Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WACTCLC.org

Alma / Primo Call - November 30, 2021

Recording

No recording.

Attendees

Amy Herman# Librarian
Cara Beth (she/her)
Clare Bryant
Elena Bianco- Skagit - she/her
George Babcock (Seattle Central) (George.Babcock)
Isaac Devereux (he# him) - Shoreline
Kim.Mitchell
Kirsti Thomas (Seattle Colleges)
Laura Staley_RTC Library (Laura Staley_Home Right Now)
Lesley Caldwell (Pierce College# she/her)
Lily Kun (SPSCC)
Linda Garcia (LCC Library) (Linda Garcia)
Lurana
Lynn Robinson (BTC)
Melinda Martin
Naoko Yasuda (Highline) (Naoko Yasuda)
Nicole Longpre
Ryer Banta
Traci Taylor (BTC) (Traci)
Wade Guidry
Xinhang Hu

Discussions

Selecting Students by Quarter via SQL

Big Bend CC Example:

SELECT DISTINCT
[T1].[EMPLID]
,[T1].[FIRST_NAME]
,[T1].[MIDDLE_NAME]
,[T1].[LAST_NAME]
,[T1].[NAME]
,''
,[T5].[ExpiryDate]
,[T2].[ADDRESS1]
,[T2].[ADDRESS2]
,[T2].[CITY]
,[T2].[STATE]
,[T2].[POSTAL]
,[T2].[COUNTRY]
,GETDATE()
,[T2].[ADDRESS_TYPE]
,[T3].[EMAIL_ADDR]
,[T1].[PHONE]
,RTRIM([T1].[PREF_FIRST_NAME]) AS [PREF_FIRST_NAME]
,'' AS [PREFERRED_MIDDLE_NAME]
,'' AS [PREFERRED_LAST_NAME]
FROM [SYSADM_CS].[PS_PERSONAL_DATA_GGVW] T1

CROSS APPLY (
SELECT
[T4_1].[EMPLID],[T4_1].[STRM],[T4_1].[ACAD_CAREER],[T4_1].[STDNT_CAR_NBR],[T4_1].[ACAD_PROG_PRIMARY]
FROM [SYSADM_CS].[PS_STDNT_CAR_TERM] [T4_1]
WHERE 
(
[T4_1].[STRM]=
(
SELECT MAX([T4_2].[STRM])
FROM [SYSADM_CS].[PS_STDNT_CAR_TERM] [T4_2]
WHERE [T4_2].[EMPLID]=[T4_1].[EMPLID]
)
)
AND[T4_1].[STRM] IN ([~WATermsCurrentTerm~],[~WATermsNextTerm~])
AND [T4_1].[EMPLID]=[T1].[EMPLID]
) [T4]

LEFT JOIN [SYSADM_CS].[PS_ADDRESSES_GGVW] T2
ON [T2].[EMPLID]=[T1].[EMPLID] AND [T2].[ADDRESS_TYPE]='HOME'
LEFT JOIN [SYSADM_CS].[PS_EMAIL_ADDRESSES_GGVW] T3
ON [T3].[EMPLID]=[T1].[EMPLID] AND [T3].[PREF_EMAIL_FLAG]='Y'

OUTER APPLY (
select convert(varchar(10), getdate() + 365, 1) AS [ExpiryDate]
) [T5]

WHERE
(
  [T2].[EFFDT] = 
  (SELECT MAX([T2_3].[EFFDT])
   FROM [SYSADM_CS].[PS_ADDRESSES_GGVW] [T2_3]
   WHERE [T2_3].[EMPLID]=[T1].[EMPLID]
   AND [T2_3].[ADDRESS_TYPE]='HOME'
  )
)
;

And from Seattle Colleges offered a tip that they are using a student's payment status as part of their query foir student records to help determine who they really want to load into Alma.

 

New SalesForce Discussion

Cloning list views
Viewing case comments

Resources:

https://support.proquest.com/s/article/About-Support-Center?language=en_US

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLLHMGFok32k_2HwRHRpO6MJ8sUtlx3uJ_ (SalesForce videos)

Primo VE Nov / Dec Releases

December 2021
-Quicklinks to Full Text for CDI Records
-Get It - Custom Order of Locations
-Option to Hide Offensive Subject Terms to Support Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) 
November 2021
-Show Journal Coverage Dates in Brief Results and Journal Search (NERS #6718)
-Collection Discovery - Searches Across All Collections
-Exclude eBooks from CDI Results (NERS #6702)

CDI citations with both link resolver and direct links

From SalesForce Case Notes: When you see a single link but the rights analysis shows multiple collections is that at least one of the collections is a link-in-record collection. Link in record collections and link resolver corrections use different processes to create links, and while our developers are working on a way to present both options, the system cannot currently do both at once. Our link prioritization rules default to using the link-in-record link when both are available as they tend to be most reliable. You can read more about the link prioritization here:

https://knowledge.exlibrisgroup.com/Primo/Content_Corner/Central_Discovery_Index/Documentation_and_Training/Documentation_and_Training_(English)/CDI_-_The_Central_Discovery_Index/050CDI_and_Linking_to_Electronic_Full_Text#Link_Prioritization_in_the_Merged_Record 

Configuring Gale Linking for CDI Direct Link Citations

Configuring the Central Index Linking Templates for Primo VE - Ex Libris Knowledge Center (exlibrisgroup.com)

Edit the gale_linking line.

It should look like:

http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/{{control/sourcerecordid}}/{{control/addsrcrecordid}}?sid=primo&u=highlinecc 

with your own loc_id as the u= value.

If you end up with too many broken links with those direct URL links for Gale, try instead:

http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/{{control/sourcerecordid}}/GPS?sid=primo&u=highlinecc

 

Chat