Skip to main content
Big Bend Community College William C. Bonaudui LibraryStudent Kiosk Big Bend Community College Logo Big Bend email Viking Portal access Password Help Canvas

Wednesday Webinars : Home

Online orientations and overviews of weekly topics. PJs OK! Sign on from where you are.

Quick Links

Home Library Catalog Databases A-Z About Hours
 

PJs OK

Webinar Descriptions

Image of pajamas with OK on them.


Library Orientation:  Live basic overview of the library website, resources, and services. Includes an introduction to Opposing Viewpoints

Databases A-Z:.  Your Library has over 80 databases. No matter what college you go to, you will have a list of databases. This covers:  
What are databases?
Do I have search one at a time?
What’re the best ones for specific topics?
Plus overview of ten very different databases and what they do. 


How to Find, Identify, and Read Scholarly Articles: Your assignment(s) may require the use of scholarly or peer-reviewed sources.  This live overview covers all the basics.

Five Databases:  Orientation and Skill Builder: This live overview includes search, keywords, and truncation discussion.  Instead of a brief overview of databases, this focuses on five that students may use most frequently: Opposing Viewpoints, Proquest, EBSCO eBooks, Science in Context,  and Newsbank.

Google Advanced Search and Google Scholar: This is an introduction to better internet research.  Google Advanced allows deeper searches than the single, familiar Google search. Google Scholar can get you past the paywall and a higher level of academic discovery. Great for students, staff, and faculty. 

Top Internet Research Websites To Know and Bookmark:
Find and save key internet resources that provide a lot of research power, credibility, and authority. Great for students, staff, and faculty. 

Emerging Technology: Five New Tools to Try:  A live introduction to educational emerging technology.  Have some to share? Please do! Great for education students, staff, and faculty. 

Webinar Schedule

Wednesdays 6:30-7:30

Register for a reminder and to have presentation
materials emailed to you: HERE

Or sign in at 6:30pm on day of webinar: HERE

 

WINTER WEBINARS

 

January 8   - Library Orientation

January 15 - Databases A-Z

January 22 - Library Orientation
January 29 - Databases A-Z

 

February 5 - How to Find, Identify, and Read Scholarly Articles
February 12 - Five Databases:  Orientation and Skill Builder
February 19 - Google Advanced Search and Google Scholar
February 26 - Top Internet Research Websites To Know and Bookmark 

 

March 4 - How to Find, Identify, and Read Scholarly Articles

March 11- Emerging Technology: Five New Tools to Try

March 18  NOTHING SCHEDULED

 

SPRING WEBINARS

 

April 1 - Library Orientation

April 8 - Databases A-Z

April 15 - Library Orientation

April 22 - Databases A-Z 

April 29 - How to Find, Identify, and Read Scholarly Articles

 

May 6 - Five Databases:  Orientation and Skill Builder

May 13 - Google Advanced Search and Google Scholar
May 20 - Top Internet Research Websites To Know and Bookmark 

May 27 - Emerging Technology: Five New Tools to Try


 

 

Mission

The William C. Bonaudi
Library provides 
quiet
study space,
a large and growing
collection of books 

multiple online resources,
and other library services. 

We are committed to meeting
the needs of
BBCC's students,
staff, faculty, and those 

living within the
Big Bend Community College
service district.

 

Contact

 

 509-793-2350

Toll Free: 877-745-1212 x2350
librarymail@bigbend.edu

Building:

 1800/Library & GCATEC

Physical Address:
 
7611 Bolling St.


M
ailing 
Address: 
William C. 
Bonaudi Library, 
7662 Chanute St.
 
Moses Lake, WA 98837


 

Our Team

Library and eLearning Director:
Tim Fuhrman

Librarian: 
Rhonda Kitchens

eLearning Coordinator, Librarian:
Mattias 
Olshausen

Program Assistant, and Purchasing:
Cassandra Torres
Library Systems Specialist
John Anderson
Cataloging, Interlibrary Loan
Teresa Sweeney

 

 About

Feedback

Book 1801 or 1802