Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WACTCLC.org

Alma / Primo Call - Feb 1, 2022

Recording

Attendees

abby koehler (she/her)
Amy Herman# Olympic College
Cara Beth (she/her)
Clare Bryant (Edmonds)
Isaac Devereux (he# him) - Shoreline
Jennifer Rohan
Kim.Mitchell
Kirsti Thomas (Seattle Colleges)
Laura Staley - Renton Tech
Lesley Caldwell (Pierce College# she/her)
Lily Kun (SPSCC)
Linda Garcia (Lower Columbia College)
Lurana
Lynn Robinson (Bellingham Technical College)
Melinda Martin
Naoko Yasuda (Highline) (Naoko Yasuda)
Nicole-Bellevue
Ryer Banta (he/him) Centralia
Tria Skirko
Wade Guidry
Will Parnell
Xinhang

Discussions

Alma Feb 2022 Release Notes

Alma 2022 Release Notes - Ex Libris Knowledge Center (exlibrisgroup.com)

Alma Documentation Enhancements
In response to customer feedback and inputs, Ex Libris has implemented targeted improvements to Alma online help documentation to enhance your understanding of Alma and make full use of its features. The enhancements include:

How-To documentation
Workflow diagrams
Reorganization of the Resource Management, Fulfillment and Acquisitions sections
Over 55 new glossary terms
Over 200 links to training videos
Click here to view the promotional video outlining the improvements.

 

Overlap Analysis for Electronic Collections

Working with Overlap and Collection Analysis - Ex Libris Knowledge Center (exlibrisgroup.com)

Discussion about OCLC Reclamation Project

Your library’s holdings in WorldCat enable people to find items in your collections through WorldCat.org—connecting from popular websites like Google Books, Wikipedia, and Goodreads—and other OCLC services like WorldCat Discovery, FirstSearch, WorldShare Interlibrary Loan, and Connexion.  

Does WorldCat present the best view of your library?  
Accurate holdings in WorldCat are vital to ensure people can find and access all resources currently available in your collections. Up-to-date holdings also ensure they see your latest acquisitions, without viewing items you no longer own.  

Update holdings for free through June 2022.
You can now use a new, streamlined process to update WorldCat holdings at no additional charge with your current OCLC subscriptions. When you send your library’s complete MARC 21 catalog data, the process matches your records with WorldCat and: 
•    Adds holdings to matching WorldCat records
•    Removes inaccurate WorldCat holdings 
•    Adds new records when a matching record is not available

Secure your project now
This free option is only available for a limited time, so submit your request soon. Project requests will be accepted through 31 May 2022 and all catalog data must be submitted by 15 June 2022. 

Just submit a request at Streamlined WorldCat Holdings Update Project | OCLC and an OCLC holdings update expert will contact you with details. 

Mike

MIKE BUSCHMAN (he/him) Library Development Manager and LSTA Coordinator
Washington State Library | Office of the Secretary of State

 

