ONE: There are a few databases that only have full-text articles. Opposing Viewpoints, Students Resources in Context, Global Issues, and eBooks are a few. If you want to only search those databases, use the links below. These databases are curated for your success and what you see is what you get. The added bonus of using the eBook database is that you can search full text and access a book at 2am on a Sunday.
TWO: Sometimes the issue isn't that there isn't full text, it is just that the selected resource may be a brief or review that isn't more than a paragraph or two long. This issue can be managed when looking at search results. You can tell from search results what article or resource is more substantial. Never mistake an abstract for full text.
Look at the example below. These search results from Opposing Viewpoints have word counts. This database also states something is "brief." These search results from Proquest only have one number. This means the article is less than a page. Look for articles that are 16-20 or 126-136. This means multiple pages.
THREE: The Library Catalog / PRIMO one search sometimes does not resolve into showing something is full text. Ask your Librarian for help. This sometimes indicates that the library needs to update its records. Your Librarian may also be able to identify another way to locate the article or resource.
Librarian: Rhonda Kitchens
FOUR: Identify the journal name and use the Journal Search on the Library Catalog. To determine if the Library has a journal available in full text, use the Journals Search on the Library Catalog. It is just above the search bar. The Journals Search is also located on the first page of the Library website under Research.
FIVE: Sometimes the Library genuinely does not have access to the full-text of an article or resource. In that case, you may ask for it via Interlibrary Loan. Allow time for this service. Follow the procedure here.
BONUS: Set Google Scholar to search for our Library Resources. Go to Google Scholar. On the left, select the pancake button or the gear button. The pancake button has a list of options including settings. The gear button is the settings link. Browsers differ. However, the item you are looking for is settings. Select Library Links. Type in Big Bend Community College. Allow the default for World Catalog to remain. DO NOT click on the title of the article. Instead, look to the right-hand side where the full-text links are located. If you select the title, you will go to the paywall. If you choose the links to the right, in most cases you will go to the full text of the resource.
The William C. Bonaudi
Library and eLearning Director: