UNGoogle

The zoom link is:  https://bigbend.zoom.us/my/rhondak
Also on Facebook Live: https://www.facebook.com/bbcclibrary/  

QUESTIONS 

"artificial intelligence" art ethics

Best roads between yellow springs OH and Wilmington De

Which countries are facing the greatest famine

Wikipedia
List of search engines, their specialty, languages used, and provenance.

Wikipedia
Comparison of Search engines using tables using independent crawlers, owner, questions, digital rights, privacy. tracking, surveillance and more. 

THE THREE BIGS

Google
83% more people use Google than any other search engine. 

Bing
Microsoft affiliated. Has natural language ability. More visual. 

DuckDuckGo
Touts privacy. 

The 8 Best Search Engines of 2024: While you could use Google to find other search engines, here are the ones we think are arguably better
A well organized comparison article with excellent highlights.
 

• Privacy oriented i Alternatives

  • DuckDuckGo

  • Startpage - It provides Google search results without tracking, combining Google's search power with enhanced privacy. /Netherlands

  • Brave Search - privacy and speed. Has it's own index. It isn't impacted by search history. 

  • Qwant - France. Uses Bing  to deliver results but uses its own independent systems. Close partner of Microsoft and has Bin adds. “the search engine that doesn't know anything about you.” 

  • SwissCows - Anonymous search engine that is family friendly. Switzerland. “technology is built in such a way that the storage of user data is not even possible.” However, it has Microsoft ads embedded in search results. 
    Charity Project This is the number of your SwissCows searches. On average, 50 search queries finance a children's meal.

  • Giburu - does not track IP addresses, record searches or place cookies for advertisers. Delivers search results that doesn't always show on Google.
     

• Eco-Friendly and Socially Responsible Options

  • Ecosia - plants TREES! 

  • Yep - gives 90% of ad revenue to content creators. 

• International Search Engines

  • Yandex

  • Baidu

• Niche Search Engines: Specialized Tools for Specific Needs

  • CC Search

  • Boardreader

  • WolframAlpha

• Metasearch Engines: Aggregating Results from Multiple Sources

  • Dogpiel

  • Startpage

  • SearX

  •  

• Decentalized
  • Presearch. It's decentralized and it has a nice UI where you can select alternative search engines to you can instantly check another search engine (or site) with the same query.

AI Based Search Engine

You.com - has AI assistant. Does have a private mode and personal. Relies on Bing, Imagine for AI image generation, and YouWrite text generation. 

Perplexity.ai - Just doesn't list web page and cites sources. It has a smart assistant named Copilot. Natural language ability

Komo - speed and privacy, interactive with follow up question (though...don't they all?) Google Search Generative Experience (SGE). (not rolled out yet in the Labs part of Google)  SGE is available visible on mobile

Notes in progress

1. SearX: This one's unique from the previous two, in that it's actually a "meta-search" engine that combines/ amalgamates the results of Google and Bing's web crawlers, then re-prioritizes them accordingly.

2. Brave: Kind of an outlier here, Bing is a relative newcomer to the scene, being only a few years old. They have both a browser and a search engine. What separates them from the competition, is apparently they're crafting their own independent web results/ crawler, completely separate from Google or Bing. Not sure if they've fully accomplished this by now. They and Duckduckgo are the names I hear come up the most when jt comes to un-censored search results and privacy/ tracking-free.

   1. Like Brave?  

MOJEEK?

How to keep up?

Teachcrunch.com

The zoom link is:  https://bigbend.zoom.us/my/rhondak
Also on Facebook Live: https://www.facebook.com/bbcclibrary/  

Researching The Research 

Source evaluation in research is not a passive activity.  It also requires research and critical thinking. This three lens of information evaluation require that you look at research critically - with research.

SUGGESTED RESEARCH FOR ACADEMIC ARTICLES

Google Search  - Search for information on authors, researchers and/or organization. Search titles of journals, newspapers, and magazines. Read their about statements and mission. Do you find a scandal, retractions, or fact checks related to the authors, publishers, or title of source?

Look at this Google basic search:

"Prenatal Cocaine Exposure Upregulates BDNF-TrkB Signaling" AND retraction.

Google Scholar - Use a title search to find how many times a scholarly article has been cited. Look at the works that cited your source. Do you see a pattern or anything interesting? 

