Browsing Books

The Gender, Sexuality, & Gender browsing collection contains nonfiction and fiction including literary works. It primarily covers sexual minorities and current works on gender and identity from the library's larger collection HQ collections on part of section 12 and an entire side of section 13. The collection also contains memoirs, fiction, graphic novels, children's books, and personal narratives. It is refreshed with new and requested works from time to time. This collection does not contain all of the library's print collection on these topics. Use the Library catalog to search for other resources. See also the library's vast collections of eBook s and databases.

Located in Row 28 facing the windows.

Suggestions for the library's collections can be made here.

TITLES IN THE BROWSING COLLECTION

Gender, Sexuality, & Identity Browsing Collection January 24, 2023
List of holdings.

Highlights from Collection...

The ABC's of LGBT+ by Ashley Mardell
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 73 M37 2016
ISBN: 9781633534094
Publication Date: 2016-11-08
Seeking a Deeper Understanding of Gender Identity? "Ash Hardell's The ABC's of LGBT+ serves as a powerful tool for those that might be questioning their own identity, as well as for those seeking a deeper knowledge...." ―Everyone Is Gay #1 Best Seller in Transgender Studies, Bisexuality, and Sexuality & Pregnancy The ABCs of LGBT+ is a #1 Bestselling LGBT book and is essential reading for questioning teens, teachers or parents looking for advice, or anyone who wants to learn how to talk about gender identity. Ash Hardell (formerly Ashley Mardell), a beloved blogger and YouTube star, answers your questions about: LGBT and LGBT+ Gender identity Gender dysphoria Teens in a binary world The LGBT family And more Understanding gender identity and gender dysphoria. The 21st Century has seen very positive movement for LGBT+ rights. The overturning of DOMA, the SCOTUS ruling in favor of the Marriage Equality Act, American transgender politicians elected to office, and landmark moments such as Apple becoming the most valuable company in the world under the leadership of an openly gay CEO have advanced LGBT awareness and understanding. The trusted voice of Ash Hardell. We are living in a post-binary world where gender fluency and awareness of gender identity and a real understanding of our LGBT family is essential. Ash Hardell, one of the most trusted voices on YouTube, presents a detailed look at all things LGBT+ in this remarkable book. Along with in-depth definitions, personal anecdotes, helpful infographics, resources, and more; Hardell's LGBT book is proof it does get better every day in a world where people are empowered by information and understanding. If you have liked books such as Queer, 2nd Edition; You and Your Gender Identity; This Book is Gay; or This Is a Book for Parents of Gay Kids, you will love The ABC's of LGBT+ by Ash Hardell.
Annie on My Mind by Nancy Garden
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; PS 374 H63 G76 1992
ISBN: 9780374404147
Publication Date: 1992-09-01
Liza never knew that falling in love could be so wonderful . . . and so confusing. "'Liza,' Mom said, looking into my eyes, 'I want you to tell me the truth, not because I want to pry, but because I have to know. This could get very unpleasant . . . Now--have you and Annie--done any more than the usual experimenting . . . ' 'No, Mom,' I said, trying to look back at her calmly. I'm not proud of it, I make no excuses--I lied to her."
Arresting Dress by Clare Sears
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 77.2 U6 S43 2015
ISBN: 9780822357582
Publication Date: 2014-12-26
In 1863, San Francisco's Board of Supervisors passed a law that criminalized appearing in public in "a dress not belonging to his or her sex." Adopted as part of a broader anti-indecency campaign, the cross-dressing law became a flexible tool for policing multiple gender transgressions, facilitating over one hundred arrests before the century's end. Over forty U.S. cities passed similar laws during this time, yet little is known about their emergence, operations, or effects. Grounded in a wealth of archival material, Arresting Dress traces the career of anti-cross-dressing laws from municipal courtrooms and codebooks to newspaper scandals, vaudevillian theater, freak-show performances, and commercial "slumming tours." It shows that the law did not simply police normative gender but actively produced it by creating new definitions of gender normality and abnormality. It also tells the story of the tenacity of those who defied the law, spoke out when sentenced, and articulated different gender possibilities.
Bad Gays by Huw Lemmey; Ben Miller
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 76.25 L45 2022
ISBN: 9781839763274
Publication Date: 2022-05-31
An unconventional history of homosexuality We all remember Oscar Wilde, but who speaks for Bosie? What about those 'bad gays' whose unexemplary lives reveal more than we might expect? Many popular histories seek to establish homosexual heroes, pioneers, and martyrs but, as Huw Lemmey and Ben Miller argue, the past is filled with queer people whose sexualities and dastardly deeds have been overlooked despite their being informative and instructive. Based on the hugely popular podcast series of the same name, Bad Gays asks what we can learn about LGBTQ+ history, sexuality and identity through its villains, failures, and baddies. With characters such as the Emperor Hadrian, anthropologist Margaret Mead and notorious gangster Ronnie Kray, the authors tell the story of how the figure of the white gay man was born, and how he failed. They examine a cast of kings, fascist thugs, artists and debauched bon viveurs. Imperial-era figures Lawrence of Arabia and Roger Casement get a look-in, as do FBI boss J. Edgar Hoover, lawyer Roy Cohn, and architect Philip Johnson. Together these amazing life stories expand and challenge mainstream assumptions about sexual identity: showing that homosexuality itself was an idea that emerged in the nineteenth century, one central to major historical events. Bad Gays is a passionate argument for rethinking gay politics beyond questions of identity, compelling readers to search for solidarity across boundaries.
Barbalien: Red Planet--From the World of Black Hammer by Jeff Lemire; Tate Brombal
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; PN 6728 B276 L46 2021
ISBN: 9781506715803
Publication Date: 2021-05-11
A groundbreaking new sci-fi action series in the world of the Eisner Award-winning Black Hammer universe, about prejudice, honor, and identity. Mark Markz has found his place on Earth as both a decorated police officer and as the beloved superhero, Barbalien. But in the midst of the AIDS crisis, hatred from all sides makes balancing these identities seem impossible--especially when a Martian enemy from the past hunts him down to take him back, dead or alive. Collects Barbalien- Red Planet #1-#5.
Beyond the Gender Binary by Alok Vaid-Menon; Ashley Lukashevsky (Illustrator)
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 18.552 V35 2020
ISBN: 9780593094655
Publication Date: 2020-06-02
Winner of the 2021 In The Margins Award "When reading this book, all I feel is kindness."-- Sam Smith, Grammy and Oscar award-winning singer and songwriter "Thank God we have Alok. And I'm learning a thing or two myself."--Billy Porter, Emmy award-winning actor, singer, and Broadway theater performer "Beyond the Gender Binary will give readers everywhere the feeling that anything is possible within themselves"--Princess Nokia, musician and co-founder of the Smart Girl Club "A fierce, penetrating, and empowering call for change."-- Kirkus Reviews, starred review "An affirming, thoughtful read for all ages." -- School Library Journal, starred review In Beyond the Gender Binary, poet, artist, and LGBTQIA+ rights advocate Alok Vaid-Menon deconstructs, demystifies, and reimagines the gender binary. Pocket Change Collective is a series of small books with big ideas from today's leading activists and artists. In this installment, Beyond the Gender Binary, Alok Vaid-Menon challenges the world to see gender not in black and white, but in full color. Taking from their own experiences as a gender-nonconforming artist, they show us that gender is a malleable and creative form of expression. The only limit is your imagination.
