulundah Florence Online Proquest Publication Date: 2022 "Only bell hooks can get away with saying, “Do as I say,” in promoting a lifestyle. The seeker of love admits, it was “a longing so intense it could not only be spoken but was deliberately searched for” (2001, xvii). The physical, psychological, and spiritual journey involved years of disengaging from “learned patterns of behavior that negated my capacity to give and receive love” (10). Self-reflection and acceptance helped hooks commit to life affirming and nurturing choices in her quest, often unsuccessful, for love and its transformative power."--from article Where We Stand: Class Matters bell hooks Online Ebscohost Ebooks ISBN: 1135956642 Publication Date: 2012-10-02 Drawing on both her roots in Kentucky and her adventures with Manhattan Coop boards, Where We Stand is a successful black woman's reflection--personal, straight forward, and rigorously honest--on how our dilemmas of class and race are intertwined, and how we can find ways to think beyond them. Teaching bell hooks in Technical and Professional Communication Sano-Franchini, J. et al. Online Article Proquest. In College English. Publication Date: 2023, January "This retrospective analysis discusses how three teachers of technical and professional communication (TPC) at three different postsecondary institutions in the United States bring the works of bell hooks into our TPC courses..."* the transgressive possibilities of educational environments, * feminism as a methodology for social justice-oriented user experience (UX) design, * the oppositional gaze as a frame for analyzing the politics of looking in visual rhetoric, and * white supremacist capitalist patriarchy as a way of understanding systems of domination in an effort to work toward social justice in TPC." - From Article A Kentucky State of Mind: bell hooks' Feminist Geography of Subjectivity Shawn McGuffey. Online Article Proquest in Southeastern Geographer. Publication Date: Fall 2023 "This research applied a feminist geographical framework to analyze the significance of Kentucky in bell hooks Black feminist theorization. Utilizing narrative inquiry and the constant comparative method to analyze her memoir, Bone Black, poetry collection, Appalachian Elegy, and a collection of essays called Belonging, the findings illuminate the conditions, interactions, and consequences of homemaking for the politics of location. These findings reveal the process of becoming a subject, suggest a feminist geographic approach as an alternative to more abstract understandings of margin and center, and provide a more nuanced understanding of the significance of movement and stillness in knowledge production. The article concludes by suggesting that Kentucky is central to hooks feminist visions and theories."--abstract Teaching for Liberation: The Manifesto Assignment as anExample of bell hooks’ Engaged Pedagogy Saarthe Tack Call Number: Online Article Taylor & Francis Publication Date: 2022 "Diversity and inclusion, decolonising the curriculum, andintersectionality have become buzzwords in higher education,with questions raised about what counts as knowledge andwhose knowledge counts in teaching contexts. Despite eﬀortsbeing made to democratise the curriculum through reading listsand lecture content, pedagogy itself remains largely unchanged.In this article, I provide a theoretical reﬂection on my experiencesof teaching an introductory gender studies unit at an Australianuniversity at the start of the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020. Thepandemic intensiﬁed existing inequities amongst students, notonly outside but also inside the classroom. It is against thisbackdrop that I swapped the initially set research essay in theunit for a manifesto writing assignment. In this article, I explorethe ways in which the manifesto assignment provided anopportunity to take seriously bell hooks’ vision of engagedpedagogy that views education as the practice of freedom anddiscuss the ways in which it came to represent an example offeminist praxis that assists in fostering a more inclusiveclassroom, grounded in feminism’s liberatory project." Abstract "Even in a Place of Sorrow, Even in a Place of Joy": Intersections of Blackness and Southernness in the Works of bell hooks and Honorée Fanonne Jeffers Emily Palermo Online Article in Mississippi Quarterly Publication Date: 2024, November "bell hooks's Belonging: A Culture of Place (2009) and Honorée Fanonne Jeffers's The Love Songs of W. E. B. Du Bois (2021) exist at the intersection of southernness and Blackness, mapping the ways that the south can be a site of trauma and profound identification for the Black southerners who call it home. Both texts articulate the intense emotional experience that stems from returning to the south and offer alternative models for considering Black southern affects. These models challenge the white emotional paradigm—particularly its preoccupation with nostalgia—that dominates conversations about southern feelings. Situating these two texts within the current discourse surrounding monuments and memorials, this article highlights a non-linear engagement with history that prioritizes the felt aftermaths of slavery and the Jim Crow era in southern Black communities. In centering the complex, and often contradictory, affects that define the Black southern experience, both Belonging and The Love Songs of W. E. B. Du Bois articulate the felt forms through which Black southerners return to both the physical region and history of the south.-Abstract All about Love bell. hooks Call Number: GENERAL ; BF 575 L8 H655 2000 ISBN: 0688168442 Publication Date: 1999-12-22 A New York Times bestseller and enduring classic, All About Love is the acclaimed first volume in feminist icon bell hooks' "Love Song to the Nation" trilogy. All About Love reveals what causes a polarized society, and how to heal the divisions that cause suffering. Here is the truth about love, and inspiration to help us instill caring, compassion, and strength in our homes, schools, and workplaces. "The word 'love' is most often defined as a noun, yet we would all love better if we used it as a verb," writes bell hooks as she comes out fighting and on fire in All About Love. Here, at her most provocative and intensely personal, renowned scholar, cultural critic and feminist bell hooks offers a proactive new ethic for a society bereft with lovelessness--not the lack of romance, but the lack of care, compassion, and unity. People are divided, she declares, by society's failure to provide a model for learning to love. As bell hooks uses her incisive mind to explore the question "What is love?" her answers strike at both the mind and heart. Razing the cultural paradigm that the ideal love is infused with sex and desire, she provides a new path to love that is sacred, redemptive, and healing for individuals and for a nation. The Utne Reader declared bell hooks one of the "100 Visionaries Who Can Change Your Life." All About Love is a powerful, timely affirmation of just how profoundly her revelations can change hearts and minds for the better. Feminist Theory Bell. Hooks Call Number: GENERAL ; HQ 1426 H675 1984 Publication Date: 1984-10-01 Argues that women's liberation has failed to become a mass movement because feminist theories have not accounted for the diversity of women. Teaching to Transgress bell. hooks Call Number: GENERAL ; LC 196 H66 1994 Publication Date: 1994-09-12 "After reading Teaching to TransgressI am once again struck by bell hooks's never-ending, unquiet intellectual energy, an energy that makes her radical and loving." -- Paulo Freire In Teaching to Transgress,bell hooks--writer, teacher, and insurgent black intellectual--writes about a new kind of education, education as the practice of freedom. Teaching students to "transgress" against racial, sexual, and class boundaries in order to achieve the gift of freedom is, for hooks, the teacher's most important goal. bell hooks speaks to the heart of education today: how can we rethink teaching practices in the age of multiculturalism? What do we do about teachers who do not want to teach, and students who do not want to learn? How should we deal with racism and sexism in the classroom? Full of passion and politics, Teaching to Transgress combines a practical knowledge of the classroom with a deeply felt connection to the world of emotions and feelings. This is the rare book about teachers and students that dares to raise questions about eros and rage, grief and reconciliation, and the future of teaching itself. "To educate is the practice of freedom," writes bell hooks, "is a way of teaching anyone can learn." Teaching to Transgress is the record of one gifted teacher's struggle to make classrooms work." We Real Cool bell. hooks Online Ebscohost Ebooks Publication Date: 2004-08-02 "When women get together and talk about men, the news is almost always bad news," writes bell hooks. "If the topic gets