Home - CMST - Doty - LibGuides at Big Bend Community College

Off Campus Sign In

When off campus, Library Resources will ask for a sign in. This is your Big Bend Community College email without the @bigbend.edu. The password is the same one for your email.

For example:
rsmith01@bigbend.edu
mypassword
would be
rsmith01
mypassword

Keywords

Age
Class
Disabl*
   Disabled, Disability
Ethnicity
Feminism
Gender*
Gendered, Genders
Male, Female,
Identity Politics
Intersectional
LGBTQ+, LGBT
   Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer,
   Questioning, Intersex, Allies, Asexual,
   Pansexual
"Lived Experiences"
Marginalization
"Me Too," "#metoo"
   Sexual Harrassment, Victims of Crime
Micro-aggression
Qualitative
   Life Stories
   Narratives
   Life Story Nattatives
Interviews
Text Analysis
   Ethnographic Studies
Quantitative
Statistical Analysis
Survey Data Analysis
Race
Raci*,Racism, Racist
schizophren*, schizophrenia,schizophreniac
Sexual Orientation
Sex Roles
Sexuality
"Single Mom"
   Single Mother, Bad Mom, Good Mom,
   Welfare Mom, Warrior Mom,
   Mothering, Parenting,
   Single Parents
"Social Inequality"
Stigma
   Stigma*: Stigmatized, Stigmatizing
"Systems of Oppression"

Special Collections

Other Special Collections

Jigsaw piece

Communications and Mass Media : Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window Brings together information found in more than 400 journals. Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature. Topics: racial discrimination in the media. racial inequality in the media
Criminal Justice: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window Provides information on law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more.
Diversity Studies: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window For social science, history and liberal arts coursework, explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. Includes fashion, celebrities, art, and literature. Gender & Women's Studies Anthropology Western Civilization Sociology
Gender Studies : Gale One File This link opens in a new window Provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society, covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together sources to present a rich analysis of issues - social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural - and headlines in world hot spots. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations. Global Issues in Context focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news that are related to these broader issues. It also includes detailed information on nations to provide a foundation for cross-cultural studies and, International periodicals and news sources that bring additional insight and currency. Migration
Pop Culture: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window Provides access to resources that analyze and contribute to popular culture, topics include social science, history, art or liberal arts.
Psychology: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window Resources on the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.
Religion & Philosophy: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window Provides magazines and academic journal articles covering religion and the related areas of philosophy and anthropology. Use to study theological approaches to social issues, but also to learn about the impact that religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Full text coverage begins in 1983 for periodicals.

Resources

Proquest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to billions of vetted, indexed documents from a variety of sources.
Search by Keyword, Publication or Database. Advanced search yields results from the following source types: Audio/Visual Works, Blogs/Podcasts & Websites, Books, Conference Papers & Proceedings, Dissertations & Theses, Magazines, Newspapers, Pamphlets & Ephemeral Works, Reports, Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Wire Feeds, and Working Papers. Migration. face masks COVID-19

Academic: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
A general database with scholarly, magazine, and newspaper articles. Covers: Biology, Chemistry, Criminal Justice, Economics, Environmental Science, History, Marketing, Political Science, Psychology. Includes news videos, visual topic finder,

How to Read An Academic Paper (3:13)

Find Biography. Book Chapter, Definitions, Encyclopedia Entry

African-American History: Infobase This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture, with tablet/mobile-friendly videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines. Includes: Abolitionist Movement
Underground Railroad
Emancipation Proclamation
Great Black Migrations
Harlem Renaissance
Civil Rights Act of 1964 Topics: racial discrimination in the media. racial inequality in the media
American Indian History: Infobase This link opens in a new window
Offers access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American groups, through tablet/mobile-friendly videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines. MORE: Topic Centers
CULTURE AREA
Arctic Culture Area
California Culture Area
Great Basin Culture Area
Great Plains Culture Area
Northeast Culture Area
Northwest Coast Culture Area
Plateau Culture Area
Southeast Culture Area
Southwest Culture Area
Subarctic Culture Area
ERA
Native Societies, First Contact, and the Colonial Era: Beginnings–1775
Exploration, Trade, and Growing Conflict: 1776–1829
Removal and Resistance: 1830–1865
The Indian Wars: 1866–1890
Allotment and Reservations: 1891–1933
The Indian New Deal, Termination, and Relocation: 1934–1968
Self–Determination and the Red Power Movement: 1969–1979
Contemporary Issues: 1980–Present
SUBJECT
American Indian Contributions to the World
Mythology and Religion
U.S. Indian Policy and Law
Ancient and Medieval History: Infobase This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, ancient Egypt, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, ancient and medieval Asia, the Americas, medieval Europe, and the Islamic World. Each civilization’s history is brought to life through articles, videos and slideshows, primary source. More: Ancient and Medieval Africa: 5000 BCE–1500 CE
Ancient Egypt: 5000 BCE–650 CE
Ancient Near East: 4000 BCE–650 CE
Ancient Greece: 3300 BCE–30 BCE
Ancient and Medieval Asia: 3000 BCE–1600 CE
The Americas: 2000 BCE–1500 CE
Ancient Rome: 800 BCE–500 CE
Medieval Europe: 500 CE–1500 CE
Islamic World: 570 CE–1500 CE
eBook EBSCO Collection This link opens in a new window
Our collection of online titles, available electronically. Click on the link to search.

CMST - Doty: Home

CMST-Doty

Off Campus Sign In

Keywords

Special Collections

Other Special Collections

Resources

Recommended

How to Read An Academic Paper (3:13)

Find Biography. Book Chapter, Definitions, Encyclopedia Entry

Please Provide Feedback

Library Survey

Mission

Contact

509-793-2350

Toll Free: 877-745-1212 x2350

librarymail@bigbend.edu

Building:
1800/Library & GCATEC

Physical Address:
7611 Bolling St.

Mailing Address:
William C. Bonaudi Library,
7662 Chanute St.
Moses Lake, WA 98837

Reserve Computer Lab 1801 or 1802

Our Team

CMST - Doty: Home

CMST-Doty

Off Campus Sign In

Keywords

Special Collections

Other Special Collections

Resources

Recommended

How to Read An Academic Paper (3:13)

Find Biography. Book Chapter, Definitions, Encyclopedia Entry

Please Provide Feedback

Library Survey

Mission

Contact

509-793-2350 Toll Free: 877-745-1212 x2350

librarymail@bigbend.edu Building: 1800/Library & GCATEC Physical Address: 7611 Bolling St. Mailing Address: William C. Bonaudi Library, 7662 Chanute St. Moses Lake, WA 98837

Reserve Computer Lab 1801 or 1802

Our Team

509-793-2350

Toll Free: 877-745-1212 x2350

librarymail@bigbend.edu

Building:
1800/Library & GCATEC

Physical Address:
7611 Bolling St.

Mailing Address:
William C. Bonaudi Library,
7662 Chanute St.
Moses Lake, WA 98837