ONE:  Add our Wednesday Webinars to your announcements. These include basic orientations and library resource overviews. 

 They are PJs OK!  

TWO:  Add Librarian contact information:  RhondaK@Bigbend.edu

THREE:  Are your student's having a hard time finding full text?  Have them ASK A LIBRARIAN.  Add Library contact information to assignments that require research.  

FOUR:  Ask the Library to create a guide for your specific assignment.  We can create a webpage with step by step directions. We can add video instruction. Let's collaborate or simply let us know how to help.  SEE: https://libguides.bigbend.edu/ENG101_Ernette

FIVE:  Ask the Librarian to create a video demonstration of a database you want your students to use that you can use in announcements, emails, or in course assignment directions. 

SUBMIT BOOKS TALK
Read Book Talks In Comments Below

New Year's Resolution:  Read a Book a Month in 2020

Take the William C. Benaudi Library New Year Challenge and read a book a month in 2020.

The benefits of reading are powerful. Reading can boost intelligence and increase empathy.  

Read a book or poems, true crime, philosophy, and even tap into our eBook collection. Visit our New Books section in the Library and pick something random or interesting. 

We will be posting book talks and recommendations on the 25th of each month on our Facebook page.  Jump in any time!  

How Do I Join In? 

1) As you read a book a month - add them to this form.  

2) If you follow us on Facebook, look for the end of the month call for book discussion. If you filled out this form, we will send you a reminder.  I will also add reviews to this comment section. 

3) The New Years Resolution Link will be on the Library's Home Page in the middle section under Events|Services|Forms. See below. So you will be able to find the form through out the year.

#BigBendCCBookChallenge

From Astronomy to Zoology, this database has it all.  

One of the key ways of managing this large, complex database is to select Full-text in the search.  Many students think the entire database is full-text like Opposing Viewpoints or eBooks.  

It isn't. 

On the search results page, Proquest gives you more options.  If you forgot to select Full-Text, you have another shot to do so.  You may also limit your search to scholarly articles and other formats.  If you need to limit to a more current article or change the dates of the articles, the left-hand side provides an opportunity to do so. 

When you select a title, Proquest provides fantastic research support.

ONE:  Title and citation elements. Authors are linked so that their other works may be found in the database. This usually contains the Digital Object Identifier (DOI).

TWO: Full-text of the article. Download or email as needed.

THREE: The Cite button provides a citation for MLA 8, APA 6, and APA 7 will be coming. 

FOUR: Related Items contain articles that are available on a similar topic. 

Most databases have Cite or Citation assistance.  Make sure to copy and correct the suggestion.  Make sure the citation is in the format your professor requires.  There's usually a drop-down box that allows selection. 

ONE:  Dropdown box. Make sure to choose the correct citation style and edition. 

TWO:  Make sure to check the citation for accuracy. It is rare that a database provided citation is 100% correct.  Use the guides on Purdue Online Writing Lab. (OWL).

The rule is copy and correct. Do not copy and paste.