Topic: Attracting Quality Skilled and Unskilled Job Applicants in Grant County area

 

 

Google Advanced Search
Find various social media and promotion tips
Search Example:  Attracting "high skilled" talent science sort:.org

Business Databases List
https://libguides.bigbend.edu/az.php?s=153167&p=1

 

Psychology & Behavior Database Examples

Job Description AND Recruitment

 

Academic Search Premier Examples

Job description AND recruitment
 

Proquest One Business Examples

recruitment AND highly skilled workers
https://bbcc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/search/2367008?accountid=2196
networking AND recruitment AND Hiring
https://bbcc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/search/2367011?accountid=2196

 

Google Scholar with the BBCC library 
 

Need to find Scholarly Research Articles. Review. 

 

KEYWORDS:

hiring
networking
job description
career
Skilled worker
talent

Employee Turnover
employee retention
Job Satisfaction
wage*
Salar*
Income
wage*  OR Salar*OR Income OR compensation
compensat*
Talent Procurement

OIM Organization Impression Management
Employer Reputation

Employer branding

Employer Branding

Organisational Attractiveness and Organizational

Human Resources

Cultural Differences

e-recruitment

recruitment
social media
 employer brand personality
organizational attractiveness
word-of-mouth

 

May 16, 2023

GOOGLE SCHOLAR

Since you are asking specifically for quantitative studies and had researched the usual suspects, I went to Google Scholar.

The one I set up to find the full text in the A-Z list.  

https://libguides.bigbend.edu/Google_Scholar

How to use Google Scholar 
https://youtu.be/K97VPw_vum4

 

I am unsure if I am duplicating your effort, but I am going to share some findings and strategies with you.

 

USE RESEARCH TO FIND RESEARCH:

Literature and systematic reviews often review and measure quantitative and other studies. They provide enough information to find them. Collect what you want and use Proquest and then Academic Search to find them. If you cannot find them, send them to me.

 

USE BIG AND SPECIFIC KEYWORDS:
Social Media to Facebook -use platform names in searches
e-Recruiting to LinkedIn - use Glassdoor, Indeed by themselves in searches

Quantitative - control group - use types of quantitative design ..experimental group, control group, variables, test conditions, test subjects, sampling methods, and so on. 

 

HOW TO MANAGE THIS:

I didn't go through all of the search results. I am not sure what you have.  

 

Go through each of the links. Some links go to an article or dissertation.  Some links go to full searches. 

 

If it goes to the article or dissertations, I am suggesting you identify what articles and studies are in that piece that may be helpful. Ask me to locate what you cannot find.

 

If the link goes to search results, read through at least 50 to see if those meet your needs. 

 

NEXT:

Ask me some specific questions about what you are missing.  If you have your references together send those with the questions. 

 

Hope this helps you, but if not -- you know where I am! 

 

 

 

________________

Keywords used in Google Scholar: increasing job applicants

Found in: EBSCOhost Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

TARGET PRACTICE: AN ORGANIZATIONAL IMPRESSION MANAGEMENT APPROACH TO ATTRACTING MINORITY AND FEMALE JOB APPLICANTS.

https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bsh&AN=19683021&site=ehost-live

 

"On account of a number of factors, many companies have increased recruitment targeting female and ethnic or racial minority job applicants. Despite evidence suggesting that these applicants are attracted by different factors than traditional applicants and an abundance of recruitment tactics suggested in the popular press, no empirically based approach to recruiting these populations has emerged. This article reviews and integrates literature on organizational impression management, recruitment, marketing, and social psychology and provides a framework to assist practitioners in attracting minority and female job applicants. In addition, several avenues for future research are discussed."

 

Keywords:
OIM Organization Impression Management
Employer Reputation
__________________

 

Using the above article - articles that cited it.  Citation search in Google Scholar.

Found in: EBSCOhost Business Source Elite

Structural literary analysis that reviews these types of literature:  theoretical/conceptual, empirical qualitative, empirical quantitative

Employer Branding: A Brand Equity-based Literature Review and Research Agenda

https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bsh&AN=127390058&site=ehost-live

Literature review that summarizes :  ".. a three-stage iterative process to conduct an exhaustive review of employer branding literature: (1) identification of the relevant literature; (2) in-depth structural and content-based analysis of the literature; and (3) integration of articles and clustering into categories to synthesize the research.."