specific and the focus is on black men, the news is even worse." In this powerful new book, bell hooks arrests our attention from the first page. Her title--WeReal Cool; her subject--the way in which both white society and weak black leaders are failing black men and youth. Her subject is taboo: "this is a culture that does not love black males:" "they are not loved by white men, white women, black women, girls or boys. And especially, black men do not love themselves. How could they? How could they be expected to love, surrounded by so much envy, desire, and hate?" bell hooks: a conversation with Laverne Cox bell hooks Online Video on YouTube: The New School Publication Date: October 13, 2014 "In October 2014, hooks invited the Orange is the New Black Star to The New School, where she was a longtime scholar-in-residence, for a conversation about race, gender, and colonialism. In doing so, the two quietly broke ground, modeling how cisgender and transgender feminisms can — and should — coexist through collaboration, dialogue, and loving critique. Although the roughly 90-minute conversation is worth watching in its entirety, the sparks really began to fly about a half hour in, when hooks brought up the question of feminine gender performance." Them.us Available Means Joy Ritchie (Editor); Katharine Ronald (Editor) Online Ebscohost Ebooks Publication Date: 2001-07-12 "I say that even later someone will remember us."--Sappho, Fragment 147, sixth century, BCSappho's prediction came true; fragments of work by the earliest woman writer in Western literate history have in fact survived into the twenty-first century. But not without peril. Sappho's writing remains only in fragments, partly due to the passage of time, but mostly as a result of systematic efforts to silence women's voices. Sappho's hopeful boast captures the mission of this anthology: to gather together women engaged in the art of persuasion--across differences of race, class, sexual orientation, historical and physical locations--in order to remember that the rhetorical tradition indeed includes them.Available Means offers seventy women rhetoricians--from ancient Greece to the twenty-first century--a room of their own for the first time. Editors Joy Ritchie and Kate Ronald do so in the feminist tradition of recovering a previously unarticulated canon of women's rhetoric. Women whose voices are central to such scholarship are included here, such as Aspasia (a contemporary of Plato's), Margery Kempe, Margaret Fuller, and Ida B. Wells. Added are influential works on what it means to write as a woman--by Virginia Woolf, Adrienne Rich, Nancy Mairs, Alice Walker, and Hélène Cixous. Public "manifestos" on the rights of women by Hortensia, Mary Astell, Maria Stewart, Sarah and Angelina Grimké, Anna Julia Cooper, Margaret Sanger, and Audre Lorde also join the discourse.But Available Means searches for rhetorical tradition in less obvious places, too. Letters, journals, speeches, newspaper columns, diaries, meditations, and a fable (Rachel Carson's introduction to Silent Spring) also find places in this room. Such unconventional documents challenge traditional notions of invention, arrangement, style, and delivery, and blur the boundaries between public and private discourse. Included, too, are writers whose voices have not been heard in any tradition. Ritchie and Ronald seek to "unsettle" as they expand the women's rhetorical canon.Arranged chronologically, Available Means is designed as a classroom text that will allow students to hear women speaking to each other across centuries, and to see how women have added new places from which arguments can be made. Each selection is accompanied by an extensive headnote, which sets the reading in context. The breadth of material will allow students to ask such questions as "How might we define women's rhetoric? How have women used and subverted traditional rhetoric?"A topical index at the end of the book provides teachers a guide through the rhetorical riches. Available Means will be an invaluable text for rhetoric courses of all levels, as well as for women's studies courses." A Black Women's History of the United States Daina Ramey Berry; Kali Nicole Gross Call Number: GENERAL ; E 185.86 B475 2020 Publication Date: 2021-03-16 The award-winning Revisioning American History series continues with this "groundbreaking new history of Black women in the United States" (Ibram X. Kendi)-the perfect companion to An Indigenous People's History of the United States and An African American and Latinx History of the United States. An empowering and intersectional history that centers the stories of African American women across 400+ years, showing how they are-and have always been-instrumental in shaping our country. In centering Black women's stories, two award-winning historians seek both to empower African American women and to show their allies that Black women's unique ability to make their own communities while combatting centuries of oppression is an essential component in our continued resistance to systemic racism and sexism. Daina Ramey Berry and Kali Nicole Gross offer an examination and celebration of Black womanhood, beginning with the first African women who arrived in what became the United States to African American women of today. A Black Women's History of the United States reaches far beyond a single narrative to showcase Black women's lives in all their fraught complexities. Berry and Gross prioritize many voices- enslaved women, freedwomen, religious leaders, artists, queer women, activists, and women who lived outside the law. The result is a starting point for exploring Black women's history and a testament to the beauty, richness, rhythm, tragedy, heartbreak, rage, and enduring love that abounds in the spirit of Black women in communities throughout the nation. Women in Pacific Northwest History Karen J. Blair (Editor) PACIFIC NW COLLECTION ; HQ 1438 A19 W65 1990 Publication Date: 1988-12-01 Part one: Woman suffrage ; Of women's rights and freedom: Abigail Scott Duniway / Ruth B. Moynihan ; May Arkwright Hutton: Suffragist and politician / Patricia V. Horner ; The fight for woman suffrage and the Oregon Press / Lauren Kessler -- Part two: Work ; The limits of sisterhood: The woman's building in Seattle, 1908-1921 / Karen J. Blair ; Bertha Knight Landes: The woman who was mayor / Doris H. Pieroth ; The job he left behind: Women in the shipyards during World War II / Karen B. Skold -- Part three: Race and ethnicity ; Black women in the Pacific Northwest: A survey and research prospectus / Susan H. Armitage and Deborah G. Wilbert ; Sexual equality on the Colville Indian reservation in traditional and contemporary contexts / Lillian A. Ackerman ; Scandinavian women in Seattle, 1888-1990: Domestication and Americanization / Janice L. Reiff -- Part four: The arts ; Blanche Payne: Scholar of costume history and university professor / Diana Ryesky ; Tsugiki, a grafting: A history of a Japanese pioneer woman in Washington state / Gail M. Nomurar -- Part five: New directions for research ; The challenge of women's history / Susan H. Armitage. Women of the Republic Linda K. Kerber Call Number: GENERAL ; HQ 1418 K47 1980 Publication Date: 1980-12-01 Women of the Republic is the result of a seven-year search for women's diaries, letters, and legal records. Achieving a remarkable comprehensiveness, it describes women's participation in the war, evaluates changes in their education in the late eighteenth century, describes the novels and histories women read and wrote, and analyzes their status in law and society. The rhetoric of the Revolution, full of insistence on rights and freedom in opposition to dictatorial masters, posed questions about the position of women in marriage as well as in the polity, but few of the implications of this rhetoric were recognized. How much liberty and equality for women? How much pursuit of happiness? How much justice? When American political theory failed to define a program for the participation of women in the public arena, women themselves had to develop an ideology of female patriotism. They promoted the notion that women could guarantee the continuing health of the republic by nurturing public-spirited sons and husbands. This limited ideology of "Republican Motherhood" is a measure of the political and social conservatism of the Revolution. The subsequent history of women in America is the story of women's efforts to accomplish for themselves what the Revolution did not. The Movement Clara Bingham Call Number: NEW BOOKS ; HQ 1421 B52 2024 Publication Date: 2024-07-30 A comprehensive and engaging oral history of the decade that defined the feminist movement, including interviews with living icons and unsung heroes--from former Newsweek reporter and author of the "powerful and moving" (The New York Times) Witness to the Revolution. For lovers of both Barbie and Gloria Steinem, The Movement is the first oral history of the decade that