Chat

00:10:29    abby koehler (she/her):    I have a question, too -- has anyone done SQL training?
00:11:00    Wade Guidry:    https://knowledge.exlibrisgroup.com/Alma/Release_Notes/2022/Alma_2022_Release_Notes?mon=202202BASE
00:11:49    Amy Herman, Olympic College:    Abby, SQL is on my list of things I'd like to find time to learn more about 😬  Haven't really used it since Voyager days.
00:12:45    Melinda Martin:    Abby and Amy - I've been contemplating taking a course in SQL!
00:15:10    abby koehler (she/her):    Nice! I'm thinking it would help a lot with Analytics, just wasn't sure what others' experiences were.
00:15:47    Ryer Banta (he/him) Centralia:    Good question Abby. I'm interested in responses too. I suspect that the Alma context means there are only certain aspects that will be relevant to us from full-on SQL courses. But knowing so little, I don't even know what the relevant parts are. Probably mostly focused on constructing valid queries?
00:16:21    Amy Herman, Olympic College:    When I went to ELUNA a few years ago (Spokane?) librarians were enhancing their analytics in cool ways with SQL and regular expressions.
00:16:59    Ryer Banta (he/him) Centralia:    Does anyone have an inventory report they really like?
00:19:11    Melinda Martin:    Ryer, is there a specific element of inventory you are looking for? New books, weeding, etc?
00:22:04    Ryer Banta (he/him) Centralia:    We're looking to do shelf inventory and weeding. Pretty basic info. I got pretty close with my own report, which started with physical item info, but then fulfillment info seems like a separate things. (Just been a little while for me)
00:23:04    Melinda Martin:    I had a weeding report with filter, but it got messed up in our move (unsure how). Going to tweak it this month, but have found it useful for weeding/circ.  It's really basic, though.
00:24:45    Nicole:    It seems like the overlap analysis never quite provides the info I need. I was trying to compare a new collection to our entire collection
00:25:03    Nicole:    But I could only compare one database.
00:25:16    Nicole:    But not all of PQ for example
00:25:55    Nicole:    I could add stuff but then it errors
00:29:45    Wade Guidry:    Excel formula - vlookup
00:30:30    Amy Herman, Olympic College:    Ryer I remember creating a report for one of our librarians for weeding that included bibliographic info but also browse and loan counts, for a specified call number range. Is that what you're looking for?
00:31:28    Ryer Banta (he/him) Centralia:    Melinda - that's weird and too bad. Hope it isn't too bad to re-create.
00:32:09    Laura Staley - Renton Tech:    Amy - Others would love to see that report. Share?
00:32:20    Wade Guidry:    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v0MRscM0Flk
00:32:58    Ryer Banta (he/him) Centralia:    Amy - that does sound about what I'm thinking. Some basic bib info - barcode, title, pub date. Plus some fulfillment info - like check outs. I've gotten really close, but wasn't quite everything I wanted yet.
00:33:59    Ryer Banta (he/him) Centralia:    Amy - did you build yours or did you use something from the community?
00:35:10    Amy Herman, Olympic College:    I think I made mine.  I will take a look after the meeting and email you...
00:36:06    Ryer Banta (he/him) Centralia:    Thank you Amy. That would be helpful. Before I reinvent the wheel here.
00:39:16    Amy Herman, Olympic College:    I'm not seeing it in my reports, hopefully I didn't lose it a while back.  Will keep looking.
00:42:52    Cara Beth (she/her):    I intend to sign up for OCLC MD services update once I get a better handle on ctcLink.
00:43:31    Lily Kun (SPSCC):    Ryer, I have a report that I think is similar to Amy's. The report also highlights all the books that have been checked out in the last 5 years so that they are easier to spot as you go down the list.
00:43:33    Wade Guidry:    FYI Your library’s holdings in WorldCat enable people to find items in your collections through WorldCat.org—connecting from popular websites like Google Books, Wikipedia, and Goodreads—and other OCLC services like WorldCat Discovery, FirstSearch, WorldShare Interlibrary Loan, and Connexion.   Does WorldCat present the best view of your library?   Accurate holdings in WorldCat are vital to ensure people can find and access all resources currently available in your collections. Up-to-date holdings also ensure they see your latest acquisitions, without viewing items you no longer own.   Update holdings for free through June 2022. You can now use a new, streamlined process to update WorldCat holdings at no additional charge with your current OCLC subscriptions. When you send your library’s complete MARC 21 catalog data, the process matches your records with WorldCat and: •    Adds holdings to matching WorldCat records •    Removes inaccurate WorldCat holdings •    Adds new records when a matching record is not avail
00:43:51    Kirsti Thomas (Seattle Colleges):    If you want to participate in the OCLC Streamlined Holdings Registration, whiltelist this email address-- simpleholdings@oclc.org
