Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Big Bend Community College William C. Bonaudui LibraryStudent Kiosk Big Bend Community College Logo Big Bend email Viking Portal access Password Help Canvas

HIS& 136: U.S. History "Ideas of Freedom: J. Quitadamo: Home

Quick Links

Home Library Catalog Databases A-Z About Hours
 

Suggested Databases & Resources

History Databases

Infobase databases have primary sources, images, and timelines. 

African-American History

American History

American Indian History

Ancient and Medieval History

 

Other Recommended Databases

Academic Search Premier 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context 

Proquest Research Library 

60 MINUTES CBS News 

1996-2015, Video and Transcripts

Selected History Journals

Journal of American Studies
Full Text: 2001-  current 

Annals of American Academy of Political and Social Science
1990 to current

Comparative Studies in Society and History
Jan. 2011 to current year delayed one year

The Journal of American History
Full Text: 1988 - 2011 

Magazine of History 
Organization of American Historians
Full Text: 1998 - 2012

Rhetoric & Public Affairs
Full Text:  2004 - 2011

Other Helpful Sources

 

CMS Handout

Feedback

Please provide feedback.

Basic Research Tips and Demonstration

 

Introduction to Library Research for HIS 136

 

 

 

Video Contents
00:00 Rhonda Kitchens Rhondak@Bigbend.edu
00:25 Overview
01:47 Research Parts of the Library Website Navigation Bar
02:00 Library Catalog, Databases A-Z, Primo One Search Overview
04:20 Primary & Secondary Sources
05:31 Research Questions & Keywords
06:48 Search Strategies: Truncation
07:56 Search Strategies: Phrase Searching
08:46 Search Strategies: Boolean Logic
10:30 Evaluation: CRAAP, WWWWW, SIFT models
13:40 Overview of Demo
14:00 Demo: Library Catalog
17:16 Demo: Databases A-Z, History Subject Section, Infobase, African-American History
19:17 Demo: Opposing Viewpoints
21:50 Demo: Proquest Research Library

 

 

 

Slideshow Used In Video

HIS& 136: U.S. History "Ideas of Freedom: J. Quitadamo Presentation by rhondakwrites

 

Ask A Librarian

                            Ask A Librarian

Mission

The William C. Bonaudi
Library provides 
quiet
study space,
a large and growing
collection of books 

multiple online resources,
and other library services. 

We are committed to meeting
the needs of
BBCC's students,
staff, faculty, and those 

living within the
Big Bend Community College
service district.

 

Contact

 

 509-793-2350

Toll Free: 877-745-1212 x2350
librarymail@bigbend.edu

Building:

 1800/Library & GCATEC

Physical Address:
 
7611 Bolling St.


M
ailing 
Address: 
William C. 
Bonaudi Library, 
7662 Chanute St.
 
Moses Lake, WA 98837


 

Our Team

Library and eLearning Director:
Tim Fuhrman

Librarian: 
Rhonda Kitchens

eLearning Coordinator, Librarian:
Mattias 
Olshausen

Program Assistant, and Purchasing:
Cassandra Torres
Library Systems Specialist
John Anderson
Cataloging, Interlibrary Loan
Teresa Sweeney

 

 About

Facebook

Blog

Feedback