built the modern feminist movement. Through the captivating individual voices of the people who lived it, The Movement tells the intimate inside story of what it felt like to be at the forefront of the modern feminist crusade, when women rejected thousands of years of custom and demanded the freedom to be who they wanted and needed to be. This engaging history traces women's awakening, organizing, and agitating between the years of 1963 and 1973, when a decentralized collection of people and events coalesced to create a spontaneous combustion. From Betty Friedan's The Feminine Mystique, to the underground abortion network the Janes, to Shirley Chisholm's presidential campaign and Billie Jean King's 1973 battle of the sexes, Bingham artfully weaves together the fragments of that explosion person by person, bringing to life the emotions of this personal, cultural, and political revolution. Artists and politicians, athletes and lawyers, Black and white, The Movement brings readers into the rooms where these women insisted on being treated as first class citizens, and in the process, changed the fabric of American life. Women in Culture and Politics Judith Friedlander (Editor); Blanche Wiesen Cook (Editor); Alice Kessler-Harris (Editor); Carroll Smith-Rosenberg (Editor) Call Number: GENERAL ; HQ 1208 S7713 1986 Publication Date: 1986-06-01 Independence and virtue in the lives of wage-earning women: the United States, 1870-1930 / Alice Kessler-Harris -- Between the devil and the deep blue sea: the marriage and labor markets in nineteenth-century England / Diana Gittins -- From poor law to jungle law: sexual relations and marital strategies (London, 1850-1870) / Francoise Ducrocq -- The 1920s: feminism, consumerism, and political backlash in the United States / Rayna Rapp and Ellen Ross -- Girkultur of Thoroughly rationalized female: a new woman in Weimar Germany? / Atina Grossmann -- The anti-Semite and the second sex: a cultural reading of Sartre and Beauvoir / Judith Friedlander -- Between rape and prostitution: survival strategies and chances of emancipation for Berlin women after World War II / Annemarie Troger -- Farewell to history / Marie-Jo Bonnet -- "Viragos" in male theory in nineteenth-century Germany / Gudrun Schwarz -- Feminism and literary criticism: reflections on the disciplinary approach / Marcelle Marini -- Female insubordination and the text / Catharine R. Stimpson -- And the last walls dissolved: on imagining a story of the survival of difference / Carole B. Tarantelli -- Women in the theatre of men: what price freedom? / Marie-Claire Pasquier -- Male space and women's bodies: the English Suffragette Movement / Martha Vicinus -- Family structure, occupational patterns, and support for women's suffrage / Elinor Lerner -- Catholic women and political affairs: the case of the Patriotic League of French Women / Anne-Marie Sohn -- Catholic constructions of feminity: three Dutch women's organization in search of a politics of the personal, 1912-1940 Women's Ways of Knowing (10th Anniversary Edition) Mary Field Belenky; Blythe McVicker Clinchy; Nancy Rule Goldberger; Jill Mattuck Tarule Call Number: GENERAL ; HQ 1206 W88 1997 Publication Date: 1997-01-09 Despite the progress of the women’s movement, many women still feel silenced in their families and schools. This moving and insightful bestseller, based on in-depth interviews with 135 women, explains why they feel this way. Updated with a new preface exploring how the authors’ collaboration and research developed, this tenth anniversary edition addresses many of the questions that the authors have been asked repeatedly in the years since Women’s Ways of Knowing was originally published. Reflections on Antiracist Feminist Pedagogy and Organizing: This Bridge Called My Back, Forty Years Later Soares, Kristie, et al. Call Number: Online Article in Feminist Studies. Publication Date: 2022 " I have found that this collection provides a model for feminist and antiracist activism for my students, just as it did for me and my godmother. This essay reflects on my experiences teach- ing This Bridge Called My Back in two particular courses, Latina/x Stud- ies and Women of Color & Activism. By engaging both with This Bridge Called My Back and with student reflections on this text, I suggest that the book offers three key analytics that have helped my students and me envision what antiracist feminist organizing might look like in the con- temporary era. These analytics are bridging, coalition, and home. These three frameworks have not only challenged us to consider how feminism and antiracism intersect, but they have also crucially prepared us for antiracist feminist organizing in this political moment."-The author Why Learn from Chicanas? The Relevance of U.S. Third World Chicana Thinkers in Polish Feminist Research Hołubowicz Aleksandra Online Article in Slovo a smysl - Word & Sense Publication Date: 2022 American feminist theories have long energised Polish scholarly work, and many Polish academics have drawn on the research of renowned American writers such as Judith Butler. Polish translations of numerous American authors may well have increased readership, which would otherwise be confined to English-speaking intellectuals. Wydawnictwo Krytyki Politycznej, a left-leaning publishing house, offers a wide selection of crucial works by American feminists and sells those books at affordable prices, making certain texts by Butler, Carol Gilligan, and Katha Pollitt widely accessible. Most works published in Polish have been authored by white women with some attempts to be more racially inclusive (the works of Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak and bell hooks, for example, can also be found in translation). Chicana writers, on the other hand, are not part of Krytyka Polityczna’s canon. This paper aims to address this oversight, arguing for the benefits of drawing on Chicanas’ research in the analysis of various social, political, and cultural phenomena in Poland. It also takes a close look at several relevant terms/concepts proposed by Gloria Anzaldúa, Ana Castillo, and Chela Sandoval, as well as the ways in which these could be applied in the Polish context.- abstract This Bridge Called My Back Moraga & Anzaldua ISBN: 9781438488288 Publication Date: 2021-11-01 Fortieth anniversary edition of the foundational text of women of color feminism. Originally released in 1981, This Bridge Called My Back is a testimony to women of color feminism as it emerged in the last quarter of the twentieth century. Through personal essays, criticism, interviews, testimonials, poetry, and visual art, the collection explores, as coeditor Cherríe Moraga writes, "the complex confluence of identities-race, class, gender, and sexuality-systemic to women of color oppression and liberation." Reissued here, forty years after its inception, this anniversary edition contains a new preface by Moraga reflecting on Bridge's "living legacy" and the broader community of women of color activists, writers, and artists whose enduring contributions dovetail with its radical vision. Further features help set the volume's historical context, including an extended introduction by Moraga from the 2015 edition, a statement written by Gloria Anzaldúa in 1983, and visual art produced during the same period by Betye Saar, Ana Mendieta, Yolanda López, and others, curated by their contemporary, artist Celia Herrera Rodríguez. Bridge continues to reflect an evolving definition of feminism, one that can effectively adapt to and help inform an understanding of the changing economic and social conditions of women of color in the United States and throughout the world. The Witches Stacy Schiff DISPLAY SERVICE DESK ; KFM 2478.8 W5 S35 2015 Publication Date: 2016-09-20 The Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Cleopatra, the #1 national bestseller, unpacks the mystery of the Salem Witch Trials. It began in 1692, over an exceptionally raw Massachusetts winter, when a minister's daughter began to scream and convulse. It ended less than a year later, but not before 19 men and women had been hanged and an elderly man crushed to death. The panic spread quickly, involving the most educated men and prominent politicians in the colony. Neighbors accused neighbors, parents and children each other. Aside from suffrage, the Salem Witch Trials represent the only moment when women played the central role in American history. In curious ways, the trials would shape the future republic. As psychologically thrilling as it is historically seminal, The Witches is Stacy Schiff's account of this fantastical story -- the first great American mystery unveiled fully for the first time by one of our most acclaimed historians. The Devil in the Shape of a Woman Carol F. Karlsen GENERAL ; BF 1576 K37 1998 Publication Date: 1998-04-17 Confessing to "familiarity with the devils," Mary Johnson, a servant, was executed by Connecticut officials in 1648. A wealthy Boston widow, Ann Hibbens was hanged in 1656 for casting spells on her neighbors. The case of Ann Cole, who was "taken with very strange Fits," fueled an outbreak of witchcraft accusations in Hartford a generation before the notorious events at Salem. More than three hundred years later, the question "Why?" still haunts us. Why were these and other women likely witches--vulnerable to accusations of witchcraft and possession? Carol F. Karlsen reveals the social construction of witchcraft in seventeenth-century New England and illuminates the larger contours of gender relations in that society. The Woman They Could Not Silence by Kate Moore General ; HN 80 P23 M66 2021 ISBN: 9781492696728 Publication Date: 2021-06-22 From the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of The Radium Girls comes another dark and dramatic but ultimately uplifting tale of a forgotten woman hero whose inspirational journey sparked lasting change for women's rights and exposed injustices that still resonate today. 