For the retracted article in Google Scholar despite the easy to find retraction it has been cited 20x since 2016.

If we look at all 12 versions of it, we see it lives on Academia.edu. Gale, CUNY's Academic Works, Harvard, and EBSCO. Two of those are library databases. Two of those are well known university's academic repositories.

Google Scholar Metrics . - Use to search the ratings of a scholarly journal.  A scholarly article in a journal with higher metrics is considered to have more authority.

PLOS ONE statistics and details on Google Metrics.

• • h5-index:212
  • h5-median:294

• • #7 Life Sciences & Earth Sciences (general)
  • #8 Health & Medical Sciences (general)
  • #10 Life Sciences & Earth Sciences
  • #10 Health & Medical Sciences

Retraction Watch. - If research or a scholarly article has been found to be wrong, that information is not found in the article you may have found. Check the title, author(s), and title of scholarly article in this database to see if the paper was retracted. Search their database here. 

How to use the Retraction Watch database to search titles and also authors:

Paperity - Useful for finding news, reviews, letters to the editor, and other information about author(s), journals, organizations, and articles. 

Semantic Scholar.- This is an AI powered research tool for scientific literature. It has a more detailed citation analysis than Google Scholar. It shows hidden connections between research. 

NON-ACADEMIC SOURCES

Does the article cite information from other sources? If so, look them up using Google. 

Search for article, author, and title if available. 
Check the context of the information when you find it. 
Does that author cite other information? Review links or search for that information.
Find where the original information exists. Sometimes information and facts may shift when handled by multiple entities. 
Read laterally, that is, search for other sources of the same information. Look for higher quality platforms and outlets. 

This fast practical Buzzfeed fact checker video shows some of these methods.

Media Bias Check Sources. - This is an article describing different ways to find bias in newspapers, magazine articles, and other platforms. 

Search Politifact, home of the Truth-O-Meter. 

Look at Snopes.  In their 20 years, they have become a well regarded go to source for all types of internet truths and untruths. They also show their work. 

Factcheck.org works on statements make in the political sphere. One of their main ways of tracking down information besides transcripts and videos is to contact people. They rely on primary sources. 

RAND has a detailed list of fact verifications including video tools. 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is one of the most assigned, most suggested, and most used databases.

Why?

And did you know there are six other databases in the series?  If you know how to use Opposing Viewpoints, you also will have no problem with:

Global Issues in Context

Biography in Context

Science in Context

Student Resources in Context

U.S. History in Context

World History in Context

This is a ten-minute overview of how to find the library, where to find
Opposing viewpoints, how to use it, and more.

This database is hand curated for your success. 

Get a live, online orientation to Canvas.  Ask questions. Attend more than one. Find support. 

Canvas training will be offered in the form of Zoom webinars this term. Each of these will consist of a one-hour session on the basics of Canvas, including how to change your personal settings, how to navigate your courses, how to communicate within Canvas, and other key aspects of the platform. Here is the schedule:

March 31 - 10-11am (Mattias Olshausen, eLearning Coordinator): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/178343018 

March 31 - 2-3pm (Jenn de Leon, Advising Coordinator): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/223242690 

April 2 - 10-11am (Mattias Olshausen): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/155265487 

April 7 - 10-11am (Mattias Olshausen): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/971201677 

April 7 - 2-3pm (Jenn de Leon): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/657252558 

April 9 - 10-11am (Mattias Olshausen): https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/801370026

To join one of these webinars at the listed time, copy and paste the appropriate link above into your browser. If you have any questions about what will be covered, please contact Mattias Olshausen at elearningadmin@bigbend.edu

The library is available to students 23/4/7 365!

• Use Databases A-Z.

• Read eBooks.

• Ask a Librarian for help! Use tab that is available on every Library website page!
   

Emerging Technology: Five New Tools to Try

A live introduction to educational emerging technology.  Have some to share? Please do! Great for education students, staff, and faculty. 