Brown Trans Figurations by Francisco J. Galarte
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 77.95 U6 G454 2021
ISBN: 9781477322130
Publication Date: 2021-01-28
Honorable Mention for the National Women's Studies Association's 2021 Gloria E. Anzaldúa Book Prize 2021 Finalist Best LGBTQ+ Themed Book, International Latino Book Awards 2022 John Leo & Dana Heller Award for Best Single Work, Anthology, Multi-Authored, or Edited Book in LGBTQ Studies, Popular Culture Association Within queer, transgender, and Latinx and Chicanx cultural politics, brown transgender narratives are frequently silenced and erased. Brown trans subjects are treated as deceptive, unnatural, nonexistent, or impossible, their bodies, lives, and material circumstances represented through tropes and used as metaphors. Restoring personhood and agency to these subjects, Francisco J. Galarte advances "brown trans figuration" as a theoretical framework to describe how transness and brownness coexist within the larger queer, trans, and Latinx historical experiences. Brown Trans Figurations presents a collection of representations that reveal the repression of brown trans narratives and make that repression visible and palpable. Galarte examines the violent deaths of two transgender Latinas and the corresponding narratives that emerged about their lives, analyzes the invisibility of brown transmasculinity in Chicana feminist works, and explores how issues such as transgender politics can be imagined as part of Chicanx and Latinx political movements. This book considers the contexts in which brown trans narratives appear, how they circulate, and how they are reproduced in politics, sexual cultures, and racialized economies.
Colonize This! by Daisy Hernández (Editor); Bushra Rehman (Editor)
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 1161 C65 2019
ISBN: 9781580057769
Publication Date: 2019-07-16
Newly revised and updated, this landmark anthology offers gripping portraits of American life as seen through the eyes of young women of color It has been decades since women of color first turned feminism upside down, exposing the feminist movement as exclusive, white, and unaware of the concerns and issues of women of color from around the globe. Since then, key social movements have risen, including Black Lives Matter, transgender rights, and the activism of young undocumented students. Social media has also changed how feminism reaches young women of color, generating connections in all corners of the country. And yet we remain a country divided by race and gender. Now, a new generation of outspoken women of color offer a much-needed fresh dimension to the shape of feminism of the future. In Colonize This!, Daisy Hernandez and Bushra Rehman have collected a diverse, lively group of emerging writers who speak to the strength of community and the influence of color, to borders and divisions, and to the critical issues that need to be addressed to finally reach an era of racial freedom. With prescient and intimate writing, Colonize This! will reach the hearts and minds of readers who care about the experience of being a woman of color, and about establishing a culture that fosters freedom and agency for women of all races.
Gay America by Linas Alsenas
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 76.3 U5 A37 2008
ISBN: 9780810994874
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
Milestones of gay and lesbian life in the United States are brought together in the first-ever nonfiction book published specifically for teens. Profusely illustrated with archival images, the groundbreaking Gay America reveals how gay men and women have lived, worked, and loved for the past 125 years. Gays and lesbians play a very prominent role in American life today, whether grabbing headlines over political gains, starring in and being the subject of movies and television shows, or filling the streets of nearly every major city each year to celebrate Gay Pride. However, this was not always the case, and this book charts their journey along with the history of the country. First touching on colonial times, the book moves on to the Victorian period and beyond, including such historical milestones as the Roaring ’20s, the Kinsey study, the McCarthy witch hunts of the 1950s, the Beat generation, Stonewall, disco, AIDS, and present-day battles over gay marriage. Providing a sense of hope mixed with pride, author Linas Alsenas demonstrates how, within one century, gay women and men have gone from being socially invisible to becoming a political force to be reckoned with and proud members of the American public living openly and honestly. The book includes a bibliography and an index.
The Gay Revolution by Lillian Faderman
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 76.8 U5 F33 2015
ISBN: 9781451694116
Publication Date: 2015-09-08
The fight for gay, lesbian and trans civil rights is the most important civil rights issue of the present day. Based on rigorous research and more than 150 interviews, The Gay Revolution tells this unfinished story not through dry facts but through dramatic accounts of passionate struggles, with all the sweep, depth and intricacies only an award-winning activist, scholar and novelist like Lillian Faderman can evoke. A defining account, this is the most complete and authoritative book of its kind.
Gender and Our Brains by Gina Rippon
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; QP 360.5 R57 2019
ISBN: 9781524747022
Publication Date: 2019-08-27
A breakthrough work in neuroscience--and an incisive corrective to a long history of damaging pseudoscience--that finally debunks the myth that there is a hardwired distinction between male and female brains We live in a gendered world, where we are ceaselessly bombarded by messages about sex and gender. On a daily basis, we face deeply ingrained beliefs that sex determines our skills and preferences, from toys and colors to career choice and salaries. But what does this constant gendering mean for our thoughts, decisions and behavior? And what does it mean for our brains? Drawing on her work as a professor of cognitive neuroimaging, Gina Rippon unpacks the stereotypes that surround us from our earliest moments and shows how these messages mold our ideas of ourselved and even shape our brains. By exploring new, cutting-edge neuroscience, Rippon urges us to move beyond a binary view of the brain and to see instead this complex organ as highly individualized, profoundly adaptable and full of unbounded potential. Rigorous, timely and liberating, Gender and Our Brains has huge implications for women and men, for parents and children, and for how we identify ourselves.
Gender in Cross-Cultural Perspective by Caroline B. Brettell; Carolyn F. Sargent
ISBN: 0135336139
Publication Date: 1996-10-07
This reader introduces students to topics in the field of the anthropology of gender, drawing not only from classic sources but also from the most recent, diverse literature on gender roles and ideology around the world.
The Gender Knot by Allan G. Johnson
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 1075 J64 2005
ISBN: 9781592133833
Publication Date: 2005-04-29
The Gender Knot, Allan Johnson's response to the pain and confusion that men and women experience by living with gender inequality, explains what patriarchy is and isn't, how it works, and what gets in the way of understanding and doing something about it. Johnson's simple yet powerful approach avoids the paralyzing trap of guilt, blame, anger, and defensive denial that often result from conversations about gender. He shows how we all participate in an oppressive system we didn't create and how each of us can contribute towards its dissolution. He argues persuasively that something much better is possible and that our individual choices matter more than we can ever know. This revised, and updated edition features expanded discussions of: * the core characteristics of patriarchy and its power as a social system * the relationship between individuals and social systems * "men's movement" assessments of patriarchy and gender inequality * key--and controversial--terms such as sexism, privilege, and political correctness