1860: As the clash between the states rolls slowly to a boil, Elizabeth Packard, housewife and mother of six, is facing her own battle. The enemy sits across the table and sleeps in the next room. Her husband of twenty-one years is plotting against her because he feels increasingly threatened--by Elizabeth's intellect, independence, and unwillingness to stifle her own thoughts. So he makes a plan to put his wife back in her place. One summer morning, he has her committed to an insane asylum. The horrific conditions inside the Illinois State Hospital in Jacksonville, Illinois, are overseen by Dr. Andrew McFarland, a man who will prove to be even more dangerous to Elizabeth than her traitorous husband. But most disturbing is that Elizabeth is not the only sane woman confined to the institution. There are many rational women on her ward who tell the same story: they've been committed not because they need medical treatment, but to keep them in line--conveniently labeled "crazy" so their voices are ignored. No one is willing to fight for their freedom and, disenfranchised both by gender and the stigma of their supposed madness, they cannot possibly fight for themselves. But Elizabeth is about to discover that the merit of losing everything is that you then have nothing to lose... Bestselling author Kate Moore brings her sparkling narrative voice to The Woman They Could Not Silence, an unputdownable story of the forgotten woman who courageously fought for her own freedom--and in so doing freed millions more. Elizabeth's refusal to be silenced and her ceaseless quest for justice not only challenged the medical science of the day, and led to a giant leap forward in human rights, it also showcased the most salutary lesson: sometimes, the greatest heroes we have are those inside ourselves. Praise for The Woman They Could Not Silence: "Like Radium Girls, this volume is a page-turner."--Library Journal, STARRED review "A veritable tour de force about how far women's rights have come and how far we still have to go...Put this book in the hands of every young feminist."--Booklist, STARRED review "In Moore's expert hands, this beautifully-written tale unspools with drama and power, and puts Elizabeth Packard on the map at the most relevant moment imaginable. You will be riveted--and inspired. Bravo!"--Liza Mundy, New York Times bestselling author of Code Girls The Roots of Bitterness by Nancy F. Cott Call Number: GENERAL ; HQ 1410 C68 1972 ISBN: 0525473289 Publication Date: 1972-08-31 I. The early colonial milieu: goodwives, shrews, and witches. The trappan'd maiden ; Examination of Mrs. Ann Hutchinson ; Church trial of Mistress Ann Hibbens ; Ordinary dealings at Suffolk County Court ; Mercy Short, bewitched ; Susanna Martin, on trial for witchcraft. -- II. An achieving society: the eighteenth century. The lady's New Year's gift, or 'Advice to a daughter' / George Savile, Marquis of Halifax ; Sarah Osborn's religious conversion ; Letter from an indentured servant ; Sally Wister's Revolutionary War-time diary ; A friend's journal in Philadelphia / Ann Head Warder ; Letters from Eliza Southgate to her cousin Moses Porter. -- III. The cult of domesticity versus social change. On "proper conduct of the wife towards her husband" / Samuel Jennings ; On American women and American wives / Alexis de Tocqueville ; Lucy Larcom's factory experience ; "Susan Miller," a story by F. G. A., a Lowell operative ; From 'Woman in America' / Mrs. A. J. Graves ; Petition for a ten-hour workday ; "Sweethearts and wives" / T. S. Arthur, a story from 'Godey's Lady's Book' ; On the peculiar responsibilities of American women / Catharine Beecher. -- IV. Slavery and sex. From 'Letters on the equality of the sexes' / Sarah Grimke ; Narratives from escaped slaves ; From 'An appeal to the women of the nominally free states' / Angelina Grimke ; The trials of girlhood / Linda Brent ; A Confederate lady's diary / Mary Boykin Chesnut. -- V. Nineteenth-century alternatives: pioneers and utopians. On "free enquiry" / Frances Wright ; Emigration from New York to Michigan / Harriet Noble ; Letters of Narcissa Whitman ; Conversation with a newly-wed Westerner / Eliza Franham ; Letter from the Union of Women for Association and replies ; Domestic relations in a utopian community ; Diary and letter of Mrs. Elizabeth Dixon Smith Geer ; Vindication of the Beecher-Tilton scandal / Victoria Woodhull. -- VI. Sexuality and gynecology in the nineteenth century. On female health in America / Catharine Beecher ; Communication from Mrs. R. B. Gleason of the Elmira Water Cure ; From 'The young woman's book of health' / William Alcott ; The murders of marriage / Mary Gove Nichols ; From 'Perils of American women' / Dr. George Austin, with Mary Livermore's recommendatory letter ; On sexual passion in men and women / Dr. Elizabeth Blackwell ; On female invalidism / Dr. Mary Putnam Jacobi. -- VII. Industrialization and women's work. 'The Working Girls of Boston' ; Speak-out on domestic service ; The sweating system, charity, and organization / Ida Van Etten ; Testimony on compensation for educated women at work ; Unionization for women: the typographical union / Belva Mary Herron ; On the black woman as breadwinner / Mary White Ovington. -- VIII. Legacy of leisure: discontent. On marriage and work / Antoinette Brown Blackwell ; The snare of preparation / Jane Addams ; "The story of an hour" / Kate Chopin ; On women's evolution from economic dependence / Charlotte Perkins Gilman. Edition [1st ed.] Divided We Stand by Marjorie J. Spruill Call Number: General ; HQ 1421 S683 2017 ISBN: 9781632863140 Publication Date: 2017-04-20 More than forty years ago, two women's movements drew a line in the sand between liberals and conservatives. The far-reaching legacy of that rift is still felt today. One of Smithsonian Magazine's "Ten Best History Books of the Year" Gloria Steinem was quoted in 2015 (the New Yorker) as saying the National Women's Conference in 1977 "may take the prize as the most important event nobody knows about." After the United Nations established International Women's Year (IWY) in 1975, Congress mandated and funded state conferences to elect delegates to attend the National Women's Conference in Houston in 1977. At that conference, Bella Abzug, Steinem, and other feminists adopted a National Plan of Action, endorsing the hot-button issues of abortion rights, the Equal Rights Amendment, and gay rights--the latter a new issue in national politics. Across town, Phyllis Schlafly, Lottie Beth Hobbs, and the conservative women's movement held a massive rally to protest federally funded feminism and launch a Pro-Family movement. Although much has been written about the role that social issues have played in politics, little attention has been given to the historical impact of women activists on both sides. DIVIDED WE STAND reveals how the battle between feminists and their conservative challengers divided the nation as Democrats continued to support women's rights and Republicans cast themselves as the party of family values. The women's rights movement and the conservative women's movement have irrevocably affected the course of modern American history. We cannot fully understand the present without appreciating the events leading up to Houston and thereafter. Chicana Movidas by Dionne Espinoza (Editor); María Eugenia Cotera (Editor); Maylei Blackwell (Editor) Call Number: General ; E 184 M5 C395 2018 ISBN: 9781477315590 Publication Date: 2018-07-01 Winner, Best Multiauthor Nonfiction Book, International Latino Book Awards, 2019 With contributions from a wide array of scholars and activists, including leading Chicana feminists from the period, this groundbreaking anthology is the first collection of scholarly essays and testimonios that focuses on Chicana organizing, activism, and leadership in the movement years. The essays in Chicana Movidas: New Narratives of Activisim and Feminism in the Movement Era demonstrate how Chicanas