EBSCO is providing free access to Faculty Select until June 30, 2020.
 

We chose this as Database as the Month for April as we all have experienced some upheavals that have often left us with more questions than answers. This database indexes and provides OER links to eBooks, and more to support staff, students, and faculty. While these resources can support learning, they may also support online learning components by providing readings on specified topics. 

We have listed Faculty Select on the library's website under Databases A-Z under our trial database section. 

To find full OER text that is immediately available, select for OER in the limiters on the left. OER books have a link in the record to take you to full-text work.

What is Faculty Select?

"To support distance learning at institutions impacted by COVID-19 closures, we have created a simplified version of EBSCO Faculty Select to help faculty easily find Open Educational Resources and DRM-free e-books to support remote classroom needs."

Faculty Select is a single interface where faculty can easily discover and access Open Educational Resources (OER), as well as find and request access to unrestricted, DRM-free e-books from top academic publishers.

With this option, EBSCO is offering a simplified version of Faculty Select that includes access to OER material as well as the option to discover more than 225,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks™ in one place, available at no charge for faculty to use through June 30, 2020" -- from Publisher. 

Examples of Resources:

OER eBooks:

Bennet, T. (2017). Writing and Literature : Composition as Inquiry, Learning, Thinking, and Communication. University of North Georgia Press.

Crosslin, M. (2018). Creating Online Learning Experiences. Mavs Open Press.

Heikka, J., Hujala, E., Rodd, J., Strehmel, P., & Waniganayake, M. (2019). Leadership in Early Education in Times of Change. Verlag Barbara Budrich. https://doi.org/10.3224/84742199

Olmsted, J. (2019). Tools for Podcasting. American University.

Pence, A. R. . 1948-, author. (2015). Complexities, capacities, communities : changing development narratives in early childhood education, care and development. University of Victoria.

Wikström af Edholm, K., Jackson Rova, P., Nordberg, A., Sundqvist, O., & Zachrisson, T. (2019). Myth, Materiality, and Lived Religion. Stockholm University Press. https://doi.org/10.16993/bay

FROM: Jennifer McCarthy, French & German Instructor 
BOOK:  The Water Dancer
AUTHOR:  Ta-Nahisi Coates

Literary criticism uses the word defamiliarization to describe the author’s ability to render the familiar unfamiliar, and the normal strange, by simultaneously interpreting, re-imagining and re-presenting the world to the reader.  Ta-Nahisi Coates’ wondrous 2019 novel The Water Dancer presents the hopes, memories, dreams, and aspirations of Hiram Walker in gloriously lyrical language that has been freed of conventional meaning through defamiliarization  and a touch of magical realism. The people enslaved are the “Tasked.” The white owners are the “Quality.” Hiram possesses the supernatural gift of “Conduction” just as his great-grandmother Santi Bess also possessed and which legend says she used to ferry a number of the Tasked to their freedom across the ocean and to the continent of Africa. Coates’ vocabulary seems at the same time as the 19th century and apart from it: it exists only within and throughout the novel itself. -- Jennifer McCarthy

Get a live, online orientation to Canvas.  Ask questions. Attend more than one. Find support. 

Canvas training will be offered in the form of Zoom webinars this term. Each of these will consist of a one-hour session on the basics of Canvas, including how to change your personal settings, how to navigate your courses, how to communicate within Canvas, and other key aspects of the platform. Here is the schedule:

March 31 - 10-11am (Mattias Olshausen, eLearning Coordinator): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/178343018 

March 31 - 2-3pm (Jenn de Leon, Advising Coordinator): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/223242690 

April 2 - 10-11am (Mattias Olshausen): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/155265487 

April 7 - 10-11am (Mattias Olshausen): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/971201677 

April 7 - 2-3pm (Jenn de Leon): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/657252558 

April 9 - 10-11am (Mattias Olshausen): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/801370026

To join one of these webinars at the listed time, copy and paste the appropriate link above into your browser. If you have any questions about what will be covered, please contact Mattias Olshausen at elearningadmin@bigbend.edu

The library is available to students 23/4/7 365!

• Use Databases A-Z.

• Read eBooks.

• Ask a Librarian for help! Use tab that is available on every Library website page!
   

Emerging Technology: Five New Tools to Try

A live introduction to educational emerging technology.  Have some to share? Please do! Great for education students, staff, and faculty. 

ThingLink

Example: https://libguides.bigbend.edu/Scholarly_Articles

​Scrumblr

Example:  https://libguides.bigbend.edu/ENG_101_Gutierrez_databases

Google forms to Visualizations or Spreadsheets

Google.com – Sign In – Google Drive

Screencast-o-matic

Canva

Example:  https://libguides.bigbend.edu

HERE: Share Book and Book Talk

REFERENCES:

"2.5 times less likely to develop Alzheimer’s"
"...reading reduces stress by 68 percent"
Book and Reading Statistics

Leads to Clarity & Clear Thinking
Opening the Closed Mind: The Effect of Exposure to Literature on the Need for Closure

Be Resourceful
Goal Setting is Linked to Higher Achievement

Builds Resilience
5 Steps to a More Resilient You

Month: February
From: Cassie Torres
Book Title:  Dear Evan Hansen 
Author(s): Val Emmich, Steven Levenson, Benj Pasek, & Justin Paul

"Have you ever told a lie? Not just a little white lie, a huge lie that consumes you to the point where it becomes your truth. No matter how much you want to break free from it there is no escaping without hurting so many others. 

Dear Evan Hansen is about a lie. A lie that escalates to the point where Evan has no idea how to stop it. All of a sudden, Evan is not just another nobody; he was Connor Murphy’s best friend. Connor Murphy, who took his own life and did not have friend in the world, or so everyone thought.  

The answers are in Evan’s hands. What made Connor take his life? Was it drugs? Why did no one know about this secret friendship between Evan and Connor? It becomes easy for Evan to fabricate this fake friendship and in a way you kind of root for him. He is not going along with this because he wants attention (well maybe a little), but because he wants to give Connor’s family some sort of solace during a difficult time. 

I enjoyed this book because even though what Evan is doing is wrong, so much good comes from his lie. Not without destroying him first though. Sometimes we need to break down to rebuild and that is just what Evan does. "

#BigBendCCBookChallenge #12in12 #NewYearsResolution #WhiteLies 

"NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues..."

Review this video on Newsbank's research-ready features.