Gender Queer: a Memoir by Maia Kobabe
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 77.8 K628 A3 2019
ISBN: 9781549304002
Publication Date: 2019-05-28
2020 ALA Alex Award Winner 2020 Stonewall -- Israel Fishman Non-fiction Award Honor Book In 2014, Maia Kobabe, who uses e/em/eir pronouns, thought that a comic of reading statistics would be the last autobiographical comic e would ever write. At the time, it was the only thing e felt comfortable with strangers knowing about em. Now, Gender Queer is here. Maia's intensely cathartic autobiography charts eir journey of self-identity, which includes the mortification and confusion of adolescent crushes, grappling with how to come out to family and society, bonding with friends over erotic gay fanfiction, and facing the trauma and fundamental violation of pap smears. Started as a way to explain to eir family what it means to be nonbinary and asexual, Gender Queer is more than a personal story: it is a useful and touching guide on gender identity--what it means and how to think about it--for advocates, friends, and humans everywhere. "It's also a great resource for those who identify as nonbinary or asexual as well as for those who know someone who identifies that way and wish to better understand." -- SLJ (starred review)
Girls Like Us by Rachel Lloyd
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 281 L57 2011
ISBN: 9780061582059
Publication Date: 2011-04-05
"Powerfully raw, deeply moving, and utterly authentic. Rachel Lloyd has turned a personal atrocity into triumph and is nothing less than a true hero. . . . Never again will you look at young girls on the street as one of 'those' women--you will only see little girls that are girls just like us." --Demi Moore, actress and activist With the power and verity of First They Killed My Father and A Long Way Gone, Rachel Lloyd's riveting survivor story is the true tale of her hard-won escape from the commercial sex industry and her bold founding of GEMS, New York City's Girls Education and Mentoring Service, to help countless other young girls escape "the life." Lloyd's unflinchingly honest memoir is a powerful and unforgettable story of inhuman abuse, enduring hope, and the promise of redemption.
God and the Gay Christian by Matthew Vines
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; BR 115 H6 V56 2014
ISBN: 9781601425164
Publication Date: 2014-04-22
"God and the Gay Christian is a game changer. Winsome, accessible, and carefully researched, every page is brought to life by the author's clear love for Scripture and deep, persistent faith. With this book, Matthew Vines emerges as one of my generation's most important Christian leaders, not only on matters of sexuality but also on what it means to follow Jesus with wisdom, humility, and grace. Prepare to be challenged and enlightened, provoked and inspired. Read with an open heart and mind, and you are bound to be changed." -- Rachel Held Evans, author of A Year of Biblical Womanhood and Faith Unraveled As a young Christian man, Matthew Vines harbored the same basic hopes of most young people: to someday share his life with someone, to build a family of his own, to give and receive love. But when he realized he was gay, those hopes were called into question. The Bible, he'd been taught, condemned gay relationships. Feeling the tension between his understanding of the Bible and the reality of his same-sex orientation, Vines devoted years of intensive research into what the Bible says about homosexuality. With care and precision, Vines asked questions such as: * Do biblical teachings on the marriage covenant preclude same-sex marriage or not? * How should we apply the teachings of Jesus to the gay debate? * What does the story of Sodom and Gomorrah really say about human relationships? * Can celibacy be a calling when it is mandated, not chosen? * What did Paul have in mind when he warned against same-sex relations? Unique in its affirmation of both an orthodox faith and sexual diversity, God and the Gay Christian is likely to spark heated debate, sincere soul search#65533;ing, even widespread cultural change. Not only is it a compelling interpretation of key biblical texts about same-sex relations, it is also the story of a young man navigating relationships with his family, his hometown church, and the Christian church at large as he expresses what it means to be a faithful gay Christian.
Heartstopper. Volume 3 by Alice Oseman
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; PZ 7.1 O84 H4 2020
ISBN: 1444952773
Publication Date: 2020
Charlie didn't think Nick could ever like him back, but now they're officially boyfriends. Nick's even found the courage to come out to his mum. But coming out isn't just something that happens once - there's Nick's older brother, and a school trip to Paris, not to mention all the other friends and family, and life can be hard, even with someone who loves you by your side. As their feelings get more serious, Charlie and Nick will need each other more than ever before.
Heaven Official's Blessing: Tian Guan Ci Fu (Novel) Vol. 1 by Mo Xiang Mo Xiang Tong Xiu; ZeldaCW (Illustrator); tai3_3 (Cover Design by)
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; PL 2949.7 O49 T5313 2021
ISBN: 9781648279171
Publication Date: 2021-12-14
NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER! The blockbuster danmei/Boys' Love novels from China that inspired the animated series! This epic historical fantasy about a prince and the mysterious man by his side is now in English, for the very first time. Born the crown prince of a prosperous kingdom, Xie Lian was renowned for his beauty, strength, and purity. His years of dedicated study and noble deeds allowed him to ascend to godhood. But those who rise may also fall, and fall he does--cast from the heavens and banished to the world below. Eight hundred years after his mortal life, Xie Lian has ascended to godhood for the third time, angering most of the gods in the process. To repay his debts, he is sent to the Mortal Realm to hunt down violent ghosts and troublemaking spirits who prey on the living. Along his travels, he meets the fascinating and brilliant San Lang, a young man with whom he feels an instant connection. Yet San Lang is clearly more than he appears... What mysteries lie behind that carefree smile? This Chinese xianxia fantasy novel series built around the romanticized love between two men (danmei) is the newest work from author Mo Xiang Tong Xiu, and has spawned an ongoing multimedia franchise that's beloved across the world--including the animated series (donghua) that amassed 100+ million views in just its first month. The Seven Seas English-language edition will include covers from 日出的小太陽 (tai3_3), and exclusive, all-new interior illustrations from ZeldaCW.
Heaven Official's Blessing: Tian Guan Ci Fu (Novel) Vol. 2 by Mo Xiang Mo Xiang Tong Xiu; ZeldaCW (Illustrator); tai3_3 (Cover Design by)
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; PL 2949.7 O49 T5313 2022
ISBN: 9781648279188
Publication Date: 2022-02-15
THE TOUCH OF A HAND, A ROLL OF THE DICE Xie Lian has confirmed that the bewitching youth San Lang is actually Hua Cheng, one of the Four Calamities and a supreme ghost despised by all heavenly officials. Still, he has trouble matching the terror of his companion's reputation with the charming, clever, and protective young man he's come to know. When a distress signal leads Xie Lian into Ghost City, a bustling metropolis containing all the horrors and delights of the dead, he sees Hua Cheng in his element--and his true form--for the first time. But despite their chemistry and care for one another, there are missions to fulfill and secrets to uncover, and Xie Lian's centuries of troubled history are never far behind.
Keeping You a Secret by Julie Anne Peters
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; PZ 7 P441 K4 2005
ISBN: 9780316009850
Publication Date: 2005-05-04
National Book Award finalist Julie Anne Peters delivers a moving, classic love story with a coming out theme and a modern twist. With a steady boyfriend, the position of Student Council President, and a chance to go to an Ivy League college, high school life is just fine for Holland Jaeger. At least, it seems to be. But when Cece Goddard comes to school, everything changes. Cece and Holland have undeniable feelings for each other, but how will others react to their developing relationship? This moving love story between two girls is for fans of Nancy Garden's classic young adult coming out novel, Annie on My Mind. With her characteristic humor and breezy style, Peters has captured the compelling emotions of young love.
The Life and Death of Latisha King by Gayle Salamon
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 77.8 K56 S25 2018
ISBN: 9781479892525
Publication Date: 2018-03-20
What can the killing of a transgender teen can teach us about the violence of misreading gender identity as sexual identity? The Life and Death of Latisha King examines a single incident, the shooting of 15-year-old Latisha King by 14-year-old Brian McInerney in their junior high school classroom in Oxnard, California in 2008. The press coverage of the shooting, as well as the criminal trial that followed, referred to Latisha, assigned male at birth, as Larry. Unpacking the consequences of representing the victim as Larry, a gay boy, instead of Latisha, a trans girl, Gayle Salamon draws on the resources of feminist phenomenology to analyze what happened in the school and at the trial that followed. In building on the phenomenological concepts of anonymity and comportment, Salamon considers how gender functions in the social world and the dangers of being denied anonymity as both a particularizing and dehumanizing act. Salamon offers close readings of the court transcript and the bodily gestures of the participants in the courtroom to illuminate the ways gender and race were both evoked in and expunged from the narrative of the killing. Across court documents and media coverage, Salamon sheds light on the relation between the speakable and unspeakable in the workings of the transphobic imaginary. Interdisciplinary in both scope and method, the book considers the violences visited upon gender-nonconforming bodies that are surveilled and othered, and the contemporary resonances of the Latisha King killing.
Love Makes a Family by Gigi Kaeser (Photographer); Peggy Gillespie (Contribution by); Kath Weston (Introduction by); Minnie Bruce Pratt (Foreword by)
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 76.13 K34 1999
ISBN: 1558491600
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
This volume combines interviews and photographs to document the experiences of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender parents and their children. It allows all of the family members to speak candidly about their lives, their relationships, and the ways in which they have dealt with the pressures of homophobia. Included in the book are people from diverse racial, ethnic, and economic backgrounds, representing a wide range of family structures. Together, they provide clear evidence that family roles and responsibilities need not be based on gender, and that children thrive in an atmosphere in which understanding, respect, and love transcend the prejudices of the day.
Not Just a Tomboy by Caspar Baldwin
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 77.8 B35 B35 2019
ISBN: 9781785924637
Publication Date: 2018-11-21
LONGLISTED FOR THE POLARI FIRST BOOK PRIZE 2019 'Strong, powerful and a valuable resource' - Fox Fisher This is the story of one trans man's exploration of gender identity, set against changing cultural attitudes from the 90s to the present day. Caspar Baldwin grew up in a time when being trans was not widely accepted by society, and though progress has been made since then, trans men are still underrepresented and misunderstood. Grappling with the messy realities of gender expectations while giving a stark and moving account of his own experiences, Baldwin grants a nuanced understanding of what it's like to be a trans boy or man. With its unflinching portrayal of the vulnerability, confusion, dysphoria, empowerment, peace and joy that are all part of the transition process, this book provides an invaluable support for trans men and is a memoir that breaks the mould.
Odd Girls and Twilight Lovers by Lillian Faderman
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 75.6 U5 F33 1991
ISBN: 0231074883
Publication Date: 1991-06-30
As Lillian Faderman writes, there are "no constants with regard to lesbianism," except that lesbians prefer women. In this groundbreaking book, she reclaims the history of lesbian life in twentieth-century America, tracing the evolution of lesbian identity and subcultures from early networks to more recent diverse lifestyles. She draws from journals, unpublished manuscripts, songs, media accounts, novels, medical literature, pop culture artifacts, and oral histories by lesbians of all ages and backgrounds, uncovering a narrative of uncommon depth and originality.
The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; PR 6073 A828 P39 2014
ISBN: 9781594633119
Publication Date: 2014-09-16
It is 1922, and London is tense. Ex-servicemen are disillusioned; the out-of-work and the hungry are demanding change. And in South London, in a genteel Camberwell villa - a large, silent house now bereft of brothers, husband, and even servants - life is about to be transformed as impoverished widow Mrs. Wray and her spinster daughter, Frances, are obliged to take in lodgers. With the arrival of Lilian and Leonard Barber, a modern young couple of the "clerk class,” the routines of the house will be shaken up in unexpected ways. Little do the Wrays know just how profoundly their new tenants will alter the course of Frances’s life - or, as passions mount and frustration gathers, how far-reaching, and how devastating, the disturbances will be. Short-listed for the Man Booker Prize three times, Sarah Waters has earned a reputation as one of our greatest writers of historical fiction, and here she has delivered again. A love story, a tension-filled crime story, and a beautifully atmospheric portrait of a fascinating time and place, The Paying Guests is Sarah Waters’s finest achievement yet.
The Politics of Prostitution by Joyce Outshoorn (Editor)
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 117 P65 2004
ISBN: 9780521540698
Publication Date: 2004-01-08
The most effective way to deal with prostitution has always been hotly debated by governments and women's movements alike. Feminists want it abolished or regulated as sex work; governments have to safeguard public health and order. This book, first published in 2004, shows how women's movements in Western Europe, North America and Australia have affected politics on prostitution and trafficking of women since the 1970s, asking what made them successful in some countries but a failure in others. It also assesses whether government institutions to advance the status of women - so-called women's policy agencies - have played a key role in achieving policy outcomes favourable to movement demands. Written by an international team of experts and based on original sources, all chapters follow the same framework to ensure comparability. The final chapter offers an overall comparison identifying what makes women's movements successful and women's agencies effective, presenting the case for 'state feminism'.
A Positive View of Lgbtq by Riggle/Rostosky
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 73 R54 2012
ISBN: 9781442212817
Publication Date: 2011-12-15