enacted a new kind of politica at the intersection of race, class, gender, and sexuality, and developed innovative concepts, tactics, and methodologies that in turn generated new theories, art forms, organizational spaces, and strategies of alliance. These are the technologies of resistance documented in Chicana Movidas, a volume that brings together critical biographies of Chicana activists and their bodies of work; essays that focus on understudied organizations, mobilizations, regions, and subjects; examinations of emergent Chicana archives and the politics of collection; and scholarly approaches that challenge the temporal, political, heteronormative, and spatial limits of established Chicano movement narratives. Charting the rise of a field of knowledge that crosses the boundaries of Chicano studies, feminist theory, and queer theory, Chicana Movidas: New Narratives of Activisim and Feminism in the Movement Era offers a transgenerational perspective on the intellectual and political legacies of early Chicana feminism. The Second Sex by Constance Borde (Translator); Sheila Malovany-Chevallier (Translator); Simone de Beauvoir ISBN: 9780307265562 Publication Date: 2010-04-13 1953 Modern Library version. BOOK ONE: FACTS AND MYTHS. Part I: Destiny. The data of biology ; The psychoanalytic point of view ; The point of view of historical materialism. -- Part II: History. The nomads ; Early tillers of the soil ; Patriarchal times and classical antiquity ; Through the Middle Ages to eighteenth-century France ; Since the French Revolution: the job and the vote. -- Part III: Myths. Dreams, fears, idols ; The myth of woman in five authors ; Myth and reality. -- BOOK TWO: WOMAN'S LIFE TODAY. Part IV: The formative years. Childhood ; The young girl ; Sexual initiation ; The lesbian. -- Part V: Situation. The married woman ; The mother ; Social life ; Prostitutes and hetairas ; From maturity to old age ; Woman's situation and character. -- Part VI: Justifications. The narcissist ; The woman in love ; The mystic. -- Part VII: Toward liberation. The independent woman. Edition [1st American ed.] Normal Women by Philippa Gregory Call Number: GENERAL ; DA 308 G744 2024 ISBN: 9780063304321 Publication Date: 2024-02-27 "Lively, timely and gloriously energetic. Each page bursts with life, and every chapter swirls with personalities left out of traditional narratives of Britain's past. Philippa Gregory has produced something rare and wonderful: a genuinely new history of [Britain], with women at its beating heart." --Dan Jones, New York Times bestselling author of The Plantagenets "You've devoured her novels, but now Gregory shows off chops as a historian. . . . An amazing read." --The Los Angeles Times The #1 New York Times bestselling historical novelist delivers her magnum opus--a landmark work of feminist nonfiction that radically redefines our understanding of the extraordinary roles ordinary women played throughout British history. AN INDIE BESTSELLER Did you know that there are more penises than women in the Bayeux Tapestry? That the Peasants' Revolt of 1381 was started and propelled by women who were protesting a tax on women? Or that celebrated naturalist Charles Darwin believed not just that women were naturally inferior to men, but that they'd evolve to become ever more inferior? These are just a few of the startling findings you will learn from reading Philippa Gregory's Normal Women. In this ambitious and groundbreaking book, she tells the story of England over 900 years, for the very first time placing women--some fifty per cent of the population--center stage. Using research skills honed in her work as one of our foremost historical novelists, Gregory trawled through court records, newspapers, and journals to find highwaywomen and beggars, murderers and brides, housewives and pirates, female husbands and hermits. The "normal women" you will meet in these pages went to war, ploughed the fields, campaigned, wrote, and loved. They rode in jousts, flew Spitfires, issued their own currency, and built ships, corn mills and houses. They committed crimes or treason, worshipped many gods, cooked and nursed, invented things, and rioted. A lot. A landmark work of scholarship and storytelling, Normal Women chronicles centuries of social and cultural change--from 1066 to modern times--powered by the determination, persistence, and effectiveness of women. *INCLUDES ILLUSTRATIONS THROUGHOUT AND A FULL-COLOR INSERT* "An expansive, inclusive and elegantly woven nonfiction account of the lives of women in England from the Norman Conquest to the modern day. To describe it as merely a retelling is to undermine a core principle: This is a history of women in England, yes, but it is also a history of England, full stop. . . . At more than 500 pages, with extensive endnotes and a 30-page index, Normal Women is a behemoth you may be inclined to skim, until you realize you're actually luxuriating in every word." --The New York Times Born for Liberty by Sara M. Evans Call Number: GENERAL ;HQ 1410 E83 1989 ISBN: 0029029902 Publication Date: 1989-05-01 A history of the changing roles and status of women in America from the seventeenth century through the 1980s. The first American women -- The women who came to North America, 1607-1770 -- "But what have I to do with politicks?"; the Revolutionary era -- The Age of Association: 1820-1845 -- A time of division: 1845-1865 -- "Maternal commonwealth" in the Gilded Age: 1865-1890 -- Women and modernity: 1890-1920 -- Flappers, Freudians, and all that jazz -- Surviving the Great Depression -- Women at war: the 1940s -- The Cold War and the "Feminine Mystique" -- Decade of discovery: "the personal is political" -- The politicization of personal life: women versus women. American Brujeria by J. Allen Cross HSI Collection ; BF 1573 C76 2021 ISBN: 9781578637454 Publication Date: 2021-05-01 A practical, hands-on guide to Mexican-American folk magic. American Brujeria is about the fascinating blend of American and Mexican folk magic currently practiced by those living in the US but whose roots are steeped in Mexican culture. The author, who has named this tradition "American brujeria," explores this magical system, while also offering practical advice on using it. American brujeria is a living, vital tradition that - while it shares things in common with other folk magic traditions, such as American Conjure-also featuresits own unique traditions, as well as familiar ones, such as the veneration of saints, both canonized, such as Guadalupe, and folk saints like Santa Muerte. American Brujeria includes stories from Mexico (folk saints, the story of Guadalupe), the influence of Catholicism, the art of limpias (spiritual cleansings), spell casting, oil crafting, praying the rosary (in English and Spanish), making an altar to Guadalupe, using novena candle magic, crafting protective charms from saints' medals, and more. America's Women by Gail Collins GENERAL ; HQ 1410 C588 2003 ISBN: 9780060185107 Publication Date: 2003-09-23 Rich in detail, filled with fascinating characters, and panoramic in its sweep, this magnificent, comprehensive work tells for the first time the complete story of the American woman from the Pilgrims to the 21st-century In this sweeping cultural history, Gail Collins explores the transformations, victories, and tragedies of women in America over the past 300 years. As she traces the role of females from their arrival on the Mayflower through the 19th century to the feminist movement of the 1970s and today, she demonstrates a boomerang pattern of participation and retreat. In some periods, women were expected to work in the fields and behind the barricades--to colonize the nation, pioneer the West, and run the defense industries of World War II. In the decades between, economic forces and cultural attitudes shunted them back into the home, confining them to the role of moral beacon and domestic goddess. Told chronologically through the compelling true stories of individuals whose lives, linked together, provide a complete picture of the American woman's experience, Untitled is a landmark work and major contribution for us all. The Story of My Life by Helen Keller; Dorothy Herrmann (As told to); John Macy (Contribution by); Roger Shattuck (Editor); Anne Sullivan (Contribution by) Call Number: GENERAL ; HV 1624 K4 A3 2003 ISBN: 9780393057447 Publication Date: 2003-05-05 The story of Helen Keller, the young girl who triumphed over deafness and blindness, has been indelibly marked into our cultural consciousness. That triumph, shared with her teacher Anne Sullivan, has been further popularized by the play and movie The Miracle Worker. Yet the astonishing original version of Keller's and Sullivan's story, first published in 1903, has been out of print for many years and lost to the public. Now, one hundred years after its initial publication, eminent literary scholar Roger Shattuck, in collaboration with Keller biographer Dorothy Herrmann, has