00:44:27    Cara Beth (she/her):    Did anyone else attend the OCLC Cataloging Community meeting last Friday? Big topics were DEI in cataloging and WorldShare Records management
00:44:58    Kirsti Thomas (Seattle Colleges):    You'll need to submit your MARC records to OCLC within 2 weeks of submitting the request to participate
00:45:32    Amy Herman, Olympic College:    Ryer I found my report.  It displays Location, Publication Date, Permanent Call Number, Title, Number of Loans (in house), Number of Loans (Not in House).  And filtered by "Lifecycle is equal to Active" and "Permanent Call Number is between xxx and yyy"
00:45:40    abby koehler (she/her):    And you'll have to crosswalk the XML file to MRC using MarcEdit
00:45:49    Cara Beth (she/her):    Yes, Kirsti, they talked about the short timeline.
00:46:57    Cara Beth (she/her):    I'm excited that they can add our OCLC tag for Ebook Central permanent titles
00:47:45    Lynn Robinson (Bellingham Technical College):    Does anyone know what is involved in sending them the bib records? How do you export the entire database?
00:49:18    Kirsti Thomas (Seattle Colleges):    Lynn-- You create a Logical set of all your bibliographic records (or all your bibliographic records that contain an 035 with "(OCoLC)")
00:49:31    Lynn Robinson (Bellingham Technical College):    So there is no limit on the number of titles that a set can handle?
00:50:28    Cara Beth (she/her):    @Kirsti,
00:50:36    abby koehler (she/her):    We had 33K, it took 12 minutes because it was just an export, not a change, I think
00:50:54    Kirsti Thomas (Seattle Colleges):    There kind of is, but it's at numbers much larger than we typically have in our collections. Like, Harvard has issues with size limitations
00:51:10    Melinda Martin:    It looks like a job has been set up to publish incremental changes on a weekly basis. Whether that is working, I have not yet investigated.
00:51:17    Melinda Martin:    (At SCC)
00:51:38    Cara Beth (she/her):    in 2018 I did original cataloging for some environmental reports in Grays Harbor. I think they said they can add those to the OCLC db
00:52:03    Kirsti Thomas (Seattle Colleges):    MARCEdit is wonderful!
00:52:25    abby koehler (she/her):    ^^totally!! I'm such a nerd, I am so excited to be using it again!
00:53:08    Cara Beth (she/her):    Good point, Wade, on ILL for ebooks
00:53:24    Lynn Robinson (Bellingham Technical College):    I feel so all powerful using MarcEdit!!
00:54:45    Ryer Banta (he/him) Centralia:    Thanks @Amy. Is yours a fulfillment report? I'm having a problem getting call numbers on a fulfillment report. Otherwise I am able to get the info I'm expecting. Tried item call number, but it's empty. In other reports I found barcodes within holding info. Feel like I'm missing something obvious.
00:54:46    abby koehler (she/her):    Just use your powers for good, Lynn ;)
00:55:33    Melinda Martin:    Ryer, are you LC or dewey?
00:56:39    Ryer Banta (he/him) Centralia:    Dewey
00:57:20    Melinda Martin:    Don't recommend.
00:57:38    Lesley Caldwell (Pierce College, she/her):    Is anyone here using Okta at their college?
00:57:57    Lily Kun (SPSCC):    SPSCC is using Okta.
00:58:26    Ryer Banta (he/him) Centralia:    Lesley - we're moving to Okta at some point soon.
00:58:32    Melinda Martin:    We had several issues with Open Athens regarding our  streaming video access and it was 4x more expensive
00:58:36    Lesley Caldwell (Pierce College, she/her):    @lily, are y'all planning to use that in the library at some point too?
00:58:37    Kirsti Thomas (Seattle Colleges):    Ryer- Call numbers are in the Loan Details folder in a Fulfillment Analysis
00:59:44    Lily Kun (SPSCC):    @Lesley: yes. we're already running our ezproxy through Okta.
01:00:07    Lesley Caldwell (Pierce College, she/her):    Gotcha!
01:00:27    Kirsti Thomas (Seattle Colleges):    I think Seattle's IT dept. is implementing Okta this coming fall. Maybe?
01:00:27    Ryer Banta (he/him) Centralia:    A-ha! Thanks Kirsti. Knew it just wasn't where I expected.
01:00:39    Wade Guidry:    https://www.lirn.net/
01:01:53    Wade Guidry:    https://www.lirn.net/products-and-services/lirn-services/lirn-proxy/
01:02:52    Lynn Robinson (Bellingham Technical College):    Re streamlined holdings project . . . Are there any reasons that a library would not want to go forward with this project?
01:06:06    Lesley Caldwell (Pierce College, she/her):    Heading to an 11AM -- thanks!
01:06:47    abby koehler (she/her):    We hadn't updated or added things in years
01:09:00    Wade Guidry:    https://help.oclc.org/Metadata_Services/WorldShare_Collection_Manager?sl=en
01:09:38    Lynn Robinson (Bellingham Technical College):    Thank you all!
01:09:41    abby koehler (she/her):    Thank you!
01:09:42    Melinda Martin:    Thanks all!
01:09:45    Cara Beth (she/her):    Thanks, everyone
01:09:45    Laura Staley - Renton Tech:    Thank you all. This has been a very helpfull meeting!
01:09:54    Lily Kun (SPSCC):    Have a great day, everyone!