A Positive View of LGBTQ starts a new conversation about the strengths and benefits of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGTBQ) identities. Positive LGBTQ identities are affirmed through inspiring firsthand accounts. Focusing on how LGTBQ-identified individuals can cultivate a sense of wellbeing and a personal identity that allows them to flourish in all areas of life, the authors explore a variety of themes. Through personal stories from people with a variety of backgrounds and gender and sexual identities, readers will learn more about expressing gender and sexuality; creating strong and intimate relationships; exploring unique perspectives on empathy, compassion, and social justice; belonging to communities and acting as role models and mentors; and, enjoying the benefits of living an authentic life. Providing exercises in each chapter, the book offers those who identify as LGBTQ and those who support and love them, as well as those seeking to better understand them, an opportunity to explore and appreciate these identities.
Queering Marriage by Katrina Kimport
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 1034 U5 K56 2014
ISBN: 9780813562216
Publication Date: 2013-11-21
Co-Winner of the 2015 Charles Tilly Award for Best Book of the Collective Behavior and Social Movements section from the American Sociological Association Over four thousand gay and lesbian couples married in the city of San Francisco in 2004. The first large-scale occurrence of legal same-sex marriage, these unions galvanized a movement and reignited the debate about whether same-sex marriage, as some hope, challenges heterosexual privilege or, as others fear, preserves that privilege by assimilating queer couples. In Queering Marriage, Katrina Kimport uses in-depth interviews with participants in the San Francisco weddings to argue that same-sex marriage cannot be understood as simply entrenching or contesting heterosexual privilege. Instead, she contends, these new legally sanctioned relationships can both reinforce as well as disrupt the association of marriage and heterosexuality. During her deeply personal conversations with same-sex spouses, Kimport learned that the majority of respondents did characterize their marriages as an opportunity to contest heterosexual privilege. Yet, in a seeming contradiction, nearly as many also cited their desire for access to the normative benefits of matrimony, including social recognition and legal rights. Kimport's research revealed that the pattern of ascribing meaning to marriage varied by parenthood status and, in turn, by gender. Lesbian parents were more likely to embrace normative meanings for their unions; those who are not parents were more likely to define their relationships as attempts to contest dominant understandings of marriage. By posing the question--can queers "queer" marriage?--Kimport provides a nuanced, accessible, and theoretically grounded framework for understanding the powerful effect of heterosexual expectations on both sexual and social categories.
Rust Belt Femme by Raechel Anne Jolie
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 75.4 J65 A3 2020
ISBN: 9781948742634
Publication Date: 2020-03-10
One of NPR's "Best Books of 2020," and winner of the 2020 Independent Publisher Awards' gold medal for LGBTQ+ nonfiction, Raechel Anne Jolie's blazing memoir is now available in paperback. Raechel Anne Jolie's early life in a working-class Cleveland exurb was full of race cars, Budweiser-drinking men, and the women who loved them. When she was four, her life changed forever when her father came home from work, took the garbage out to the curb, and was hit by a drunk driver, suffering a debilitating brain injury. Rust Belt Femme is the story of her survival. Fearlessly honest, wry, and tender, Jolie digs into both the pain of past traumas and the joy of teenaged discovery to craft a love letter to the brassy, big-haired women who raised her and the 90s alternative culture that shaped her into who she is today: a queer femme with PTSD and a deep love of the Midwest. Personal and political; lyrical and fierce, Rust Belt Femme speaks to anyone who was once a misfit kid trying to find their place in the world.
Sexuality and Socialism by Sherry Wolf
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 76.5 W65 2009
ISBN: 9781931859790
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Sexuality and Socialism is a remarkably accessible analysis of many of the most challenging questions for those concerned with full equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people. Inside are essays on the roots of LGBT oppression, the construction of sexual and gender identities, the history of the gay movement, and how to unite the oppressed and exploited to win sexual liberation for all. Sherry Wolf analyzes different theories about oppression--including those of Marxism, postmodernism, identity politics, and queer theory--and challenges myths about genes, gender, and sexuality. "Sexuality and Socialism is the most intelligent and enlightened discussion on sexuality to come from the Left in a long time. No other work that comes to my mind explains the history of sexuality and sexual repression in the United States as comprehensively and compellingly."--Ron Jacobs,Dissident Voice "Sherry Wolf: Lesbian, Activist, Communist & Badass-ist... spoke to a pre-National Equality March rally. She. Blew. It. Up."--Austin Chronicle "Sherry speaks with such eloquence and plain common sense that I can't help but want to know more about her ideas and convictions."--Derek Washington, "In the LV" radio host, Director of LGBT Outreach, Clark County Democratic Black Caucus "The icons of the new generation of activists are people like Lady Gaga, Dustin Lance Black, Judy Shephard, Lt. Daniel Choi (ret.) and Sherry Wolf (author ofSexuality and Socialism)."--Don Gorton, Join the Impact Board Member "Surprisingly funny, very readable and a fitting tome for a new movement in these troubled times."--Dave Zirin forProgressive's Best Books of 2009 "'What humans have constructed they can tear down.' This is the powerful insight of this rare book that is at once politically important, theoretically and historically sophisticated, and clearly written.Sexuality and Socialism is enlivened in its engagement with a number of controversies, including those over the alleged biological determination of homosexuality, the myth of Black homophobia, and the consequences of postmodernist theories for the politics of gay liberation. Above all else, Wolf puts forward a cogent defense of the Marxist tradition--long and wrongly reviled as homophobic in itself--as a way to explain how LGBT oppression arose and what we can do to put it to bed."--Dana Cloud, University of Texas at Austin Sherry Wolf is the associate editor of the International Socialist Review. She was on the executive committee of the National Equality March Oct. 11, 2009 and has written for publications including theNation,MRZine,Counterpunch,Dissident Voice, andSocialist Worker and speaks frequently across the country on the struggle for LGBT liberation as well as a wide range of social and economic justice issue.
Still Mad by Sandra M. Gilbert; Susan Gubar
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; PS 152 G555 2021
ISBN: 9780393651713
Publication Date: 2021-08-17
Forty years after their first groundbreaking work of feminist literary theory, The Madwoman in the Attic, award-winning collaborators Sandra M. Gilbert and Susan Gubar map the literary history of feminism's second wave.From its stirrings in the midcentury--when Sylvia Plath, Betty Friedan, and Joan Didion found their voices and Diane di Prima, Lorraine Hansberry, and Audre Lorde discovered community in rebellion--to a resurgence in the new millennium in the writings of Alison Bechdel, Claudia Rankine, and N. K. Jemisin, Gilbert and Gubar trace the evolution of feminist literature. They offer lucid, compassionate, and piercing readings of major works by these writers and others, including Adrienne Rich, Ursula K. Le Guin, Maxine Hong Kingston, Susan Sontag, Gloria Anzaldúa, and Toni Morrison. Activists and theorists like Nina Simone, Gloria Steinem, Andrea Dworkin, Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick, and Judith Butler also populate these pages as Gilbert and Gubar examine the overlapping terrain of literature and politics in a comprehensive portrait of an expanding movement.As Gilbert and Gubar chart feminist gains--including creative new forms of protests and changing attitudes toward gender and sexuality--they show how the legacies of second wave feminists, and the misogynistic culture they fought, extend to the present. In doing so, they celebrate the diversity and urgency of women who have turned passionate rage into powerful writing.