reedited the book to reflect more accurately its original composition. Keller's remarkable acquisition of language is presented here in three successive accounts: Keller's own version; the letters of "teacher" Anne Sullivan, submerged in the earliest edition; and the valuable documentation by their young assistant, John Macy. Including opening and closing commentary by Shattuck and notes by Hermann, this volume will stand for years as the definitive edition of a classic work. Beauty Sick by Renee Engeln Call Number: GENERAL ; BF 697.5 B63 E555 2017 ISBN: 9780062469779 Publication Date: 2017-04-18 "[Beauty Sick] will blow the top off the body image movement...provocative and necessary." -- Rebellious Magazine An award-winning psychology professor reveals how the cultural obsession with women's appearance is an epidemic that harms women's ability to get ahead and to live happy, meaningful lives, in this powerful, eye-opening work in the vein of Peggy Orenstein and Sheryl Sandberg. Today's young women face a bewildering set of contradictions when it comes to beauty. They don't want to be Barbie dolls but, like generations of women before them, are told they must look like them. They're angry about the media's treatment of women but hungrily consume the outlets that belittle them. They mock modern culture's absurd beauty ideal and make videos exposing Photoshopping tricks, but feel pressured to emulate the same images they criticize by posing with a "skinny arm." They understand that what they see isn't real but still download apps to airbrush their selfies. Yet these same young women are fierce fighters for the issues they care about. They are ready to fight back against their beauty-sick culture and create a different world for themselves, but they need a way forward. In Beauty Sick, Dr. Renee Engeln, whose TEDx talk on beauty sickness has received more than 250,000 views, reveals the shocking consequences of our obsession with girls' appearance on their emotional and physical health and their wallets and ambitions, including depression, eating disorders, disruptions in cognitive processing, and lost money and time. Combining scientific studies with the voices of real women of all ages, she makes clear that to truly fulfill their potential, we must break free from cultural forces that feed destructive desires, attitudes, and words--from fat-shaming to denigrating commentary about other women. She provides inspiration and workable solutions to help girls and women overcome negative attitudes and embrace their whole selves, to transform their lives, claim the futures they deserve, and, ultimately, change their world. Hood Feminism by Mikki Kendall GENERAL ; E 185.86 K46 2020 ISBN: 9780525560548 Publication Date: 2020-02-25 A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER "The fights against hunger, homelessness, poverty, health disparities, poor schools, homophobia, transphobia, and domestic violence are feminist fights. Kendall offers a feminism rooted in the livelihood of everyday women." --Ibram X. Kendi, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of How to Be an Antiracist, in The Atlantic "One of the most important books of the current moment."--Time "A rousing call to action... It should be required reading for everyone."--Gabrielle Union, author of We're Going to Need More Wine A potent and electrifying critique of today's feminist movement announcing a fresh new voice in black feminism Today's feminist movement has a glaring blind spot, and paradoxically, it is women. Mainstream feminists rarely talk about meeting basic needs as a feminist issue, argues Mikki Kendall, but food insecurity, access to quality education, safe neighborhoods, a living wage, and medical care are all feminist issues. All too often, however, the focus is not on basic survival for the many, but on increasing privilege for the few. That feminists refuse to prioritize these issues has only exacerbated the age-old problem of both internecine discord and women who rebuff at carrying the title. Moreover, prominent white feminists broadly suffer from their own myopia with regard to how things like race, class, sexual orientation, and ability intersect with gender. How can we stand in solidarity as a movement, Kendall asks, when there is the distinct likelihood that some women are oppressing others? In her searing collection of essays, Mikki Kendall takes aim at the legitimacy of the modern feminist movement, arguing that it has chronically failed to address the needs of all but a few women. Drawing on her own experiences with hunger, violence, and hypersexualization, along with incisive commentary on reproductive rights, politics, pop culture, the stigma of mental health, and more, Hood Feminism delivers an irrefutable indictment of a movement in flux. An unforgettable debut, Kendall has written a ferocious clarion call to all would-be feminists to live out the true mandate of the movement in thought and in deed. Women's Rights in the United States by Anne M. Boylan GENERAL ; HQ 1410 B69 2016 ISBN: 9780195338294 Publication Date: 2015-07-30 Women's Rights in the United States: A History in Documents uses a diverse collection of documents--including manifestoes, letters, diaries, cartoons, broadsides, legal and court records, poems, satires, advertisements, petitions, photographs, leaflets, maps, posters, autobiographies, and newspapers--to examine major themes in the history of women's rights and women's rights movements in the U.S. The documents encompass the experiences of women from a wide range of racial, ethnic, class, economic, sexual, marital, and social groups. The book covers such topics as organized social movements; changing definitions of rights and different women's access to rights; divisions among women within women's rights movements; global contexts for women's rights activism; and the question of what it means for women and men to be "equal." Each chapter includes an introductory essay, and each document has a headnote or long caption. A picture essay illuminates how both suffragists and anti-suffragists employed cartooning to articulate their political positions. Her Story a timeline of the women who changed America by Charlotte S. Waisman; Jill S. Tietjen GENERAL ; HQ 1410 W354 2008 ISBN: 9780061246517 Publication Date: 2008-04-01 Most people have heard of Susan B. Anthony, Harriet Tubman, Margaret Sanger, and Eleanor Roosevelt. But did you know that a female microbiologist discovered the bacterium responsible for undulant fever, which then led to the pasteurization of milk? Or that a female mathematician's work laid the foundation for abstract algebra? Her Story is a one-of-a-kind illustrated timeline highlighting the awesome, varied, and often unrecognized contributions of American women throughout U.S. history, beginning in the 1500s and spanning all the way through 2011. The women featured in Her Story range from writers, artists, actors, and athletes to doctors, scientists, social and political activists, educators, and inventors, and come from all backgrounds and philosophies. Her Story is a captivating look at America's often unsung female champions that will resonate with women and men alike. Diosa y Hembra by Martha P. Cotera GENERAL ; E 184 M5 C68 1976 ISBN: 9780931738005 Publication Date: 1976-01-01 Classic. Introduction -- Chicana historical legacy -- Chicanas in the U.S., a socioeconomic profile -- La Chicana and la familia -- La Chicana today, posture and accomplishments -- Que sere?...siendo Chicana? La Chicana and the future. La Chicana and the Intersection of Race, Class, and Gender by Irene I. Blea Call Number: GENERAL ; E 184 M5 B56 1992 ISBN: 0275939820 Publication Date: 1991-12-11 In this study, Irene I. Blea describes the social situation of La Chicana, a minority female whose life is influenced by racism and sexism. Blea analyzes contemporary scholarship on race, class, and gender, scrutinizing the use of language and labels to examine how La Chicana is affected by these factors. The wide-ranging study explores the history of Chicanas and the meaning of the term Chicana, and considers her socialization process, the consequences of deviating from gender roles, and the evolution of Hispanic women onto the national scene in politics, health, economics, education, religion, and criminal justice. To date, little attention has been paid to the political, social, and cultural achievements of La Chicana. The shared lives of Mexican-American women and men at home and inside and outside of the barrio are also investigated. This unique volume highlights the variables that effectively discriminate against women of color. Following a chapter that reviews the literature on Chicanas and focuses on their participation in three major social movements, the text discusses the conquest of Mexico and the blending of Aztec and Spanish cultures. Next, the life of colonial Hispanic women in Mexico and the United States and the role of the Mexican War in