Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WACTCLC.org

Alma / Primo Call - October 21, 2021

Recording

Attendees

Dan Moore
Gaby Arroyo
Kim.Mitchell
Kirsti Thomas (Seattle Colleges)
Lily Kun (SPSCC; she/her)
Linda Garcia
Melinda Martin
Melinda Martin
Naoko Yasuda
Victoria Solheim - Pierce College
Wade Guidry
Xinhang Hu
 

Discussions

Deduplication (dedup, or deduping) - the act of presenting identical record citations a a single record in Primo VE search results

FRBRization, or FRBR (from Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Records) - the act of grouping record citations referencing similar or the same works, for more streamlined presentation in search results.

Separating Alma from CDI content when analyzing issues

To deal effectively with the topics of Dedup and FRBR in Alma, be aware that:

1. Dedup and FRBR only apply to records in Alma

2. CDI citation merging is accomplished through the CDI match-and-merge process

You can use the "library catalog" and "articles" scopes in Primo VE to separate Alma and CDI citations, so that you can analyze issues more effectively (Note that Primo VE scope names and configurations vary among institutions.)

Dedup and FRBR

To evaluate why two Alma records are or are not deduping or FRBRizing as you expect, you can use the Dedup and FRBR Analysis Tool for Primo VE - Ex Libris Knowledge Center (exlibrisgroup.com documentation).

To re-evaluate a record in Alma to fix a FRBRization issue, you can recalculate dedup and FRBR groups for a record.

If you want to customize dedup and FRBR configurations, to change the way records are deduped and FRBRized, that can now be accomplished with the newly released Dedup/FRBR Complete Key Combination functionality. However, that option should be approached with caution, as modifying dedup / FRBR logic can have a broad impact on search results.

CDI Match-and-Merge

The CDI-Match-and-Merge process is fully automated, and not configurable by the customer.

If you feel you have identified errors in the matching and merging of citations in Primo VE search results, you should open a SalesForce case. In the case, include the Primo VE permalinks of the citations not behaving as you expect, as well as EZProxy credentials for your institution, so that ExLibris can fully analyze the issue.

To help with evaluation of a CDI citation in Primo VE, you can use the newly released CDI Analysis Tool. This tool can be used to determine which collection and portfolio / title activation in Alma is resulting in a CDI citation being included in Primo VE search results.

 

Chat

00:12:30    Wade Guidry:    https://libguides.bigbend.edu/c.php?g=1142085&p=8700004
00:15:56    Kirsti Thomas (Seattle Colleges):    Dan-- we're not using yet because I haven't had time to figure it out, but I'm really interested.
00:28:17    Dan Moore:    omg
00:28:22    Dan Moore:    the "great shake out" is today
00:28:32    Dan Moore:    i completely forgot, immediately this loud alarm started sounding here
00:28:49    Lily Kun (SPSCC; she/her):    Yep. Drop. Cover. Hold on.
00:29:31    Dan Moore:    scared the bajeezus out of me
00:29:42    Lily Kun (SPSCC; she/her):    All clear now. :)
00:35:01    Dan Moore:    https://sbctc-edcc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?query=any,contains,biased%20eberhardt&tab=Everything&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&vid=01STATEWA_EDCC:EDMONDS&offset=0
00:36:21    Dan Moore:    https://sbctc-edcc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/collectionDiscovery?vid=01STATEWA_EDCC:EDMONDS&collectionId=8136329000002809
00:44:20    Wade Guidry:    This can happen either when a record's metadata has been changed, but it has not been re-indexed or when a record matches the current record, but is connected to a different group that it also matches.
01:00:25    Dan Moore:    https://sbctc-edcc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?query=any,contains,biased%20eberhardt&tab=Everything&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&vid=01STATEWA_EDCC:EDMONDS&offset=0
01:03:47    Dan Moore:    https://sbctc-edcc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/collectionDiscovery?vid=01STATEWA_EDCC:EDMONDS&collectionId=8136329000002809
01:10:24    Kirsti Thomas (Seattle Colleges):    I've got to run to another meeting. This has been really helpful. Thanks!
01:14:08    Naoko Yasuda:    Thank you, very helpful!