Strangers by Graham Robb
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 76.3 E8 R63 2004
ISBN: 9780393326499
Publication Date: 2005-02-17
The nineteenth century was a golden age for those people known variously as sodomites, Uranians, monosexuals, and homosexuals. Long before Stonewall and Gay Pride, there was such a thing as gay culture, and it was recognized throughout Europe and America. Graham Robb, brilliant biographer of Balzac, Hugo, and Rimbaud, examines how homosexuals were treated by society and finds a tale of surprising tolerance. He describes the lives of gay men and women: how they discovered their sexuality and accepted or disguised it; how they came out; how they made contact with like-minded people. He also includes a fascinating investigation of the encrypted homosexuality of such famous nineteenth-century sleuths as Edgar Allan Poe's Auguste Dupin and Sherlock Holmes himself (with glances forward in time to Batman and J. Edgar Hoover). Finally, Strangers addresses crucial questions of gay culture, including the riddle of its relationship to religion: Why were homosexuals created with feelings that the Creator supposedly condemns? This is a landmark work, full of tolerant wisdom, fresh research, and surprises.
Ten Steps to Nanette by Hannah Gadsby
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality PN 3018 G33 A3 2022
ISBN: 9781984819789
Publication Date: 2022-03-29
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * Multi-award-winning Hannah Gadsby broke comedy with her show Nanette when she declared that she was quitting stand-up. Now she takes us through the defining moments in her life that led to the creation of Nanette and her powerful decision to tell the truth--no matter the cost. "Hannah is a Promethean force, a revolutionary talent. This hilarious, touching, and sometimes tragic book is all about where her fires were lit."--Emma Thompson ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: PopSugar, Vulture "There is nothing stronger than a broken woman who has rebuilt herself," Hannah Gadsby declared in her show Nanette, a scorching critique of the way society conducts public debates about marginalized communities. When it premiered on Netflix, it left audiences captivated by her blistering honesty and her singular ability to take them from rolling laughter to devastated silence. Ten Steps to Nanette continues Gadsby's tradition of confounding expectations and norms, properly introducing us to one of the most explosive, formative voices of our time. Gadsby grew up as the youngest of five children in an isolated town in Tasmania, where homosexuality was illegal until 1997. She perceived her childhood as safe and "normal," but as she gained an awareness of her burgeoning queerness, the outside world began to undermine the "vulnerably thin veneer" of her existence. After moving to mainland Australia and receiving a degree in art history, Gadsby found herself adrift, working itinerant jobs and enduring years of isolation punctuated by homophobic and sexual violence. At age twenty-seven, without a home or the ability to imagine her own future, she was urged by a friend to enter a stand-up competition. She won, and so began her career in comedy. Gadsby became well known for her self-deprecating, autobiographical humor that made her the butt of her own jokes. But in 2015, as Australia debated the legality of same-sex marriage, Gadsby started to question this mode of storytelling, beginning work on a show that would become "the most-talked-about, written-about, shared-about comedy act in years" (The New York Times). Harrowing and hilarious, Ten Steps to Nanette traces Gadsby's growth as a queer person, to her ever-evolving relationship with comedy, and her struggle with late-in-life diagnoses of autism and ADHD, finally arriving at the backbone of Nanette: the renouncement of self-deprecation, the rejection of misogyny, and the moral significance of truth-telling.
This Bridge Called My Back Fortie by MORAGA ANZALDUA
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; PS 509 F44 2021
ISBN: 9781438488288
Publication Date: 2021-11-01
Originally released in 1981, This Bridge Called My Back is a testimony to women of color feminism as it emerged in the last quarter of the twentieth century. Through personal essays, criticism, interviews, testimonials, poetry, and visual art, the collection explores, as coeditor Cherríe Moraga writes, "the complex confluence of identities--race, class, gender, and sexuality--systemic to women of color oppression and liberation." Reissued here, forty years after its inception, this anniversary edition contains a new preface by Moraga reflecting on Bridge's "living legacy" and the broader community of women of color activists, writers, and artists whose enduring contributions dovetail with its radical vision. Further features help set the volume's historical context, including an extended introduction by Moraga from the 2015 edition, a statement written by Gloria Anzaldúa in 1983, and visual art produced during the same period by Betye Saar, Ana Mendieta, Yolanda López, and others, curated by their contemporary, artist Celia Herrera Rodríguez. Bridge continues to reflect an evolving definition of feminism, one that can effectively adapt to and help inform an understanding of the changing economic and social conditions of women of color in the United States and throughout the world.
Tomorrow Will Be Different by Sarah McBride; Joe Biden (Foreword by)
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 77.8 M387 A3 2018
ISBN: 9781524761479
Publication Date: 2018-03-06
Sarah McBride is on a mission to fight for transgender rights around the world. But before she was a prominent activist, and before she became the first transgender person to speak at the Democratic National Convention in 2016, she was a teenager struggling with her identity. With emotional depth and unparalleled honesty, Sarah shares her personal struggle with gender identity, coming out to her supportive but distraught parents, and finding her way as a woman. She inspires readers with her barrier-breaking political journey that took her, in just four years, from a frightened, closeted college student to one of the nation's most prominent transgender activists walking the halls of the White House, passing laws, and addressing the country in the midst of a heated presidential election. She also details the heartbreaking romance with her first love and future husband Andy, a trans man and activist, who passed away from cancer in 2014 just days after they were married. Sarah's story of identity, love, and tragic loss serves as a powerful entry point for readers who want to gain a deeper understanding of gender identity and what it means to be openly transgender. From issues like bathroom access to healthcare, identification and schools, Sarah weaves the important political milestones, cultural and political debates, and historical context into a personal journey that will open hearts and change minds. Tomorrow Will Be Different highlights Sarah's work as an activist and the key issues at the forefront of the fight for trans equality, providing a call-to-arms and empowering look at the road ahead. The fight for equality and freedom has only just begun. "We must never be a country that says there's only one way to love, only one way to look, and only one way to live." - Sarah McBride
Transforming by Austen Hartke
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; BR 115 T76 H37 2018
