We chose this as Database as the Month for April as we all have experienced some upheavals that have often left us with more questions than answers. This database indexes and provides OER links to eBooks, and more to support staff, students, and faculty. While these resources can support learning, they may also support online learning components by providing readings on specified topics.
We have listed Faculty Select on the library's website under Databases A-Z under our trial database section.
To find full OER text that is immediately available, select for OER in the limiters on the left. OER books have a link in the record to take you to full-text work.
What is Faculty Select?
"To support distance learning at institutions impacted by COVID-19 closures, we have created a simplified version of EBSCO Faculty Select to help faculty easily find Open Educational Resources and DRM-free e-books to support remote classroom needs."
Faculty Select is a single interface where faculty can easily discover and access Open Educational Resources (OER), as well as find and request access to unrestricted, DRM-free e-books from top academic publishers.
With this option, EBSCO is offering a simplified version of Faculty Select that includes access to OER material as well as the option to discover more than 225,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks™ in one place, available at no charge for faculty to use through June 30, 2020" -- from Publisher.
Examples of Resources:
OER eBooks:
Bennet, T. (2017). Writing and Literature : Composition as Inquiry, Learning, Thinking, and Communication. University of North Georgia Press.
Crosslin, M. (2018). Creating Online Learning Experiences. Mavs Open Press.
Heikka, J., Hujala, E., Rodd, J., Strehmel, P., & Waniganayake, M. (2019). Leadership in Early Education in Times of Change. Verlag Barbara Budrich. https://doi.org/10.3224/84742199
Olmsted, J. (2019). Tools for Podcasting. American University.
Pence, A. R. . 1948-, author. (2015). Complexities, capacities, communities : changing development narratives in early childhood education, care and development. University of Victoria.
Wikström af Edholm, K., Jackson Rova, P., Nordberg, A., Sundqvist, O., & Zachrisson, T. (2019). Myth, Materiality, and Lived Religion. Stockholm University Press. https://doi.org/10.16993/bay
Commenting on blog posts requires an account.
Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.
If you do not have an account, Register Now.