 

KEYWORDS:

employer branding 

 

Took this keyword to Proquest

Full text, scholarly search results: employer branding value chain model

https://bbcc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/search/2384087?accountid=2196

________________​​_______

 

 

Google Scholar search: attracting talent strategies

A review article, not quantitative
Retaining and Growing Talent: Strategies to Create Organizational "Stickiness".

https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bsh&AN=34762795&site=ehost-live

This article has zero attribution but has an interesting outline.  This is how the magazine Public Management decides what to publish: "editorial content is recommended, written, and often reviewed by local government managers. Articles are written by experts in the field, experienced local government professionals, and observers who have firsthand knowledge of their article's topic."

 

Many results so used....

_________________​​_

 

Google Scholar Search: attracting talent strategies quantitative
Quantitative article - Turkey vs Latvia

Attracting Talented Employees to the Company: Do We Need Different Employer Branding Strategies in Different Cultures?

 

"Our research objective is to identify dimensions of attractiveness in employer branding. In order to achieve this objective, our study aims to identify what is the perceived importance attributed to each dimension of attractiveness in employer branding and to examine whether there are statistically significant differences in perceptions of Latvian and Turkish respondents. Furthermore, the study aims to examine differences in perceptions amongst male and female respondents." May find interesting examples in the questionnaire.

 

Thesis. Includes Quantitative data. Provides resources.

E-recruitment: A comparison with traditional recruitment and the influences of social media: A qualitative and quantitative review

https://www.theseus.fi/bitstream/handle/10024/80428/Sills_Maureen.pdf

Useful demographic analysis and description of effective e-recruitment

 

Keywords:

Employer Branding

Organisational Attractiveness and Organizational

Human Resources

Cultural Differences

e-recruitment
 

Taking those keywords into Proquest, full text, scholarly article search

https://bbcc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/search/2384089?accountid=2196

________________​​_____

 

Ended up here looking for something else:

Examining Employee Attraction, Retention, and Engagement in Ultra-Small Entrepreneurial Technology Firms
Dissertation  - Make use of a literature review and summaries of other studies used in the dissertation. Harvest keywords, concepts, and acronyms.

https://bbcc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/dissertations-theses/examining-employee-attraction-retention/docview/911801999/se-2?accountid=2196

Keywords:
recruitment
social media
 employer brand personality
organizational attractiveness
word-of-mouth

 

Taking those keywords into Proquest, Full Text, Scholarly Article Search and adding elements of quantitative research in keywords:

https://bbcc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/search/2384094?accountid=2196

 

 

May 31, 2022 Response

 

HAYS

Hays Recruitment US. (2022).  2023 U.S. salary guide the great disconnect. https://www.hays.com/salary-guide

This recruitment firm's report is mentioned in a lot of literature. I signed up and rc'd this report. It may in itself be useful. It also may mention some other useful findings.  It is created by a recruitment firm vs being something like a government-produced report. It uses some widely available government stats.   Attached.  

 

 

LABOR MARKET 

Discusses how low pay and low productivity are connected and wage theories. 

U.S. Department of the Treasury. (2022, March 7). The state of the labor market competition. 
https://home.treasury.gov/system/files/136/State-of-Labor-Market-Competition-2022.pdf

 

 

OTHER

Chen, C. X., & Sandino, T. (2012). Can wages buy honesty? The relationship between relative wages and employee theft. Journal of Accounting Research, 50(4), 967-1000.

https://scholar.google.com/scholar?hl=en&as_sdt=0%2C48&inst=2114855687532824185&q=Can+wages+buy+honesty%3F+The+relationship+between+relative+wages+and+employee+theft.+J&btnG=

Discusses higher wages impact on theft. May use articles that refer to motivation. Look them up by title in Google Scholar using the library link.

https://scholar.google.com/scholar?inst=2114855687532824185

 

______

Akerlof, G. A., & Yellen, J. L. (1990). The fair wage-effort hypothesis and unemployment. The Quarterly Journal of Economics, 105(2), 255-283.

http://ndl.ethernet.edu.et/bitstream/123456789/42020/1/21.pdf#page=485

 

"According to the fair wage-effort hypothesis, workers proportionately withdraw
effort as their actual wage falls short of their fair wage. Such behavior causes unemployment
and is also consistent with observed cross-section wage differentials and unemployment patterns."

 

_________________________________

 

This is a Google Scholar search.  Use the links to the right, not the title so you get past the paywall. If you find a good article, then click on cited by link under that article to find research that used that.

https://scholar.google.com/scholar?hl=en&as_sdt=5%2C48&sciodt=0%2C48&cites=11662549721918051566&scipsc=1&inst=2114855687532824185&q=competitive+wage&btnG=

 

_____________________________________

 

Keywords:
Employee Turnover
employee retention
Job Satisfaction
wage*
Salar*
Income
wage*  OR Salar*OR Income OR compensation
compensat*
Talent Procurement

 

Let me know what works and does work.