ISBN: 9780664263102
Publication Date: 2018-03-13
In 2014, Timemagazine announced that America had reached the transgender tipping point, suggesting that transgender issues would become the next civil rights frontier. Years later, many peopleeven many LGBTQ alliesstill lack understanding of gender identity and the transgender experience. Into this void, Austen Hartke offers a biblically based, educational, and affirming resource to shed light and wisdom on this modern gender landscape. Transforming: The Bible and the Lives of Transgender Christiansprovides access into an underrepresented and misunderstood community and will change the way readers think about transgender people, faith, and the future of Christianity. By introducing transgender issues and language and providing stories of both biblical characters and real-life narratives from transgender Christians living today, Hartke helps readers visualize a more inclusive Christianity, equipping them with the confidence and tools to change both the church and the world.
Unbearable Weight by Susan Bordo
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 1220 U5 B67 1993
ISBN: 0520079795
Publication Date: 1993-09-07
In this provocative book, Susan Bordo untangles the myths, ideologies, and pathologies of the modern female body. Bordo explores our tortured fascination with food, hunger, desire, and control, and its effects on women's lives.
Unbending Gender by Joan Williams
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HD 4904.25 W55 2001
ISBN: 9780195147148
Publication Date: 2001-09-13
In Unbending Gender, Joan Williams takes a hard look at the state of feminism in America. Concerned by what she finds--young women who flatly refuse to identify themselves as feminists and working-class and minority women who feel the movement hasn't addressed the issues that dominate their daily lives--she outlines a new vision of feminism that calls for workplaces focused on the needs of families and, in divorce cases, recognition of the value of family work and its impact on women's earning power. Williams shows that workplaces are designed around men's bodies and life patterns in ways that discriminate against women, and that the work/family system that results is terrible for men, worse for women, and worst of all for children. She proposes a set of practical policies and legal initiatives to reorganize the two realms of work in employment and households--so that men and women can lead healthier and more productive personal and work lives. Williams introduces a new 'reconstructive' feminism that places class, race, and gender conflicts among women at center stage. Her solution is an inclusive, family-friendly feminism that supports both mothers and fathers as caregivers and as workers.
Unconditional by Telaina Eriksen
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; HQ 759.9145 E75 2017
ISBN: 9781633535152
Publication Date: 2017-04-18
Winner of the Sixth Annual Bisexual Book Award for Non-fiction, 2017Looking for LGBTQ books that offer guidance on providing loving support to your LGBT child? Parents of LGBT children guide: Unconditional: A Guide to Loving and Supporting Your LGBTQ Child provides parents of a LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender or questioning) child with a framework for helping their LGBTQ child navigate through a world that isn't always welcoming. Tips from a mother with experience. Author Telaina Eriksen, a professor at Michigan State University and the mother of a gay daughter, explains what she and her husband have learned through experience, including how to deal with gay children coming out, tips on confronting bullying of gay children, guidance on becoming an advocate for gay children, and advice on building a support system in a gay family.Gender dysphoria and other concerns. Eriksen also covers the science on gender and how to help a transgender child through the various stages of development. Throughout the book parents and kids who have been there, share their stories. She also directs gay family parents to various resources online for help.Inside learn:>How to help your child navigate locker rooms, sleepovers, proms, etc.>When to involve the police or school administration when it comes to bullying>How to advocate for local, state and national policies that protect your child>Ways to educate well-meaning, but misguided extended family members>How to help start a Gay-Straight Alliance at your child?s school>Strategies for keeping your child talking after he or she comes out>Signs of unhealthy relationships>When to consider therapy for your child and/or your family>How to find an LGBTQ-friendly community (including inclusive churches)If you liked books such as the ABCs of LGBT+, This Is a Book for Parents of Gay Kids, A Guide to Gender, or This Book Is Gay, you will want to read Unconditional: A Guide to Loving and Supporting Your LGBTQ Child.
We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
ISBN: 9781101911761
Publication Date: 2015-02-03
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The highly acclaimed, provocative essay on feminism and sexual politics--from the award-winning author of Americanah In this personal, eloquently-argued essay--adapted from the much-admired TEDx talk of the same name--Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie offers readers a unique definition of feminism for the twenty-first century. Drawing extensively on her own experiences and her deep understanding of the often masked realities of sexual politics, here is one remarkable author's exploration of what it means to be a woman now--and an of-the-moment rallying cry for why we should all be feminists.
What Are Your Words? by Katherine Locke; Anne Passchier (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780316542067
Publication Date: 2021-05-25
Follow Ari through their neighborhood as they try to find their words in this sweet, accessible introduction to gender-inclusive pronouns that is perfect for readers of all ages. Whenever Ari's Uncle Lior comes to visit, they ask Ari one question: "What are your words?" Some days Ari uses she/her. Other days Ari uses he/him. But on the day of the neighborhood's big summer bash, Ari doesn't know what words to use. On the way to the party, Ari and Lior meet lots of neighbors and learn the words each of them use to describe themselves, including pronouns like she/her, he/him, they/them, ey/em, and ze/zir. As Ari tries on different pronouns, they discover that it's okay to not know your words right away--sometimes you have to wait for your words to find you. Filled with bright, graphic illustrations, this simple and poignant story about finding yourself is the perfect introduction to gender-inclusive pronouns for readers of all ages.
Women's Work, Men's Property by Stephanie Coontz (Editor); Peta Henderson (Editor)
Call Number: Gender, Identity, & Sexuality ; GN 479.65 W65 1986
ISBN: 0860911128
Publication Date: 1986-04-01
"To some a book on the origins of sexual inequality is absurd. Male dominance seems to them a universal, if not inevitable, phenomenon that has been with us since the dawn of our species. The essays in this volume offer differing perspectives on the development of sex-role differentiation and sexual inequality, but share a belief that these phenomena did have social origins, origins that must be sought in sociohistorical events and processes." In this way Stephanie Coontz and Peta Henderson introduce a book which fills a yawning gap in Marxist and feminist theory of recent years. Women's Work, Men's Property brings together specialist historical and anthropological skills of a group of American and French feminists to examine the origins of the sexual division of labor, the nature of pre-state kinship societies, the position of women in slave-based societies, and the specific forms taken by the oppression of women in archaic Greece. Men's Work, Women's Property will be welcomed by teachers and students of women's studies and anyone with an interest in the biological, psychological and historical roots of sexual inequality.

