Showing of Results

Five Ways to Use Library Support in CANVAS

12/26/2019
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens

 

ONE:  Add our Wednesday Webinars to your announcements. These include basic orientations and library resource overviews. 

PJs with OK on them. They are PJs OK!  

 

TWO:  Add Librarian contact information:  RhondaK@Bigbend.edu

 

THREE:  Are your student's having a hard time finding full text?  Have them ASK A LIBRARIAN.  Add Library contact information to assignments that require research.  

 

FOUR:  Ask the Library to create a guide for your specific assignment.  We can create a webpage with step by step directions. We can add video instruction. Let's collaborate or simply let us know how to help.  SEE: https://libguides.bigbend.edu/ENG101_Ernette

 

FIVE:  Ask the Librarian to create a video demonstration of a database you want your students to use that you can use in announcements, emails, or in course assignment directions. 

 

 

This post has no comments.
Field is required.
No Tags

Similar Posts

View All Posts
Canvas Webinars
03/25/2020
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens
0 Comments

Get a live, online orientation to Canvas.  Ask questions. Attend more than one. Find support. 

 

Canvas training will be offered in the form of Zoom webinars this term. Each of these will consist of a one-hour session on the basics of Canvas, including how to change your personal settings, how to navigate your courses, how to communicate within Canvas, and other key aspects of the platform. Here is the schedule:

March 31 - 10-11am (Mattias Olshausen, eLearning Coordinator): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/178343018 

March 31 - 2-3pm (Jenn de Leon, Advising Coordinator): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/223242690 

April 2 - 10-11am (Mattias Olshausen): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/155265487 

April 7 - 10-11am (Mattias Olshausen): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/971201677 

April 7 - 2-3pm (Jenn de Leon): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/657252558 

April 9 - 10-11am (Mattias Olshausen): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/801370026

To join one of these webinars at the listed time, copy and paste the appropriate link above into your browser. If you have any questions about what will be covered, please contact Mattias Olshausen at elearningadmin@bigbend.edu

Basic Skills, Library and Research Skills
Why Join #BigBendCCBookChallenge
03/09/2020
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens
0 Comments

HERE: Share Book and Book Talk

 

Flowchart of Book Challenge and New Years Resolution

 

REFERENCES:

"2.5 times less likely to develop Alzheimer’s"
"...reading reduces stress by 68 percent"
Book and Reading Statistics

Leads to Clarity & Clear Thinking
Opening the Closed Mind: The Effect of Exposure to Literature on the Need for Closure

Be Resourceful
Goal Setting is Linked to Higher Achievement

Builds Resilience
5 Steps to a More Resilient You

 

Basic Skills, Library and Research Skills
Database of the Month: Proquest
12/11/2019
profile-icon Rhonda Kitchens
0 Comments

 

From Astronomy to Zoology, this database has it all.  

One of the key ways of managing this large, complex database is to select Full-text in the search.  Many students think the entire database is full-text like Opposing Viewpoints or eBooks.  

It isn't. 

Make sure to select full text when searching Proquest.

 

On the search results page, Proquest gives you more options.  If you forgot to select Full-Text, you have another shot to do so.  You may also limit your search to scholarly articles and other formats.  If you need to limit to a more current article or change the dates of the articles, the left-hand side provides an opportunity to do so. 

Example of limiters on left hand side of Proquest search results

 

When you select a title, Proquest provides fantastic research support.

ONE:  Title and citation elements. Authors are linked so that their other works may be found in the database. This usually contains the Digital Object Identifier (DOI).

TWO: Full-text of the article. Download or email as needed.

THREE: The Cite button provides a citation for MLA 8, APA 6, and APA 7 will be coming. 

FOUR: Related Items contain articles that are available on a similar topic. 

 

Numbered visual on where 4 key useful Proquest items are.

 

Most databases have Cite or Citation assistance.  Make sure to copy and correct the suggestion.  Make sure the citation is in the format your professor requires.  There's usually a drop-down box that allows selection. 

ONE:  Dropdown box. Make sure to choose the correct citation style and edition. 

TWO:  Make sure to check the citation for accuracy. It is rare that a database provided citation is 100% correct.  Use the guides on Purdue Online Writing Lab. (OWL).

The rule is copy and correct. Do not copy and paste. 

Example of Proquest Citation.

 

 

 

 

 

Basic Skills