shaping the Mexican-American experience are investigated. The following three chapters explore how Americanization disempowered La Chicana; discuss the contemporary cultural roles of la mujer (woman) and their impact on men's roles; and consider the lives of older women. Chapter Seven looks at how some women are defining new roles for La Chicana. Current social issues are compared with and contrasted to those of the 1960s. The final chapters develop a theory of discrimination based on the academic work of racial and ethnic minority scholars and feminist scholars, exploring new directions in the study of Chicanas. This volume is valuable as an undergraduate or graduate text, and as a reference work, as well as a useful resource for social service providers. Rosa Parks by Rosa Parks; Jim Haskins CHILDRENS LITERATURE ; F 334 M753 P37 1999 ISBN: 0141301201 Publication Date: 1999-01-01 Rosa Parks is best known for the day she refused to give up her seat on a segregated bus, sparking the Montgomery, Alabama, bus boycott. Yet there is much more to her story than this one act of defiance. In this straightforward, compelling autobiography, Rosa Parks talks candidly about the civil rights movement and her active role in it. Her dedication is inspiring; her story is unforgettable. "The simplicity and candor of this courageous woman's voice makes these compelling events even more moving and dramatic."--Publishers Weekly, starred review This Is Your Time by Ruby Bridges Call Number: CHILDRENS LITERATURE ; F 379 N59 N4345 2020 ISBN: 9780593378526 Publication Date: 2020-11-10 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * CBC KIDS' BOOK CHOICE AWARD WINNER Civil rights icon Ruby Bridges--who, at the age of six, was the first black child to integrate into an all-white elementary school in New Orleans--inspires readers and calls for action in this moving letter. Her elegant, memorable gift book is especially uplifting in the wake of Kamala Harris making US history as the first female, first Black, and first South Asian vice president-elect. Written as a letter from civil rights activist and icon Ruby Bridges to the reader, This Is Your Time is both a recounting of Ruby's experience as a child who had to be escorted to class by federal marshals when she was chosen to be one of the first black students to integrate into New Orleans' all-white public school system and an appeal to generations to come to effect change. This beautifully designed volume features photographs from the 1960s and from today, as well as stunning jacket art from The Problem We All Live With, the 1964 painting by Norman Rockwell depicting Ruby's walk to school. Ruby's honest and impassioned words, imbued with love and grace, serve as a moving reminder that "what can inspire tomorrow often lies in our past." This Is Your Time will electrify people of all ages as the struggle for liberty and justice for all continues and the powerful legacy of Ruby Bridges endures. Sister Outsider by Audre. Lorde; Cheryl Clarke (Foreword by) Call Number: GENERAL ;PS 3562 O75 S5 2007 ISBN: 9781580911863 Publication Date: 2007-08-01 Presenting the essential writings of black lesbian poet and feminist writer Audre Lorde, Sister Outsider celebrates an influential voice in twentieth-century literature. "[Lorde's] works will be important to those truly interested in growing up sensitive, intelligent, and aware."--The New York Times In this charged collection of fifteen essays and speeches, Lorde takes on sexism, racism, ageism, homophobia, and class, and propounds social difference as a vehicle for action and change. Her prose is incisive, unflinching, and lyrical, reflecting struggle but ultimately offering messages of hope. This commemorative edition includes a new foreword by Lorde-scholar and poet Cheryl Clarke, who celebrates the ways in which Lorde's philosophies resonate more than twenty years after they were first published. These landmark writings are, in Lorde's own words, a call to "never close our eyes to the terror, to the chaos which is Black which is creative which is female which is dark which is rejected which is messy which is . . . " Half the Sky by Nicholas D. Kristof; Sheryl WuDunn GENERAL ; HQ 1236.5 D44 K75 2009 ISBN: 9780307267146 Publication Date: 2009-09-08 #1 NATIONAL BESTSELLER * A passionate call to arms against our era's most pervasive human rights violation--the oppression of women and girls in the developing world. From the bestselling authors of Tightrope, two of our most fiercely moral voices With Pulitzer Prize winners Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn as our guides, we undertake an odyssey through Africa and Asia to meet the extraordinary women struggling there, among them a Cambodian teenager sold into sex slavery and an Ethiopian woman who suffered devastating injuries in childbirth. Drawing on the breadth of their combined reporting experience, Kristof and WuDunn depict our world with anger, sadness, clarity, and, ultimately, hope. They show how a little help can transform the lives of women and girls abroad. That Cambodian girl eventually escaped from her brothel and, with assistance from an aid group, built a thriving retail business that supports her family. The Ethiopian woman had her injuries repaired and in time became a surgeon. A Zimbabwean mother of five, counseled to return to school, earned her doctorate and became an expert on AIDS. Through these stories, Kristof and WuDunn help us see that the key to economic progress lies in unleashing women's potential. They make clear how so many people have helped to do just that, and how we can each do our part. Throughout much of the world, the greatest unexploited economic resource is the female half of the population. Countries such as China have prospered precisely because they emancipated women and brought them into the formal economy. Unleashing that process globally is not only the right thing to do; it's also the best strategy for fighting poverty. Deeply felt, pragmatic, and inspirational, Half the Sky is essential reading for every global citizen. Feminism for the Americas by Katherine M. Marino Call Number: GENERAL ; HQ 1460.5 M35 2019 ISBN: 9781469649696 Publication Date: 2019-03-04 This book chronicles the dawn of the global movement for women's rights in the first decades of the twentieth century. The founding mothers of this movement were not based primarily in the United States, however, or in Europe. Instead, Katherine M. Marino introduces readers to a cast of remarkable Latin American and Caribbean women whose deep friendships and intense rivalries forged global feminism out of an era of imperialism, racism, and fascism. Six dynamic activists form the heart of this story: from Brazil, Bertha Lutz; from Cuba, Ofelia Domíngez Navarro; from Uruguay, Paulina Luisi; from Panama, Clara González; from Chile, Marta Vergara; and from the United States, Doris Stevens. This Pan-American network drove a transnational movement that advocated women's suffrage, equal pay for equal work, maternity rights, and broader self-determination. Their painstaking efforts led to the enshrinement of women's rights in the United Nations Charter and the development of a framework for international human rights. But their work also revealed deep divides, with Latin American activists overcoming U.S. presumptions to feminist superiority. As Marino shows, these early fractures continue to influence divisions among today's activists along class, racial, and national lines. Marino's multinational and multilingual research yields a new narrative for the creation of global feminism. The leading women introduced here were forerunners in understanding the power relations at the heart of international affairs. Their drive to enshrine fundamental rights for women, children, and all people of the world stands as a testament to what can be accomplished when global thinking meets local action. My Grandmother's Hands by Resmaa Menakem WELLNESS ; E 185.615 M38 2017 ISBN: 9781942094470 Publication Date: 2017-09-19 A NATIONAL BESTSELLER "My Grandmother's Hands will change the direction of the movement for racial justice."