ThingLink

Example: https://libguides.bigbend.edu/Scholarly_Articles

​Scrumblr

Example:  https://libguides.bigbend.edu/ENG_101_Gutierrez_databases

Google forms to Visualizations or Spreadsheets

Google.com – Sign In – Google Drive

Screencast-o-matic

Canva

Example:  https://libguides.bigbend.edu

HERE: Share Book and Book Talk

REFERENCES:

"2.5 times less likely to develop Alzheimer’s"
"...reading reduces stress by 68 percent"
Book and Reading Statistics

Leads to Clarity & Clear Thinking
Opening the Closed Mind: The Effect of Exposure to Literature on the Need for Closure

Be Resourceful
Goal Setting is Linked to Higher Achievement

Builds Resilience
5 Steps to a More Resilient You

ONE:  Add our Wednesday Webinars to your announcements. These include basic orientations and library resource overviews. 

 They are PJs OK!  

TWO:  Add Librarian contact information:  RhondaK@Bigbend.edu

THREE:  Are your student's having a hard time finding full text?  Have them ASK A LIBRARIAN.  Add Library contact information to assignments that require research.  

FOUR:  Ask the Library to create a guide for your specific assignment.  We can create a webpage with step by step directions. We can add video instruction. Let's collaborate or simply let us know how to help.  SEE: https://libguides.bigbend.edu/ENG101_Ernette

FIVE:  Ask the Librarian to create a video demonstration of a database you want your students to use that you can use in announcements, emails, or in course assignment directions. 

SUBMIT BOOKS TALK
Read Book Talks In Comments Below

New Year's Resolution:  Read a Book a Month in 2020

Take the William C. Benaudi Library New Year Challenge and read a book a month in 2020.

The benefits of reading are powerful. Reading can boost intelligence and increase empathy.  

Read a book or poems, true crime, philosophy, and even tap into our eBook collection. Visit our New Books section in the Library and pick something random or interesting. 

We will be posting book talks and recommendations on the 25th of each month on our Facebook page.  Jump in any time!  

How Do I Join In? 

1) As you read a book a month - add them to this form.  

2) If you follow us on Facebook, look for the end of the month call for book discussion. If you filled out this form, we will send you a reminder.  I will also add reviews to this comment section. 

3) The New Years Resolution Link will be on the Library's Home Page in the middle section under Events|Services|Forms. See below. So you will be able to find the form through out the year.

#BigBendCCBookChallenge

From Astronomy to Zoology, this database has it all.  

One of the key ways of managing this large, complex database is to select Full-text in the search.  Many students think the entire database is full-text like Opposing Viewpoints or eBooks.  

It isn't. 

On the search results page, Proquest gives you more options.  If you forgot to select Full-Text, you have another shot to do so.  You may also limit your search to scholarly articles and other formats.  If you need to limit to a more current article or change the dates of the articles, the left-hand side provides an opportunity to do so. 

When you select a title, Proquest provides fantastic research support.

ONE:  Title and citation elements. Authors are linked so that their other works may be found in the database. This usually contains the Digital Object Identifier (DOI).

TWO: Full-text of the article. Download or email as needed.

THREE: The Cite button provides a citation for MLA 8, APA 6, and APA 7 will be coming. 

FOUR: Related Items contain articles that are available on a similar topic. 

Most databases have Cite or Citation assistance.  Make sure to copy and correct the suggestion.  Make sure the citation is in the format your professor requires.  There's usually a drop-down box that allows selection. 

ONE:  Dropdown box. Make sure to choose the correct citation style and edition. 

TWO:  Make sure to check the citation for accuracy. It is rare that a database provided citation is 100% correct.  Use the guides on Purdue Online Writing Lab. (OWL).

The rule is copy and correct. Do not copy and paste. 

Big Bend Community College William C. Bonaudi Library invites you to attend our Wednesday Webinars. PJs are OK! Login as you are.

The Library is beginning weekly online webinars about Library and Research topics. All students and faculty are welcome to attend these small size online presentations.

Ask questions and interact with your Librarian from the comfort of your own home or wherever you are.

DATES AND TOPICS:

November 13
Library Orientation

November 20
Databases A-Z

December 4
Library Orientation

December 11|
Google :  Advanced Search and Google Scholar

REGISTER

Register for a reminder and to have presentation materials emailed to you:
https://forms.gle/HrVDLDM7DsMiZLCM8

OR SIGN IN AT 6:30PM DAY OF WEBINAR

Or sign in at 6:30pm:
https://bigbend.zoom.us/j/685047380