Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Big Bend Community College William C. Bonaudui LibraryStudent Kiosk Big Bend Community College Logo Big Bend email Viking Portal access Password Help Canvas

Big Bend Community College William C. Bonaudi Library

Database of the Month August 2020: Women's Magazine Archive

by Rhonda Kitchens on 2020-08-01T13:10:00-07:00 | Comments

 

Women's Magazine Archives

"Topics covered these collections include family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, culture, and many more; this material serves multiple research areas, from gender studies, social history, and the arts, through to education, politics, and marketing/media history.

The magazines are all scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color, ensuring that the original print artefacts are faithfully reproduced and that valuable non-article items, such as advertisements, are included. Detailed article-level indexing, with document feature flags, enables efficient searching and navigation of this content." - from the publisher, Proquest. 

 

 

The search is very flexible yet allows focusing the search on various formats, dates, and article/advertisement description points. WomensMagazineArchive Search example

 

 

The keyword "cigarettes" is limited to cartoon.  The search has two results. 

Search example from Women's Magazine Archive

 

 

The database has images of the magazine as the original work appeared.  This is helpful for women's studies, history, gender studies, and marketing. 

Cartoon. (1951, 04). Ladies' Home Journal, 68, 187. Retrieved from https://proquest.com

Full color as printed in the magazine image of cartoon in context of page.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...

Mission

The William C. Bonaudi
Library provides 
quiet
study space,
a large and growing
collection of books 

multiple online resources,
and other library services. 

We are committed to meeting
the needs of
BBCC's students,
staff, faculty, and those 

living within the
Big Bend Community College
service district.

 

Contact

 

 509-793-2350

Toll Free: 877-745-1212 x2350
librarymail@bigbend.edu

Building:

 1800/Library & GCATEC

Physical Address:
 
7611 Bolling St.


M
ailing 
Address: 
William C. 
Bonaudi Library, 
7662 Chanute St.
 
Moses Lake, WA 98837


 

Our Team

Library and eLearning Director:
Tim Fuhrman

Librarian: 
Rhonda Kitchens

eLearning Coordinator, Librarian:
Mattias 
Olshausen

Program Assistant, and Purchasing:
Cassandra Torres
Library Systems Specialist
John Anderson
Cataloging, Interlibrary Loan
Teresa Sweeney

 

 About

Facebook

Blog

Feedback