Showing of Results

Database of the Month: Proquest

12/11/2019
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens

 

From Astronomy to Zoology, this database has it all.  

One of the key ways of managing this large, complex database is to select Full-text in the search.  Many students think the entire database is full-text like Opposing Viewpoints or eBooks.  

It isn't. 

Make sure to select full text when searching Proquest.

 

On the search results page, Proquest gives you more options.  If you forgot to select Full-Text, you have another shot to do so.  You may also limit your search to scholarly articles and other formats.  If you need to limit to a more current article or change the dates of the articles, the left-hand side provides an opportunity to do so. 

Example of limiters on left hand side of Proquest search results

 

When you select a title, Proquest provides fantastic research support.

ONE:  Title and citation elements. Authors are linked so that their other works may be found in the database. This usually contains the Digital Object Identifier (DOI).

TWO: Full-text of the article. Download or email as needed.

THREE: The Cite button provides a citation for MLA 8, APA 6, and APA 7 will be coming. 

FOUR: Related Items contain articles that are available on a similar topic. 

 

Numbered visual on where 4 key useful Proquest items are.

 

Most databases have Cite or Citation assistance.  Make sure to copy and correct the suggestion.  Make sure the citation is in the format your professor requires.  There's usually a drop-down box that allows selection. 

ONE:  Dropdown box. Make sure to choose the correct citation style and edition. 

TWO:  Make sure to check the citation for accuracy. It is rare that a database provided citation is 100% correct.  Use the guides on Purdue Online Writing Lab. (OWL).

The rule is copy and correct. Do not copy and paste. 

Example of Proquest Citation.

 

 

 

 

 

This post has no comments.
Field is required.
No Tags

Similar Posts

View All Posts
May 15: More than Google: Search Engines That Improve Your Research and Academic Confidence. Google has become synonymous with searching. Tune up your inner pirate. Let’s look at ways to UNGoogle
05/15/2024
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens
0 Comments

UNGoogle


Header for Library WebinarsMay 5 UnGoogle

The zoom link is:  https://bigbend.zoom.us/my/rhondak
Also on Facebook Live: https://www.facebook.com/bbcclibrary/  

 

 

QUESTIONS 

"artificial intelligence" art ethics

Best roads between yellow springs OH and Wilmington De

Which countries are facing the greatest famine

 

Wikipedia
List of search engines, their specialty, languages used, and provenance.

Wikipedia
Comparison of Search engines using tables using independent crawlers, owner, questions, digital rights, privacy. tracking, surveillance and more. 

 

 

THE THREE BIGS

Google
83% more people use Google than any other search engine. 

Bing
Microsoft affiliated. Has natural language ability. More visual. 

DuckDuckGo
Touts privacy. 

The 8 Best Search Engines of 2024: While you could use Google to find other search engines, here are the ones we think are arguably better
A well organized comparison article with excellent highlights.
 

 

 

AI Based Search Engine

You.com - has AI assistant. Does have a private mode and personal. Relies on Bing, Imagine for AI image generation, and YouWrite text generation. 

Perplexity.ai - Just doesn't list web page and cites sources. It has a smart assistant named Copilot. Natural language ability

Komo - speed and privacy, interactive with follow up question (though...don't they all?) Google Search Generative Experience (SGE). (not rolled out yet in the Labs part of Google)  SGE is available visible on mobile

 

 

 

Notes in progress

 

  1. SearX: This one's unique from the previous two, in that it's actually a "meta-search" engine that combines/ amalgamates the results of Google and Bing's web crawlers, then re-prioritizes them accordingly.

  2. Brave: Kind of an outlier here, Bing is a relative newcomer to the scene, being only a few years old. They have both a browser and a search engine. What separates them from the competition, is apparently they're crafting their own independent web results/ crawler, completely separate from Google or Bing. Not sure if they've fully accomplished this by now. They and Duckduckgo are the names I hear come up the most when jt comes to un-censored search results and privacy/ tracking-free.

    1. Like Brave?  

 

 

MOJEEK?

 

How to keep up?

 

Teachcrunch.com

Basic Skills, General, Library and Research Skills
Canvas Webinars
03/25/2020
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens
0 Comments

Get a live, online orientation to Canvas.  Ask questions. Attend more than one. Find support. 

 

Canvas training will be offered in the form of Zoom webinars this term. Each of these will consist of a one-hour session on the basics of Canvas, including how to change your personal settings, how to navigate your courses, how to communicate within Canvas, and other key aspects of the platform. Here is the schedule:

March 31 - 10-11am (Mattias Olshausen, eLearning Coordinator): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/178343018 

March 31 - 2-3pm (Jenn de Leon, Advising Coordinator): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/223242690 

April 2 - 10-11am (Mattias Olshausen): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/155265487 

April 7 - 10-11am (Mattias Olshausen): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/971201677 

April 7 - 2-3pm (Jenn de Leon): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/657252558 

April 9 - 10-11am (Mattias Olshausen): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/801370026

To join one of these webinars at the listed time, copy and paste the appropriate link above into your browser. If you have any questions about what will be covered, please contact Mattias Olshausen at elearningadmin@bigbend.edu

Basic Skills, Library and Research Skills
Why Join #BigBendCCBookChallenge
03/09/2020
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens
0 Comments

HERE: Share Book and Book Talk

 

Flowchart of Book Challenge and New Years Resolution

 

REFERENCES:

"2.5 times less likely to develop Alzheimer’s"
"...reading reduces stress by 68 percent"
Book and Reading Statistics

Leads to Clarity & Clear Thinking
Opening the Closed Mind: The Effect of Exposure to Literature on the Need for Closure

Be Resourceful
Goal Setting is Linked to Higher Achievement

Builds Resilience
5 Steps to a More Resilient You

 

Basic Skills, Library and Research Skills