Subjects and LC Sections

Library of Congress Subject Headings

Asexual People
Asexuality

Cross-dressing
Transvestism

Family
Bisexual parents
Lesbian mothers
Gay Fathers

Feminism
Feminist Criticism
Beauty
Self-esteem in Women
Feminist Theory

Gays
Gay Liberation Movement
Gay Rights

Gender
Gender Identity
Gender Nonconforming People

Homophobia
Homosexuality

Intersectionality

Lesbians

Patriarchy

Queer
Queer Theory

Sex Differences
Sexual Minorities

Sex Role

Sexual Division of Labor

Transphobia
Transgender People

Women -- Identity
Women's Rights

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION OUTLINE
CLASS H - SOCIAL SCIENCES

Subclass HQ The family. Marriage. Women

Subclass HQ

HQ1-2044 The Family. Marriage. Women
HQ12-449 Sexual life
HQ19-30.7 Sexual behavior and attitudes. Sexuality
HQ 21 Asexuality, Asexual People
HQ31-64 Sex instruction and sexual ethics
HQ71-72 Sexual deviations
HQ74-74.2 Bisexuality
HQ75-76.8 Homosexuality. Lesbianism
HQ77-77.2 Transvestism, Cross-dressing
HQ77.7-77.95 Transexualism
HQ79 Sadism. Masochism. Fetishism, etc.
HQ101-440.7 Prostitution
HQ447 Masturbation
HQ449 Emasculation. Eunuchs, etc.
HQ450-472 Erotica
HQ503-1064 The family. Marriage. Home
HQ750-755.5 Eugenics
HQ755.7-759.92 Parents. Parenthood
Including parent and child, husbands, fathers, wives, mothers
HQ760-767.7 Family size |HQ767.8-792.2 Children. Child development Including child rearing, child life,  play, socialization, children's rights
HQ793-799.2 Youth. Adolescents. Teenagers
HQ799.5-799.9 Young men and women
HQ799.95-799.97 Adulthood
HQ800-800.4 Single people
HQ801-801.83 Man-woman relationships. Courtship. Dating
HQ802 Matrimonial bureaus. Marriage brokerage
HQ802.5 Matrimonial advertisements
HQ803 Temporary marriage. Trial marriage. Companionate marriage
HQ804 Breach of promise
HQ805 Desertion
HQ806 Adultery
HQ811-960.7 Divorce
HQ961-967 Free love
HQ981-996 Polygamy
HQ997 Polyandry
HQ998-999 Illegitimacy. Unmarried mothers
HQ1001-1006 The state and marriage
HQ1051-1057 The church and marriage
HQ1058-1058.5 Widows and widowers. Widowhood
HQ1060-1064 Aged. Gerontology (Social aspects). Retirement
HQ1073-1073.5 Thanatology. Death. Dying
HQ1075-1075.5 Sex role
HQ1088-1090.7 Men
HQ1101-2030.7 Women. Feminism
HQ2035-2039 Life skills. Coping skills. Everyday living skills
HQ2042-2044 Life style

Gender, Sexuality, & Identity Browsing Collection January 24, 2023

Special Collections: Gender, Sexuality, & Identity

Quick Links

Browsing Books

Located in Row 28 facing the windows.

TITLES IN THE BROWSING COLLECTION

Highlights from Collection...

Subjects and LC Sections

Library of Congress Subject Headings

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION OUTLINE
CLASS H - SOCIAL SCIENCES

Subclass HQ The family. Marriage. Women

Mission

Contact

509-793-2350

Toll Free: 877-745-1212 x2350

librarymail@bigbend.edu

Building:
1800/Library & GCATEC

Physical Address:
7611 Bolling St.

Mailing Address:
William C. Bonaudi Library,
7662 Chanute St.
Moses Lake, WA 98837

Reserve Computer Lab 1801 or 1802

Our Team

Special Collections: Gender, Sexuality, & Identity

Quick Links

Browsing Books

Located in Row 28 facing the windows.

TITLES IN THE BROWSING COLLECTION

Highlights from Collection...

Subjects and LC Sections

Library of Congress Subject Headings

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION OUTLINE CLASS H - SOCIAL SCIENCES

Subclass HQ The family. Marriage. Women

Mission

Contact

509-793-2350 Toll Free: 877-745-1212 x2350

librarymail@bigbend.edu Building: 1800/Library & GCATEC Physical Address: 7611 Bolling St. Mailing Address: William C. Bonaudi Library, 7662 Chanute St. Moses Lake, WA 98837

Reserve Computer Lab 1801 or 1802

Our Team

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION OUTLINE
CLASS H - SOCIAL SCIENCES

509-793-2350

Toll Free: 877-745-1212 x2350

librarymail@bigbend.edu

Building:
1800/Library & GCATEC

Physical Address:
7611 Bolling St.

Mailing Address:
William C. Bonaudi Library,
7662 Chanute St.
Moses Lake, WA 98837