LibGuides: Research Help: Home

Most Popular Guides

Class Guides
If you have research projects and would like to collaborate or solicit support, I would like to add that to the Classes section of library website. Accreditation: Library integration
How to Identify Scholarly Articles
This provides and shows the sections that make up a scholarly research article. A video is provided for an overview. Also, links to key databases for academic level research.
Library Orientations & Webinars
if you provide extra credit, students attend. Webinars can be customized. We keep recordings. Webinars are two times a week on a Tuesday morning and Wednesday night. Librarians will also make one on one appointments with students.
Tutorials
How to find a book, how to use Proquest, and more.
CITATION and PLAGIARISM
Everything you need to correctly site sources and avoid plagiarism

Evaluating Research

Evaluating Research:

CRAAP Test

Identifying a Scholarly Article

Research Help

Literary Criticisms - ENG 102

These resources are strong for book reviews, summaries, and analysis of literature including short stories, books, plays, and poems.

Poetry & Short Story Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Poetry & Short Story Reference Center is a rich full-text database of hundreds of thousands of classic and contemporary poems, plus thousands of short stories, biographies, essays, lesson plans and learning guides. It also includes high-quality videos and audio recordings from the Academy of American Poets and other sources.
Literature & Language : Research Library This link opens in a new window
Covers literature based topics: authors, criticism, literary works, and reference

Newspapers & Popular Magazines

Secondary and current non-academic sources for topics and speeches. Most items in these databases are not scholarly or peer reviewed.

NEWSBANK: Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Find global information on topics related to business, economics, education, government, health, international studies, politics, science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content. Music
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
New York Times 1980 to Present This link opens in a new window
Newspaper of record. Full text coverage: ISSN: 0362-4331‎
SIRS Discoverer This link opens in a new window
An easy to use multidisciplinary database for elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas content sets such as current events, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. All newspaper, magazine and reference content is 100% full text, editorially-selected and indexed from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality domestic and international sources. The collection includes 9,000 integrated educational weblinks, and reference materials such as the Compton’s by Britannica encyclopedia and DK Eyewitness books.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for public libraries, this database provides full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents. It also includes an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.

Statistics

Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
From the U.S. Department of Labor
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

Statistical Abstracts of the United States (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Research Help: Home

Quick Links

Most Popular Guides

Evaluating Research

Evaluating Research:

CRAAP Test

Identifying a Scholarly Article

Research Help

Literary Criticisms - ENG 102

Newspapers & Popular Magazines

Statistics

Statistics

Mission

Contact

509-793-2350

Toll Free: 877-745-1212 x2350

librarymail@bigbend.edu

Building:
1800/Library & GCATEC

Physical Address:
7611 Bolling St.

Mailing Address:
William C. Bonaudi Library,
7662 Chanute St.
Moses Lake, WA 98837

Reserve Computer Lab 1801 or 1802

Our Team

Research Help: Home

Quick Links

Most Popular Guides

Evaluating Research

Evaluating Research:

CRAAP Test

Identifying a Scholarly Article

Research Help

Literary Criticisms - ENG 102

Newspapers & Popular Magazines

Statistics

Statistics

Mission

Contact

509-793-2350 Toll Free: 877-745-1212 x2350

librarymail@bigbend.edu Building: 1800/Library & GCATEC Physical Address: 7611 Bolling St. Mailing Address: William C. Bonaudi Library, 7662 Chanute St. Moses Lake, WA 98837

Reserve Computer Lab 1801 or 1802

Our Team

509-793-2350

Toll Free: 877-745-1212 x2350

librarymail@bigbend.edu

Building:
1800/Library & GCATEC

Physical Address:
7611 Bolling St.

Mailing Address:
William C. Bonaudi Library,
7662 Chanute St.
Moses Lake, WA 98837