About the William C. Bonaudi Library: Home

The William C. Bonaudi Library opened January 3, 2005. It offers 27,000 square feet of space, provides study and lounge seating areas, study rooms, over 150 computer terminals in addition to free WIFI access, two computer labs, numerous stacks of books, and electronic resources for online and on-campus access. The Writing Center and Career Services also currently share this location. On Feb. 17, 2014, the library was named for Dr. Bonaudi, the college’s longest-serving president to date, who provided the vision and led the fundraising efforts for the Grant County Advanced Technologies Education Center (ATEC), which includes the library.

The Bonaudi Library's primary purpose is to support the educational mission of the college by providing access to information resources as well as instruction and assistance in the research process.  The library also serves as a cultural and educational resource for the surrounding community.  We welcome your use of the library and encourage you to become familiar with the library's resources, services, and policies.
WAC 132R-150-010

Please ask us questions…we are here to help you with your information needs!
Hours of Operation & Staff  |   509.793.2350 | eMail the Library 
24/7 Ask a Librarian (Chat) right side of any library web page.
 

eLEARNING

The eLearning office is in the library. Contact us for help with Canvas (BBCC’s online learning system), Panopto, and other online learning questions. E-mail eLearningAdmin@bigbend.edu or click “Help” in Canvas to report problems. Be as specific as possible: which class, its location on the class site, and any details that may help. We are always happy to help and will get back to you as soon as possible.


LIBRARY COLLECTIONS

• NEW Browsing collections focused on: Gender and Sexuality, Hispanic culture, Wellness
• Textbooks & Technology (Textbooks for some classes and in limited numbers) plus laptops etc. that can be checked out for the quarter!
• more than 35,000 books covering a wide range of subjects are available for checkout
• a variety of current magazines and journals, plus access to thousands of full-text titles online
• local & national newspapers, plus WA state, national, & alternative press papers via ProQuest
• the library subscribes to a variety of online resources & databases, including eBooks, all are accessible from off-campus with a BBCC log-in
• documentaries, movies, records, & music CDs
• Young Adult (YA) & children’s books collections
• microfilm of the Columbia Basin Herald 1967-2018
• Pacific Northwest History (PNW) collection
• Students can check out tech such as laptops, graphing calculators, webcams, rolling monitors, headphones, phone chargers, digital mics, document cameras, mice, wired keyboards as well as bluetooth keyboards (for tablets or cellphones), and USB DVD/CD players. 
  
  Collection Development Policy |  Donations Policy & Form : WAC 132r-150-060 Gifts | Request for Reconsideration Form

---

SERVICES

All-in-One Searching – Primo allows users to search the online catalog, books, eBooks, DVDs, CDs, plus our online resources and databases.  
 

Help - Our librarians are trained to help you navigate information and find what you need. Ask us for help! 

24/7 Reference Online – Click on the “Ask A Librarian” tab located on the right on any Bonaudi Library web page to chat with a librarian, any time anywhere.  Note: Bonaudi library staff are only available during the days and times posted here.

Reserves - Instructors may place items on reserve at the Circulation Desk for limited checkout or library use only.

ID Cards for Staff, Students, and Gym Passes
 

Interlibrary Loans (ILL) - The library will borrow materials from other libraries for your use. Ask for help!

Media Viewing is available in the study rooms, the library’s computers, and via large portable monitors, which are also great for practicing presentations.  Headphones are also available.
 
Scanning - The library’s copy machine also allows for scanning to thumb drives or BBCC email accounts.
 
Printing – Printing Policy  AP8065
BBCC students receive a complimentary deposit for printing each quarter and access the account with their network login and password. Other users need to create guest accounts.

Funds can be added at the printing kiosk in the library (cash only) or the Business Office (credit or debit card).   

    Black & White (single or double-sided)…...10¢ per page  
    Color (single or double-sided)……..…..……30¢ per page

Photocopies (not available via the printing system)

    Black & White (single or double-sided)…...10¢ per side
    Color (single or double-sided)…….…….... 30¢ per side
    Scan to email or thumb drive…………….free

---

CIRCULATION OF MATERIALS

Borrowing Privileges  WAC 132R-150-070 Library borrowers.
All users are required to fill out and sign the College's Departmental Borrowing Agreement:
English (online & mobile friendly) Fill it out now and we will provide a copy to sign when you arrive!
       Other options: PDF
en Español (en linea y mobile friendly) Llena y firmas cuando llegas.
        Otros optiociones: en Español (PDF) 

in Ukrainian and Russian (PDF)
 

NOTE: Running Start and Open Doors students under the age of 18, unless emancipated, cannot sign this form. It will need to be signed by a parent or legal guardian. Running Start students can do a one-time check out of up to three items until a signed form is returned. 

Click here to request Library Pickup (or mailing) services for textbooks, laptops, print jobs, etc.

BBCC students can use their ID cards to borrow up to 15 items at one time. 

The library also lends to anyone residing within the college’s service district but limits checkout to five (5) items as one time. To establish borrowing privileges non-BBCC users users must provide picture ID, proof of local address, and fill out the borrowing agreement. 

Library users under the age of 18, unless they are Running Start students, must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian at all times.  Library Policy | BBCC Administrative Policy 7100  

Loan Periods
Laptops, Tech, & Textbooks..............End of the Quarter
Books, magazines*, DVDs, & CDs.... End of the Quarter          
Reference & Reserve………………..varies
* The newest issues are not available for checkout

The library will copy 10 pages from current magazines or reference items that can not be checked out at no charge.  

Renewals may be requested and will be granted if at all possible with the new due date determined by the library. Renewals will not be granted for items being sent to collection.  Laptops and textbooks can be renewed if you are enrolled for the following quarter but cannot be kept over the summer break.

Overdues, Fines, and Fees
The library may charge overdue fees for late items. 

Items lost or returned but deemed beyond repair are billed at a cost determined by the library plus processing fees.  Fees are also charged for items deemed damaged but usable or repairable.

Overdue items or unpaid library fees or fines will result in a hold on registration, grades, and transcripts as well the suspension of borrowing privileges.

Accounts with materials overdue for two months or more are sent to an agency for collection.

---

ANIMALS IN THE LIBRARY - [AP8350 Service Animals on Campus | AP8400 Pets on Campus]
The library complies with federal and state laws related to service animals, however pets are not permitted in the library.

 

ASSISTIVE TECHNOLOGIES

It is the library's goal to serve all users to the best of our ability and in compliance with ADA regulations.

If you need accommodation or assistance of any kind please notify a library staff member. We will gladly assist you in identifying and utilizing the proper equipment or resource to meet your needs.

---

COMPUTERS & ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

All terminals have access to the Internet, licensed databases, the Microsoft Office Suite, and are available for public and student use. Student research has priority on all computers at all times.
 

The library requires all users to comply with its computer use policy and the college’s policy, both of which are available on the campus web site. Failure to adhere to these policies may result in loss of privileges.

The 1800 Building offers free wireless internet access (BigBend_Public). No password is required.

FOOD AND DRINK, ETC. - While the library generally does not enforce limitations on food, beverages, and other possible activities or actions, if they are deemed detrimental to the library's purpose it does have the right, and may choose to enforce those limitations.  WAC 132R-150-040 Prohibited entry

SMOKING is prohibited in all college buildings WAC 32R-150-050


STUDY SPACES

The library offers a variety of study spaces from individual carrels to study rooms of varying sizes. Study rooms can fit four to eight but larger configurations are available on request. All rooms include whiteboards and most have media viewing capabilities. While quieter, the rooms are not soundproof, please be respectful of your neighbors, erase the whiteboards, and leave the room as clean as possible for the next user. The rooms are currently available on a first-come-first-served basis but we are looking into scheduling them.

---