-- Robin DiAngelo, New York Times bestselling author of White Fragility In this groundbreaking book, therapist Resmaa Menakem examines the damage caused by racism in America from the perspective of trauma and body-centered psychology. The body is where our instincts reside and where we fight, flee, or freeze, and it endures the trauma inflicted by the ills that plague society. Menakem argues this destruction will continue until Americans learn to heal the generational anguish of white supremacy, which is deeply embedded in all our bodies. Our collective agony doesn't just affect African Americans. White Americans suffer their own secondary trauma as well. So do blue Americans--our police. My Grandmother's Hands is a call to action for all of us to recognize that racism is not only about the head, but about the body, and introduces an alternative view of what we can do to grow beyond our entrenched racialized divide. Paves the way for a new, body-centered understanding of white supremacy--how it is literally in our blood and our nervous system. Offers a step-by-step healing process based on the latest neuroscience and somatic healing methods, in addition to incisive social commentary. Resmaa Menakem, MSW, LICSW, SEP, is a leading voice in today's conversation on racialized trauma and the creator of Cultural Somatics, which utilizes the body and its natural resilience as mechanisms for growth. As a therapist and the founder of Justice Leadership Solutions, a leadership consulting firm, Resmaa dedicates his expertise to coaching leaders through civil unrest, organizational change, and community building Borderlands / la Frontera by Gloria Anzaldúa; Norma Cantu (Introduction by); Aída Hurtado (Introduction by) HSI ; PS 3551 N95 B6 2012 ISBN: 9781879960855 Publication Date: 2012-06-12 Literary Nonfiction. Poetry. Latino/Latina Studies. LGBT Studies. Fourth Edition. Rooted in Gloria Anzaldúa's experience as a Chicana, a lesbian, an activist, and a writer, the essays and poems in this volume profoundly challenged, and continue to challenge, how we think about identity. BORDERLANDS/LA FRONTERA remaps our understanding of what a "border" is, presenting it not as a simple divide between here and there, us and them, but as a psychic, social, and cultural terrain that we inhabit, and that inhabits all of us. This twenty-fifth anniversary edition features a new introduction by scholars Norma Cantú (University of Texas at San Antonio) and Aída Hurtado (University of California at Santa Cruz) as well as a revised critical bibliography. "The emotional and intellectual impact of the book is disorienting and powerful...all languages are spoken, and survival depends on understanding all modes of thought. In the borderlands new creatures come into being. Anzaldúa celebrates this 'new mestiza' in bold, experimental writing."--The Village Voice "Anzaldúa's pulsating weaving of innovative poetry with sparse informative prose brings us deep into the insider/outsider consciousness of the borderlands; that ancient and contemporary, crashing and blending world that divides and unites America."--Women's Review of Books The Gloria Anzaldúa Reader by Gloria Anzaldua; AnaLouise Keating (Editor) HSI ; PS 3551 N95 A6 2009 ISBN: 9780822345640 Publication Date: 2009-10-22 Born in the Río Grande Valley of south Texas, independent scholar and creative writer Gloria Anzaldúa was an internationally acclaimed cultural theorist. As the author of Borderlands / La Frontera: The New Mestiza, Anzaldúa played a major role in shaping contemporary Chicano/a and lesbian/queer theories and identities. As an editor of three anthologies, including the groundbreaking This Bridge Called My Back: Writings by Radical Women of Color, she played an equally vital role in developing an inclusionary, multicultural feminist movement. A versatile author, Anzaldúa published poetry, theoretical essays, short stories, autobiographical narratives, interviews, and children's books. Her work, which has been included in more than 100 anthologies to date, has helped to transform academic fields including American, Chicano/a, composition, ethnic, literary, and women's studies. This reader--which provides a representative sample of the poetry, prose, fiction, and experimental autobiographical writing that Anzaldúa produced during her thirty-year career--demonstrates the breadth and philosophical depth of her work. While the reader contains much of Anzaldúa's published writing (including several pieces now out of print), more than half the material has never before been published. This newly available work offers fresh insights into crucial aspects of Anzaldúa's life and career, including her upbringing, education, teaching experiences, writing practice and aesthetics, lifelong health struggles, and interest in visual art, as well as her theories of disability, multiculturalism, pedagogy, and spiritual activism. The pieces are arranged chronologically; each one is preceded by a brief introduction. The collection includes a glossary of Anzaldúa's key terms and concepts, a timeline of her life, primary and secondary bibliographies, and a detailed index. Take a look at 2024's Women's HIstory Reading List: Women's History Month 2024 Bibliography “We women claw for every inch we gain in this world...” ― Fonda Lee in “Jade War A bibliography on women clawing for success and the intersection of nail art, fingernail fashion culture, manicures, discrimination, elevation, individualization, and women’s history. ...

Black History Month 2025 : Black Authors are Being Banned, What Should We Do About It?

TO DO Defending Diverse Voices: Four Best-Selling Authors Talk Banned Books "Ms. Classroom wants to hear from educators and students being impacted by legislation attacking public education, higher education, gender, race and sexuality studies, activism and social justice in education, and diversity, equity and inclusion programs. Cue: a new series from Ms., ‘Banned! Voices from the Classroom.’ Submit pitches and/or op-eds and reflections (between 500-800 words) to Ms. contributing editor Aviva Dove-Viebahn at adove-viebahn@msmagazine.com. Posts will be accepted on a rolling basis." Book Bannings Targeting Black Authors and Perspectives Are Skyrocketing Books by Black authors are being disproportionately banned at an alarming rate. "Black literature has long been a target of censorship efforts in America, with coordinated efforts spanning back to at least the Harlem Renaissance. However, the current mania infecting anti-Critical Race Theory adherents has created a new wave of book bannings targeting Black authors, characters, and perspectives. “Black writers have been feared for precisely their ability to highlight the injustices of American society with clarity, lyricism, and urgency.” – ACLU Massachusetts SIGN THE PETITION Build or Support a Little Free(dom) Library THIS PHILADELPHIA NONPROFIT IS BRINGING ATTENTION TO BANNED BOOKS BY BLACK AUTHORS WITH LITTLE FREE(DOM) LIBRARY. From Blavity. "The nonprofit Visit Philadelphia, “the region’s official leisure tourism marketing agency,” has joined forces with Little Free Library to bring locals and tourists to the Little Free(dom) Library to celebrate Black History Month. According to Penn America, Black authors have been at a disadvantage when it comes to reaching a wide range of readers since over 30 states have removed certain books penned by Black authors. To help keep Black history and storytellers alive, the Little Free(dom) Library has made these forbidden books available in 13 locations throughout Philadelphia until Feb. 28. In addition, 1,500 free books will be given away at one of the pop-up book stands." Unite Against Book Bans organization. Toolkit for action. ISSUE Book Bans: An Act of Policy Violence Promoting Anti-Blackness By Dr. Phelton Moss / NAACP "What is more violent, as evidenced by the books they are banning, they choose to censor the teaching of the factually accurate history of Black people. These violent acts are rooted in an un-yielding legacy of racism, prejudice, oppression, and anti-blackness." PEN America Research & Reports on book bannings. Page includes a TAKE ACTION button. PEN America tracks all book bans in libraries and classrooms across the U.S. in our Index of School Book Bans, updated for the 2022-2023 school year. What is PEN Ameica? "PEN America stands at the intersection of literature and human rights to protect free expression in the United States and worldwide. We champion the freedom to write, recognizing the power of the word to transform the world. Our mission is to unite writers and their allies to celebrate creative expression and defend the liberties that make it possible. How African-American Museums Are Navigating Book Bans "According to Vedet Coleman-Robinson, executive director of the Association of African American Museums (AAAM), cultural institutions are stepping in to fill the gaps with uncensored and community-oriented programming." 10 Banned Black Books You Should Be Reading.Essence Magazine. More than 1,600 books were banned in 138 school districts across 32 states between 2021 and 2022, according to a report by PEN America. The vast majority of challenged and banned books feature BIPOC or LGBTQ+ characters, discuss gender, sexuality, and race in America, or are written by Black and POC authors. ...

Big Bend Community College William C. Bonaudi Library

eHRAF World Cultures

EXPLORE...

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.

If you do not have an account, Register Now.

Big Bend Community College William C. Bonaudi Library

eHRAF World Cultures

EXPLORE...

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please login here and try again.

If you do not have an account, Register Now.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.