Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Big Bend Community College William C. Bonaudui LibraryStudent Kiosk Big Bend Community College Logo Big Bend email Viking Portal access Password Help Canvas

PHIL 340: Professional Ethics | Nonprofit Research : Home

Quick Links

Home Library Catalog Databases A-Z About Hours
 

Nonprofit Research

 

Suggested Approaches to Nonprofit Research

 

OVerviewQuick overview of how to use this page

There are many ways to approach nonprofit research. This is a list of ideas with accompanying videos.

If you need more assistance or detail, reach out to your Librarian, RhondaK@bigbend.edu

1) Guidestar & Tax Information at State and Federal Level

2) Website Elements to Look for on Organization Website

3) Newsbank and Academic Search Complete : Research News and Magazine Articles 

4) Google Strategies to Delve into Reputation and Works Including Social Media - Google Advanced

 

 

Guidestar & Tax Information at State and Federal Level

GuideStar

Find 990s, board demographics, operations, some financials, and more. Use this sign-in for GuideStar unless you wish to create an account. 
rhondak@bigbend.edu
BBcc_12345

Play GuideStar OVerviewGuideStar Video Introduction. 

 

Charity Navigator 


Ratings for nonprofits including accountability and transparency metrics.
Play GuideStar OVerviewQuick Demo of Charity Navigator

 

IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search Tool


Includes 990s, determination letters, pub. 78 data, and automatic revocation of exemption list. This is slim information that may be repeated elsewhere.

Play GuideStar OVerviewHow to use IRS search tool.

Washington Corporations and Charities Filing System

These exist in all states. This one has articles of incorporation, annual reports, notices, and states the status of the entity. 

Play GuideStar OVerviewOverview of Washington State Nonprofit Organization Search 

 

Website Elements to Look for on Organization Website

Sections to Review on an Organization's Website

1) About | Mission statement | Activities Funded

2) Financials & Accountability Statements | Transparency

3) Boards of Directors | Administration | Governance

4) Fundraising Events

5) Contact

6) Processes 

7) Currency 

/td>

 

Newsbank and Academic Search Complete : Research News and Magazine Articles

 

 

Newsbank & Proquest

 

Newsbank is a database of full-text international databases.

Proquest is a database containing scholarly articles, press releases, reports, eBooks, videos, and newspaper and magazine articles. 

Think of keywords: awards, scandal, ethics, value, "board of directors"

 

Google Strategies to Delve into Reputation and Works Including Social Media - Google Advanced

Mission

The William C. Bonaudi
Library provides 
quiet
study space,
a large and growing
collection of books 

multiple online resources,
and other library services. 

We are committed to meeting
the needs of
BBCC's students,
staff, faculty, and those 

living within the
Big Bend Community College
service district.

 

Contact

 

 509-793-2350

Toll Free: 877-745-1212 x2350
librarymail@bigbend.edu

Building:

 1800/Library & GCATEC

Physical Address:
 
7611 Bolling St.


M
ailing 
Address: 
William C. 
Bonaudi Library, 
7662 Chanute St.
 
Moses Lake, WA 98837

Reserve Computer Lab 1801 or 1802
 

Our Team

Library and eLearning Director:
Tim Fuhrman


Faculty Librarian: 
Rhonda Kitchens


eLearning Coordinator, Librarian:
Geri Hopkins 


Program Assistant, and Purchasing:

Cassandra Torres

Library Systems Specialist

Amanda Miller

Cataloging, Interlibrary Loan
Teresa Sweeney